Fire in Yosemite

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]2 years ago (edited)

This is what Yosemite Valley looked like last spring.

Screen Shot 2022-01-07 at 10.59.16 AM.png

Don't worry though - this was a prescribed fire and was fully under control. Still a surreal experience, especially when after taking this photo I drove back to my campsite on a road flanked by the fire from both sides and felt the emanating heat inside my car. The thick smoke didn't seem to discourage climbers though - if you look carefully you can see lights from their headlamps as they climb up El Capitan.

If you like this post you can also find me on:

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Still incredible to see! Imagine the view from those climbers!

Yeah, especially since some of them must not had signal and had no idea if this was prescribed or not.

That would make it slightly more terrifying.

What a wild sight to see!

It was!

I remember when I saw you post this on reddit. Had no idea about those controlled burns!

I didn't either until I saw when I was in the park! Was planning to shoot something else

As if climbing El Capitan wasn't scary enough... Amazing shot!

Thank you!

Wow that's nuts, crazy that people are still climbing with all that smoke 😮 Beautiful shot

Thanks! They probably got surprised up there too.