You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NFT ART IS USELESS ... unless it comes with Rights or Utility

All of my favorite things are USELESS and CHAOTIC. As both an artist who sells NFTs and a collector who buys NFTs, I have to say that I don't give even a third of a fig about speculation or economic value. I've never purchased a single piece of art thinking, "I can't wait to sell this!!" I buy what I like, and I buy it primarily to encourage the artist who made the work to create more! (Ask around. I'm pretty vocal about this.)

I am also acutely aware of copyright law, which is why I tend to hand draw the majority of my pieces---or if I use collaged images from other works, I usually SAY that there are collage elements in the descriptions of those pieces. (I also know about remediation and transformation of iconographic and ideological concepts, but that is because my background is in Anthropology and Cultural Studies, not art or finance.) I'm into art as self expression, and I sell my art for cheap so that anyone who is interested can collect it. (I also like records, comic books, trading cards, Pez dispensers, View Master slides, and zines. I put great value on cultural and individual expressions of humanity.)

As for the "value" of NFTs---in a speculator sense---I'm not interested. Money is boring. Community is cool. Creativity is cool. Being funny is cool. Sharing a piece of yourself is cool. Being weird is cool. These things may be USELESS (in the sense that they have undefined ECONOMIC VALUE), and they are certainly CHAOTIC (in the sense that they can't be predicted or even understood by most folks), but that doesn't mean that they aren't valuable. The VALUE is more psychological than money based, and therefore more interesting and entertaining to me than how much my wallet bulges before or after my purchase...

My square-root of 2 cents worth...

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

In the post i feel like i did make stipulations that the token itself has value (mostly because of speculation and demand + rarity) and connecting it to a piece of work has value even if the owner of the token has zero additional rights (the right to display in their NFT wallets)

So there is value but they are nothing compared to values they could have given some bonuses.

As you can probably see i have purchases a bunch of NFTs on hive-engine system and i am happy with the value i got ... some i have no assurance that I can do anything but look at them in my NFT wallet and I'm fine with it because it was personally treated like both a TIP and a potential increase in speculative value and i just liked the art itself.

I believe your NFT was the first NFT i ever purchased... so i'll remember that.

That's cool! Did you buy through Tribal.dex? I just assumed it was directly off the NFT Showroom site. I think it's exciting the way all of these different "systems" are meshing and intertwining!

 3 years ago  

I used nftshowroom they have a pretty nice search experience. I hope hive nfts keep a very open protocol so that they're available on every market interface... that would be cool