First Aid for my succulents [ENG/ESP]

My babies are sick. I am so sad!
😩😩😩

Mis bebés están enfermas, estoy muy triste!
😩😩😩

xoxo (1).png

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

English

Hello friends, today I want to share with you my concern about my succulents. They are sick, and I hope to do my best to make them healthy and strong again.

A few weeks ago, my husband gave me a flower arrangement composed of several species of succulents. I placed it in a place on the balcony so that it would receive sun, and every time it was watered the water would drain well. However, I began to notice that in the place where I placed them, birds were always hanging around, leaving their droppings on the plants. What I did was to try to clean the area of the dirty succulent, and that was it.
Español

Hola amigos, hoy les quiero compartir mi preocupación por mis suculentas. Están enfermas y espero hacer todo lo posible porque vuelvan a estar saludables y fuertes.
Hace unas semanas atrás mi esposo me regaló un arreglo floral compuesto por varias especies de suculentas. Lo coloqué en un lugar del balcón para que recibiera sol y cada vez que se regara el agua drenara bien. Sin embargo comencé a observar que en el lugar que las coloqué siempre rondaban unas aves dejando sus excrementos sobre las plantas. Lo que hacía era tratar de limpiar la zona de la suculenta sucia y ya.

Diseño sin título - 2021-09-23T091210.769.png

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

But as the days went by I started to see on its leaves some kind of white and yellow rough granulations. Also, a kind of small holes as if they had been pierced with a needle. Even if you can appreciate, there are bitten leaves. I can't think that these bites are due to rodents as my balcony is on a very high floor.


So it was urgent to take action to try to rescue my succulents to prevent them from dying. Looking for information, in theory, it could be mites or parasites. The truth is that I think that a series of factors came together where I believe that the feces of the birds are contaminated, and those parasites or viruses invaded my plant. On the other hand, the succulents have grown, and there is not much space between them for air to circulate, and maybe this causes humidity between their leaves.
Pero al transcurrir los días empecé a ver sobre sus hojas una especie de granulaciones rugosas de color blanco y amarillo. También una especie de orificios pequeños como si las hubiesen atravesado con una aguja. Incluso si pueden apreciar hay hojas mordidas. No puedo pensar que estos mordiscos se deban a roedores ya que mi balcón está en un piso muy alto.

Así que era urgente tomar acciones para tratar de rescatar mis suculentas para evitar que mueran. Buscando información en teoría podía tratarse de ácaros o parásitos. Lo cierto es que creo que se juntaron una serie de factores donde creo que las heces de las aves están contaminadas y esos parásitos o virus invadieron mi planta. Por otra parte las suculentas han crecido y no hay mucho espacio entre ellas para que circule el aire y tal vez esto hace que haya humedad entre sus hojas.

xoxo (3).png

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

Anyway, at the plant store when I showed them the photos of my succulents, they recommended spraying an acaricide on them, but after a week I noticed that this did nothing. So I am resorting to popular wisdom with some home remedies such as alcohol and ground coffee.
En fín, en la tienda de venta de plantas al mostrarles las fotos de mis suculentas, me recomendaron rociar sobre ellas un acaricida, pero a la semana observé que ésto no hizo nada. Por tanto estoy recurriendo a la sabiduría popular con unos remedios caseros como el alcohol y el café molido.

Diseño sin título - 2021-09-23T091233.747.png

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

Succulents have as a protection mechanism for their leaves to generate a patina. It´s consists of a thin layer of dust that gives an opaque and whitish appearance on its leaves. It is not recommended to remove this patina, but in my case, the patina of my succulents did not help to avoid this infestation. So I had to clean with 70% isopropyl alcohol leaf by leaf to disinfect it of what could be on it.
Las suculentas tienen como mecanismo de protección para sus hojas generar una pátina que consiste en una capa fina de polvillo que le da un aspecto opaco y blanquecino sobre sus hojas. Es pátina no es reomendable quitarla, pero en mi caso la pátina de mis suculentas no ayudaron a evitar esta infestación. Así que tocó limpiar con alcohol isopropílico al 70% hoja por hoja para desinfectarla de lo que pudiese haber en ella.

xoxo (2).png

xoxo (4).png

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

During this period, the succulents cannot take the sun. For this reason, I placed them in the living room of my house. I also placed it in the soil, near the trunk of each succulent, ground coffee, since they say that its aroma repels pests such as spider mites and mealybugs, pests that can damage my plants.

The recommendation is to quarantine the plants that are sick, but since they are all sick, I will leave them in the same pot for a few days to see how they respond to this first aid. Once they are more recovered, I will remove each species and place the larger ones individually in pots with new soil.
Durante este periodo las suculentas no pueden llevar sol, por eso las coloqué en la sala de mi casa. También coloqué en la tierra, cerca del tronco de cada suculenta, café molido, ya que dicen que su aroma ahuyenta plagas como la araña roja y cochinilla, plagas que pueden dañar mis plantas.

La recomendación es poner en cuarentena a la plantas que estén enfermas pero como todas lo están, las dejaré en su misma maceta por unos días hasta ver cómo responden a estos primeros auxilios. Una vez que estén más restablecidas sacaré cada especie y las más grandes las colocaré de forma individual en macetas con tierra nueva.

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

I hope to have good news, in a future post, and tell you that my succulents are doing better. Wish me luck!
All photos are property of the author.

En una próxima publicación espero tener buenas noticias y contarles que mis suculentas están mejor. ¡Deseénme suerte!
Todas las fotos son propiedad de la autora.

cintillo_flores-removebg-preview (1).png

English (2).gif

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Please be aware that coffee grounds kill pests but they are also toxic to the roots of plants so don't use them everywhere.
What kind of birds are they, certain types of birds eat succulent leaves too. The marks on the echeveria actually look like they were made by bird claws

Yes, I thought so too when I saw the marks on the leaves. With respect to the coffee, I placed it in certain zones, however it is a momentary option since I plan to transplant them as soon as my succulents improve. Thank you very much @nikv for the recommendation, I will be very attentive.

 3 years ago  

You're welcome. Birds that eat succulents and vegetables are a real pest where I live


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I hope your succulent condition will be better. Waiting for better news :)

oh, you are very sweet @anggreklestari. Thank you for your good wishes. I hope to share good news soon. Thank you so much for reading me and for your support. 💕

❤️🌸 Have a great day