In the name of persistence

in Succulent growers2 years ago

Turbinicarpus Viereckii 2022 3.jpg


This little guy just doesn't stop blooming. I normally shoot it once a year to be able to to compare it to the previous season, but the flower pop from early spring until fall. Mostly one, sometime two in the same time. And as soon as they fade another buds starts to show.


Turbinicarpus Viereckii



Turbinicarpus Viereckii 2022 1.jpg


It is native to Mexico and can be found under Gymnocactus viereckii name as well. It grows between rocks on mostly mineral soil (@monster-one something for you ;) ).
It is a very cute small cactus. I actually don't know how bug it can grow, but I read that it very rarely grows offshoots, so I have to be careful as I have only one. It will not self pollinate, so I cannot count on seed.


Turbinicarpus Viereckii 2022 7.jpg


Yea... I should be careful, though it seems it handles my treatments and climate much better that others (I start to think I should not even try with Gymnocalyciums... ehh). I got it as a very young plant and after getting it used to sun it was getting more heat than others. I think the harsh sun makes the spines grow meaner and more black.


Turbinicarpus Viereckii 2022 2.jpg


I reported it to much larger pot last year and I see it grew quite a bit since then. It does needs very porous soil though that will drain and dry fast. Especially when the pot is larger.


Turbinicarpus Viereckii 2022 4.jpg


Those long, black spines are something else. A bit better visible against white background.


Turbinicarpus Viereckii 2022 8.jpg

Turbinicarpus Viereckii 2022 9.jpg


A recap:

image.png2020
Blooming for the first time after getting it in 2018
image.png2021
Still alive :)
image.png2022
Bigger pot, bigger cactus. I can see now the spines got a lot longer too. Awesome! :)



One last blury artistic shot :)


Turbinicarpus Viereckii 2022 6.jpg



Bonus song:
As I was editing the photos one of my all time favourite movies was on: "In the name of the father". If you haven't seen it - watch it.

Here is a song from it
Bono & Gavin Friday - In The Name Of The Father
year 1994


"...In the name of reason
In the name of hope
In the name of religion
In the name of dope

In the name of freedom
You drifted away
To see the sun shining
On some one else's day..."






»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos, graphics and text are my own.



cactus cat banner.jpg

Sort:  

Very beautiful Turbinicarpus!

Thank you. I like it too :)

😉

My grandmother loved to grow cacti on top of her celler . i thinks she grew them there to keep us children off the roof of her celler. It worked we did not play there. Thanks for sharing your beautiful flowering cacti.

Hahaha I've never heard of that purpose for cacti :D
As long as it worked :)

Have you tried to pollinate it?
the color and the shape of the flower is pretty awesome. : )

I did, but apparently they need another cactus for pollination to work. It will not self-pollinate.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@jlinaresp) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow It's really very beautiful this flower I really like it when I have otu flowers

Thanks :)

That's a really pretty flower for a cactus. I usually think of them as skin-tearing pods of flower pot growth. But that one is pretty.

Thanks! They are all blood thirsty creatures. Some have hidden spines that will attack fingers and I don't even know when :p

Congratulations @ewkaw! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar

Oh, this is a great photo. Very bright and beautiful bloom

Thank you :)

Oh yeah, I have my eyes on Turbinicarpus, specially on Turbinicarpus lophophoroides of which I already ordered 10 seeds, I think they will arrive in the next few days since the shipment was made through Mexican post office, a very cheap but slow postal service.

I found these synonyms of your cactus, I guess it could be viable a hybridization with one of them, but it is just an idea:

Echinocactus viereckii Werderm
Thelocactus viereckii (Werderm.) Bravo
Gymnocactus viereckii (Werderm.) Backeb
Neolloydia viereckii (Werderm.) F. M. Knuth
Pediocactus viereckii

I don't know why but I think it could hybridize with Thelocactus setispinus for example.

Turbinicarpus lophophoroides looks almost like Peyote :)

Yea I found them too. It's all the same cactus though, just differed name. I need another plant to be able to palliate.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 2 years ago  

Yeah, Turbinicarpus likes heat and sun, gymnos hate that

I keep trying with Gymno, but some just refuse. It's a shame. I like them.

 2 years ago  

I hide mine in the coolest, shady places I can find

Maybe I should keep them all inside the house then. Definitely cooler in summer and I can provide more shade.

With beautiful flowers and great song bonuses. Thank you, have a nice day.

Thanks, you too :)

Congratulations @ewkaw! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar

I'll be damned! I already forgot it's today.
Thanks a lot :D

Happy Hive Birthday @ewkaw
🎉🎈🎂🎉🎈

Thank you :)

You're welcome.
Oh, BTW I noticed I miss your witness vote. Do you mind casting one to me?
It would be much appreciated!

Done and done :)

Wow, that was fast. Thank you for your support, really appreciate it! 👍