The not so pretty smelling flowers - Huernia in bloom

in Succulent growers4 years ago

Some flowers are not meant to be sniffed.
Trust me on that one.
I have tested it. Few times.
And I have enough!

Huernia I flower 7.jpg

Huernia I flower 8.jpg

This is one of my Stinkers plants as I like to call them. It is some type of Huernia, bur the tag I was using got completely bleached by the sun and I don't know it's full name.
It is a lovely plant and I have quite a few of those (different, but all Stinkers). I like their thick stems and most of the time very compact look. And after you get the idea how to take care of them - they are quite easy too.

This one I grew from a single cutting and now it is the very first time that it bloomed for me.
I was not sure what flower it is gonna have, so I am waiting impatiently as soon as I saw the buds forming.

Huernia I flower 4.jpg

Huernia I flower 5.jpg

Huernia I flower 6.jpg

Huernia I flower 9.jpg

Yep, it is cute! Very small, maybe 1,5 cm across, but the pattern and all those nipples and ripples gives it a wild look though. Very unusual!

Now why do I call them Stinkers you may ask?
Well because all those flowers stink like rotten meat. And I am not exaggerating! Rotten, decomposing flesh attracts flies. This is the trick of those little beauties - to attract flies to pollinate the flowers. So the closest it gets to smell like decomposing animal the better. And that is exactly how they smell stink.
I keep mine outside on the balcony, so I don't feel it, but I can't imagine few of those blooming in a closed space.

Huernia I flower 1.jpg

Huernia I flower 2.jpg
Few more tiny buds.

Huernia stems 1.jpg

This succulent is native to South Africa and can handle high temperatures if it is not left on a direct burning sun. Regular watering and it will be a happy camper. In nature it likes to grow between the rocks, in the cracks or under the bushes, so it does not get direct sun all day long.
In winter in the other hand it needs to be kept almost completely dry. I learned that the hard way - I had few more with unusual flowers and I left them on the rain in winter. I had nothing to look at in spring.

The stems are not very long and on this particular one they are covered in that cool, burgundy spots. Very attractive look!
All the little nipples are rather soft and don't do any harm.

Huernia stems 2.jpg

Here you can see a little accident that happened to mine. The black center is the original stem cutting I had. I don't remember now what happened to it if it was sunburn or bugs,but the top part completely died off. Luckily the roots and bottom of the stem was ok and it grew two side branches that I could easily snap off and plant as separate plants.
At this time of the year they should root very easily just by placing them on top of a soil.

Easy peasy stinkers :)

Huernia I flower 3.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 12 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations on flowering, despite its stink! :-)))

Thank you! I dont feel the smell so it's ok. But I had to check it... very very stinky!!

So looooong since I saw one of those! I remember my mom got a few years ago. And they surerly stinked!

Does she still has them? Or was the stink too much :)

She only had them for a brief time, a loooong time ago!

Wow! Exceptional flowers with unique smell! I thought they were really big ones like in saw in some horror film where a man stepped into it and got swallowed up!!

I hope these flowers are good for repelling mosquitos!

I have one that is very big. The flower is the size of a hand! And yes - is smells terribly too.
This one is small. like a cherry maybe.

Excellent pictures but the plant flower looks very scary

Thank you! :D Scary smelly :)

Beautiful photographs, the plant flower with a open mouth looks like a predator waiting for the pray to stop in centre 🤷‍♂️😊

Hahaha yep... beware poor flies. Beware! :D

carnivorous plants are really strange.

They are :)
This is not a carnivorous though. Just a very, very stinky succulent :D

Hola @ewkaw ¿Cómo estás? Disculpa, tengo una pregunta, ¿tienes alguna discordia?.
Una vez me dijiste que eras amante de los cactus, así que fui al lugar donde siempre tomo fotografías de campo, y pude fotografiar 6 tipos diferentes de cactus. Y necesito tu ayuda con el nombre científico

Hello there! That is so cool :) I would love to see them! Please find me on Discord if you want.
I am not an expert, but I will try to find out the names :)

I'm trying to find you, but your user can't find him.

I am EwkaW#3765, What's your username?

wesp05#9041

OMG! That looks like a plant from nightmares!

Smells like one that's for sure!

But its look so amazing with different style.
Thanks for sharing.

They are definitely cool looking ones. Just don't try to sniff them :)
Thanks for a visit :)

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @hafizullah and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!