What one year can do to a few naked sticks.

in Succulent growers4 years ago

Sedum no ID flower 9.jpg

Last year I got few cuttings of this plant. Long and leggy ones that were just pulled from their original pot. I cut the top and pretty rosettes off and planted them in a nice pot.
I am not sure of the name as it can be some hybrid between few types. The flowers look like Sedum but the leaves seem to have other plants in it.

But then I looked at the naked stems that were supposed to go to the trash and I thought I might as well try to pot them and see how strong the plant is.
To my surprise I started to see some new heads popping from the little nodes where the leaves were previously attached pretty fast. The stems managed to grow roots and since then I was watching it grow bigger and bigger. More rosettes were showing and this spring it bloomed!

Sedum no ID flower 1.jpg

Sedum no ID flower 2.jpg

Sedum no ID flower 4.jpg

Sedum no ID flower 7.jpg

This is how the whole plant looks like. Some old stems dried from the top and don't look too nice, but it doesn't really bother me much.

Sedum no ID flower 8.jpg

At this point I could cut all the little rosettes and plant them together to have a nice compact plant without those dry sticks. Or (since I already have a nice compact plant) I could plant the separately and gift them to people that would like one.

I normally would propagate it though leaf cutting (taking few leaves and placing them on top of the soil), but using the stems was so much faster!

The leaves are more blue in winter, not that the plant stands more in the sun it gets those purplish shades, which looks just lovely!

Sedum no ID flower 3.jpg

Sedum no ID flower 5.jpg

Sedum no ID flower 6.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 22 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

It makes me think of a love relationship, you let it pass or you take care of it, a year and it blooms or is lost, in this case your care made it bloom

Nicely said...
But at least you know you tried.

Beautiful flowers and nice photography!

Thank you :)

I have picked your post for my daily hive voting initiative, Keep it up and Hive On!!

Thanks!
Hive on! :)

 4 years ago  

I think it's a Graptosedum of some kind

Most likely :)
ID them is a pain in the butt :p

Wow, I know this plant. We had similar show plants in our home( my childhood days, will try to find for any old pictures)
I dont remember the flowers though. But these are very pretty. Lovely photographs 👍

Thank you!
Tag me when you find it. Or drop a photo here, please :)

Congratulations!
Sometimes I also do this and the "sticks" grow beautifully :-)

Always worth the try :)

Yes, without this it is impossible :-)

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @solominer & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thanks a lot @solominer :)