Winter blooming Faucaria Tuberculosa

in Succulent growers2 years ago

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 8.jpg

We had some heavy rains over the past few days and after the first night I found all small pots with cacti swimming in their trays and the rescue missions has started. I removed all the pots and left them drain without any trays in less rainy spot. I hope I was not too late and I will not be having mass murder scene soon. It is still not very cold so hopefully they will not rot. But they should not be getting any water at this time of the year.
Fingers crossed.

In the meatime this (also a bit drowned) keeps blooming. I took those photos some days ago when it was still sunny and the flowers opened. They do close for the night and where they days are cloudy.

Faucaria Tuberculosa


faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 2.jpg

I have it for about 7 years or so. I got it as a very small, single plant with 4 leaves on. It grows nicely and it is at the point that I have to repot it every year to a slightly bigger pot. I don't want to put it in much larger straight away, because I have tendency to overwatering and I would not want that :p

A common name for this plant is Tiger Jaws and you probably can guess why. All those "teeth" on the sides look quite mean, but they are completely harmless though. The tips and all the ripples on the leaves don't have sharp tips. Not like aloe plant that can slice the skin if it wants to.

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 1.jpg

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 13.jpg

It is a very hardy succulent native to South Africa. I tend to keep mine in almost full sun during the year and it is one of those not many plants that can handle it pretty well. It summer, in extreme heat and sun it does look a bit more miserable and it can go dormant, but it is fine.

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 12.jpg

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 9.jpgfaucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 .jpg

A while ago I bought another one hoping that is a different type, but it looks like it is not (you were right @nikv). It started to grow the same ripples as it gets older. On the photos you can see slight difference in colour. The small one in clay pot is kept in more shaded spot, so it is more green. The big one gets the sun and shows some purple tint and the spots and much more pronounced.

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 5.jpg

Flowers are quite typical in lovely yellow colour. The tips on the bottom have some slight red colour which I have never noticed before.
The plant itself is cool and I do like it for the weird looking leaves. The little yellow daisies are just addition. But as it gets bigger and more blooms open in the same time I like them more and more.

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 7.jpg

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 6.jpg

More buds ready to open :)

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 11.jpg

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 10.jpg

faucaria tuberculosa blooming 2021 3.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos, graphics and text are my own.


separator echeveria.jpg

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

You can always have more than one :)

Sure thing :)
Was hoping it's Tigrina though.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 86 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Never seen it before, but gosh it's sooo beautiful!

Thank you! I just hope I don't kill it :D
I really like it.

I'm sure it will be okay. Because you threat them very well ;)

Very beautiful, seen them before but not with flowers. I love succulents. They make easy plants if they are in the right spot. Can’t wait to have a garden again. 😊

Merry Christmas to you and yours 🎄🎄🎄 enjoy the holiday season.

I like how forgiving they are if someone forgets to water them. And there is so many different ones with cool colours and shapes. Nice plants :)

Happy Holidays to you as well :) Thank you!

Yes, they truly are forgiving.
Thank you 😊🎄

They are very beautiful your Faucarias, where I live the temperature is above 22 degrees and these plants are not seen. They are great your photos thanks for showing them with so many details and colors.

Thank you :) You probably could find them in some succulent nurseries. They also do not grow natively in my part of the world.

so beautiful! I haven't seen it before.

Thanks! I don't think they are very popular, though I got mine ins a regular supermarket.
Pity, cause they are very easy to grow.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

The stunning micro world of plants. Awesome!

Thank you :)

Amazing! My cacti are all hibernating now in the throes of winter. I hope they will all awake in the soring. Some look pretty haggard...

Up close, these cacti look even more impressive. And that red bud is gorgeous!

Repotting is always an adventure. I hear that cacti like smaller pots, so I avoid changing them out as long as I can...

Thanks for your post!

Cheers!

Thanks!
Haha I know what you mean. Some of the cacti look like risings after the winter :D Most are ok with will plump back up in spring.

Yep, not too big pots for them. They don't really need it, and bigger pots stay wet longer which is also not good for them.

Have a nice day :)

Hello @ewkaw. Are you having heavy rains now? A wonderful succulent. I like these kinds of plants. It seems to me that many succulents are beautiful when they bloom. I have several and they are great. Thank you and happy Christmas :)

Sorry for the late reply. Yea... the winter here is usually very rainy, succulents don't like it very much.
They are great indeed :)
Hope you are having a great holidays!

I love these shots, the way you did makes them look aquatic, like under water photography, very cool..

Thanks! Must be the soft bokeh :) makes all the stuff go blurry..