You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blooming cactus - Sulcorebutia frankiana

in Succulent growers • 4 years ago

Cool, I have just learned something new 🙂
You are right, it is always on the same place and the temperatures are also about the same all the time. So maybe if I put it on the outside windowsill for a while the cactus might bloom? Would be cool and I think I'll give it a try.

Thank you for the information, @ewkaw, have a nice evening 🙂

!invest_vote

Sort:  
 4 years ago (edited) 

Normally in the wild they have hot summers and relatively cold winters. If you can provide the temperature in winter, for about 2-3 months of around 8-10 degrees C (can be less at night, but not freezing and max 12 at day), it has a big chance to bloom.
Also when it is so cold they have to be completely dry otherwise they will rot. They do not grow or drink in winter. They go dormant for that time and then wake up when it gets warmer and usually bloom :)

But if it is a healthy one and is growing that is already good and I am sure he is happy there :)

It is healthy and quite a few years old, but I think it is not the same. Anyway, I will try to keep that in mind and hope I'll remember that when it gets colder I take it out of the office and put it on a colder place. If it blooms next year you will see it here on the Hive 😀


!BEER