Appearances are deceptive

A few days ago I bought another Mammillaria plumosa, there is never a lot of Mammillaria plumosa, so I have several of them! 🙂
I really like her scent!

And the next day I decided to transplant it, especially since the flowering season has not yet arrived.

The photos I were taken with a Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70L tablet
IMG_20220822_172516-30.jpg

I like the process of transplantation, I enjoy it.
So, I gently pull the Mammillaria out of the pot...
And what do I see?
I see what you see in the photo below.
IMG_20220822_172635-25.jpg

Oh...
I cut out the rot, as you can see the depression is quite large, it almost reached the "wall" of the cactus.
IMG_20220822_173353-25.jpg

I separated the "children", cleaned them.
IMG_20220822_173836-35.jpg

Then I blotted all the cropped places with toilet paper, left for 3 hours and sprinkled with charcoal.
After 2 days, I planted them in different pots.
Watered after 4 days.
I hope I can save.
I'll let you know the result.
IMG_20220822_173911-25.jpg

In this case, I cannot blame the seller, since the cactus did not show at all that something was wrong with it.
And to the touch, he also did not arouse suspicion.
IMG_20220822_173852.jpg

But the second case made me angry!
Last year I was at an exhibition of cacti and succulents.
I posted a post with photos of this exhibition.

I know almost all plant nursery owners, but I am a regular customer of only two and their nurseries are located in different cities and not in the one where the exhibition was held.
I called one of them and asked if he had Coryphantha Elephantidens since I want to buy it.
And having received a positive response, I asked him to bring it to the exhibition.

He brought, the cactus was in a bag. I paid without even looking at it and said that I would pick it up as soon as I saw the exhibition, since I wanted to take a photo, and with a cactus it would be inconvenient.
I looked at the exhibition, took a photo, took my cactus and went home.

When I arrived, I immediately opened the bag to take a look.
I looked and this is what I saw 🤢
IMG_20220612_124010-30.jpg

The cactus was full of scale insects and gnawed!!!
In addition, it was clear that in many places the scale insects were removed.
I was amazed!
I couldn't save the cactus...

But what annoyed me the most was his act, and not just the fact that my money was gone.
How could he do this to his regular longtime client?
I didn’t call him, there will be more exhibitions and I want to tell him personally, and I want to look him in the face!
But he lost my respect and lost me as a client!!!

"I'm not vindictive, but I have a good memory!"
IMG_20220612_124111-30.jpg

IMG_20220612_123912-30.jpg

IMG_20220612_123930-30.jpg

Sort:  

It pained me to see the second cactus :( And to hear about the scammer made me mad.

I hope you can save the first one, it's beautiful after your cleaning, and looks promising!

Many thanks!
Yes, with the second cactus it's just a disgrace!

Oh boy... Mammillaria look terrible! I hope the babies survive. It is a beauty!

I also hope they survive.
In a few weeks I'll see if they've taken root.

 last year  

Ugh I hate that! I hope that your plumosa survives

Thanks a lot!
I think she will survive.

I was mostly angered and outraged by the Coryphantha Elephantidens act!

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator priyanarc & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

@diyhub Thank you so much for your support!

Wow! You are cactus doctor!
Hope you could save the sick ones.