Flowering of my MAMMILLARIA uncinata Zucc. ex Pfeiffer

in Succulent growers2 years ago (edited)

MAMMILLARIA uncinata is native to southern North America as well as Mexico.
Under natural conditions, this Mammillaria prefers chalk and calcareous rocks.
Therefore, in the spring I am going to some of my Mammillaria, when transplanting, to change the soil in which I will add crushed shells.
I'm wondering in what kind of soil my Mammillarias will be more comfortable.

The Mammillaria cactus is one of my favorites.
This cactus is very popular among cactus lovers.
Mammillaria is considered by some flower growers to be unpretentious and undemanding in care, while others consider it difficult.
From my experience, some of my first Mammillaria died.
And the survivors bloom profusely and for a long time.

MAMMILLARIA uncinata Zucc. ex Pfeiffer is resistant to cold and heat.

It is mostly a solitary or slowly bushy plant.

MAMMILLARIA uncinata Zucc. ex Pfeiffer can withstand short-term temperature drops down to -5°C.
But I can’t comment on this information, since sub-zero temperatures are very rare in Cyprus, except in the mountains.

The photos I were taken with a Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70L tablet
IMG_20211126_122539.jpg-32.jpg

4IMG_20211126_133623.jpg-27.jpg

IMG_20211126_122539.jpg-60.jpg

IMG_20211126_122539.jpg-100.jpg

IMG_20211126_133623.jpg-110.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @ludmila.kyriakou! what a beautiful flower this cactus gives, that pink shade is very pretty. Curious about the white fuzz in the crevices. In my country, Venezuela, I have seen a variety similar to this one, but it is coarser, less delicate and does not bloom as beautiful, the flowers have a more intense color; and like this cactus, it resists extreme heat and cold (not so extreme) very well. Beautiful photos. Greetings.

Congratulations @ludmila.kyriakou! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 40000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Beautiful and healthy! Apparently, the Cyprus weather favors cacti; at least, this one...

It looks like you have a series of very colorful pots that these cactus reside in. Could be the inspiration for a future post. I'm always interested in what people choose to place their plants in.

Thanks for sharing this post!

Cheers!

Thanks a lot!
Yes, it suits cacti, but there are exceptions.

I have a lot of cacti, and not only them :-)

Опять цветут. 😀

ага, пусть только попробуют не цвести! 😂