My Gymnocalycium mihanovichii

I have some Gymnocalycium mihanovichii, first of all I like them.
Secondly, they bloom for a long time, from 7 to 10 days if they are not pollinated.
Thirdly, they have flowers with different shades.
So this one of my Gymnocalycium mihanovichii, to be honest, has a slightly unusual flower color.

The birthplace of Gymnocalycium mihanovichii (synonymous with Gymnocalycium Friedrich) is Paraguay.

Gymnocalyciums begin to bloom in one and a half to two years.

My experience in growing Gymnocalycium does not match the recommendations for growing it.

Namely:

Do not water them during winter dormancy

I water, but rarely and little by little.

It is necessary to transplant into a pot 4-6 cm. deeper and wider than the previous one.

Oh no!
In such a pot, Gymnocalycium may not bloom at all!
It needs a tight pot to bloom!
It is necessary to transplant into a pot only 2 cm. more.
Well this is my experience!
In general, most of my cacti grow in cramped pots, if you've noticed.

Well, the last is the temperature of its content.

Temperature in winter: +15–18°С, and minimum short-term +5°С.
In summer, the allowable temperature is +20–24°С.

Well, this is out of the question for me!
Since my cacti are on the balcony, the temperature often reaches +40°C in the shade!!!

And in winter, the temperature fluctuates (at night) from + 0 ° C to + 10 ° C.

And now a photo of my baby:

The photos I were taken with a Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70L tablet
IMG_20220617_152526-28.jpg

IMG_20220617_152526-43.jpg

IMG_20220617_152520-30.jpg

Sort:  

Very long spikes! Gentle pink flowers!

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator elizacheng & you received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative. Your post will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which is aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Next time make sure to post / cross-post your creation within the DIYHub community on HIVE and you will receive a higher upvote!

Stay creative & hive on!