My Mammillaria shurliana

I got Mammillaria shurliana less than a year ago.
As I already wrote that Mammillaria is one of my favorite cacti. ❤️

Mammillaria shurliana also blooms with pinker flowers than mine. But I like my bloom more.

Mammillaria is perfect for the very hot Cypriot summer, as in nature it grows normally at +35 °C.
Of course, it is recommended to grow it at + 20–24 ° C, but for me it grows at a temperature like in nature.

In winter, it is undesirable for the temperature to drop below +7–10°C.
And for pubescent Mammillaria, preferably not lower than + 15 ° C.
Here again I get a temperature mismatch.
But my Mammillaria do not complain, my beauties grow and bloom!

They need to be transplanted into a wide and shallow pot.
Since the roots of Mammillaria are mostly superficial.

Well, now a photo of my next beauty!

The photos I were taken with a Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70L tablet
IMG_20220818_160945-32+.jpg

IMG_20220816_144305-35.jpg

IMG_20220816_144315-30.jpg

IMG_20220816_151547-30.jpg

IMG_20220816_152248-30.jpg

Be careful not to get carried away by her flowers, otherwise you may not notice her thorns! And will hook your fingers like a fish 😉
IMG_20220816_152248-112.jpg

Sorry that I photograph her from all sides, like a photo model, but I really like her! 🤭
IMG_20220818_134827-32.jpg

IMG_20220818_134910-30.jpg

IMG_20220818_160954-32.jpg

IMG_20220818_160923-30.jpg

IMG_20220818_160937-33.jpg

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Unusual flowers for mammillaria. I like them!

Thanks a lot!
But her flowers, for some reason, did not pollinate. The flowers of this Mammillaria have a faint pleasant fragrance!
Next time I will try to pollinate it again to get seeds.
@hive-183841 and @ewkaw - I have Mammillaria surculosa seeds, do you need them?, I can send them to you.
I do not need them. I don't sow seeds.
@hive-183841 Can you get my email from @ewkaw ?
And then write me your address? If you want me to send them to you.

Oh thank you! Nice yellow flowers :)
It would be awesome if you have spare seeds.

I can also send you seeds of Mammillaria Carmenae, with white flowers.
And further!!!! I pollinated Astrophytum asterias and now a large seed pod has started that is all dark red!!!!
I think that you and @nikv will want these seeds :-)

Should I wait until this seed pod starts to crack or pluck it earlier?
I took a picture, but I need to upload these photos to my computer.

 2 years ago  

Yes please! Wait for it to crack open, I think

Thank you!
You're right!
With great difficulty I found information on collecting Astrophytum seeds, here's what they write:
"After the seeds ripen, the box opens and resembles a star in shape."
So we will wait! 🤗

Thank you :D

Yes, wait for it to mature like Nikv said.
I picked a fruit too early once and ruined it all as the seeds weren't ready.

 2 years ago  

Thank you! I have your email address :) I will have to check if mail flow is now normal here though

Excellent!
👍

The flowers are really pretty!!

Thanks a lot!
I mentioned you in @nikv's comment to my post, read it.
Since this applies to you too :-)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

@ecency Thank you so much for your support!

Estas perdonado! 😁 Porque es hermosa 💜, Así que a capturarla desde todos los ángulos 📸😉. Saludos 🙋🏻‍♀️.

Thank you so much!🤗