Miss Schlumbergera showing her beauty!

DSC_5787.JPG

She was so tiny and in bad condition last year when I got her home.

Miss Schlumbergera was saved by me from sure death that was waiting for her on the shelves in the store. Already in the half-withered phase, wrapped in some nasty plastic, she was sadly sitting there, longing to meet her saviour. Maybe she waited for a prince, but it was me who arrived. I picked her up, brought home and introduced her to the rest of the plant gang on my balcony.

DSC_5782.JPG

Probably she was positively shocked when arrived, but the trauma was already strong. She was shy and dropped all her buds, without showing her real beauty. But slowly, she was healing for one year. She received a new, bigger pot and was watered every few days, on average once a week as the other succulents that surrounds her. Sometimes she received an extra watering, as I saw she liked it.

DSC_5789.JPG

All this time, she was growing new segments of the stems. She was doing it from time to time, always adding a new hanging segment, and getting bigger and longer. I think that if she would be human, long and beautiful hair would be her forte.

DSC_5796.JPG

Some weeks ago I noticed the buds. That is how she announced that maybe we will see some flowers... but I would never imagine how many of them would become flowers. And how nice they are.

DSC_5784.JPG

Now I know that Miss Schlumbergera has gorgeous red flowers, with white and pink shades. The flower resembles a tube that opened its layers - the tepals (this is not a typo). In the middle, many stamens are there to steal the attention... a crown for the queen! Usually, these beautiful flowers hang down at the end of each hanging stem. If it would be shy to show itself...

Here I lifted one stem, to be able to see the flower from another angle.

DSC_5781.JPG

This rich blooming means that 31 of these fully open flowers are what I can enjoy right now. A few of them are closing already, but there are still new buds that will probably open during the next one or two weeks. Or maybe they will last until the end of December, as this lady is also called Christmas cactus.

DSC_5788.JPG

I bragged and sent the photo of this blooming plant to my parents. They said it is an artistry to get it to bloom :D
Well, the climate for sure is good for her, I don't even get her inside the apartment during the winter (they can't bear temperatures below 8 degrees Celsius). The weather conditions for flowering are perfect exactly now, and also she likes the light place where she lives. Although, she should not be exposed to direct sun, especially during the summer. Then, she was protected by the shade of my other plants, like the giant Aloe Vera and the big fuzzy Ruby Blush.

DSC_5794.JPG

A last glimpse at one of the flowers. Here it's like a red, flying bird, isn't it?

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

Flowering is great!
Mine also bloomed, but not so abundantly, since not all the buds have yet opened.

Your today's post is very versatile, it is about flowers, and about love and care, and about men, and about air conditioning and about a washing machine! 🤣👍
And most importantly a post with humor! 🤣👍
My mood has improved! 😊

Hahaha, that is great if the humor from the comments and post improved your mood. I am happy for that 🤩, so prince Charming is definitely not needed 😁😂

Good luck with your Christmas cactus blooming 🍀 Hope the buds will open soon 🙂

Moral lesson from the story: "Don't wait for any Prince Charming."

Yes, because if Miss Schlumbergera had ignored you at that low point in life thinking that Prince Charming would be the solution to her problem, then she would have been dead by now.

Be open to growth, accept ideas from others and make little progress always.

Lovely pictures of our little Princess 🥰

That's it!!
The best summary this post could have :)
So true, it's not always waiting for Prince Charming that can save someone's life! ;)

How wonderful… so many beautiful flowers.
Well done @mipiano she clearly is happy now you saved her.
Have a wonderful day today 👋🏻😊🌺

I am happy with Miss Schlumbergera Truncata too :)
She really overdid herself, so many flowers and there are still buds 😍
Thank you @littlebee4, I wish you a great evening too 😇

Wow, even more that still need to open. Such a wonderful gift… she is truly grateful you saved her, and shows it of now 🌺🥰😁
You are welcome. Thanks a lot @mipiano 😊👋🏻 Good night to you 😴😴

All she needed was some love and listening to some beautiful music, maybe?

Maybe ;)

Love - she got. ✅
Music - probably too, that's why my home ghost is still living with us 😑 😂

It's still there??!!

What tricks is it up to now? Has it learnt to turn on your oven? It will be handy to help with cooking dinner 🙂👻

Hahaha, that would be actually great :)))

Well, the air-conditioner can't be fixed, at least the repairman said he has never seen that issue... so it will have to be replaced entirely 🤐
A new washing machine arrived yesterday afternoon. I was at work, and Mister Mipiano received the delivery, they switched on the machine, it worked and finished, but later they couldn't open the door of it 😂😂😂

Men...

I came home and opened it 🤣 - magic lol

Men!!!!! 🙄

I think I need you to save me and let me live on your balcony for a while please :)

She does look like a bird - flying. See what you did? 💥

💙💙
Right now I need to save myself too from my starting migraine and anguish, so let's be both of us on my balcony 😁 and maybe we will bloom too 😉🤗

Haw!

Leave the screen immediately and rest please.

We will all be waiting patiently until you're well again

Feel better soon 💗

Maybe her Prince Charming might’ve abandoned her but you didn’t.

Her color, her glow, Miss S is a beauty and so is her savior 😍

Ow, @winniecorp, how could I abandon this pretty plant lady? :))
Though she was not beautiful when I found her, maybe I had some faith she would become a beauty...
And she did it indeed 😍

Oh my! I know this one!
Grannies popular, wonderful blooming seems like Spain weather doesn't bother her. :)

Spanish weather wouldn't bother you either lol 😉
My parents were surprised at how it bloomed this nicely 😃

So you are her savior, her fairy Godmother who saved her from the wicked world 🤩✨ haha. But seriously, saving her ia so worth it coz look at her now. She's a real beauty 🤩❤️

Of course that it was worth saving her :)
Her growth is incredible, it can't be compared to how this plant looked exactly a year ago (well, more like 11 months ago, it was December I bought it...)

Now I know its name hehe.. And it is really pretty..

Hehehe, yes, the pretty Miss Schlumbergera Truncata or just simply Christmas Cactus :))

Good to have this because Christmas is coming hehe

Very charming flowers. I especially fell in love with the color! 😍Mine is still in bud and I don't know what color it will turn out. I'm impatiently waiting for it to bloom 😊😊

You have also a Christmas Cactus? Cool :))
If the buds are purple, or red, the flowers would be probably like those in my photos.
But, let's wait for the surprise! I am wishing your Schlumbergera a beautiful blooming 🌸

Yes, I have a few. One is red but the one I just grew hasn't bloomed yet, I'm not sure of its color yet. It looks white and pink right now.

By the way, in my country, we call it the Christmas flower.

I found this plant that was thrown away last month, but it has no buds. Fortunately, he is alive now, maybe one day he will bloom. 🥰

Oh, this will be the white version :)))

It looks great 😃, it is a young plant :)

Thank you, I'm looking forward to it. Maybe I'll share it in bloom in the community. Good evening take care of yourself. 🥰

Looking forward to seeing that post, when it blooms and you make a post :)

Thank you and have a great evening you too @stellify

Very beautiful flower, you have managed to take good care of it

Seems that I did, but she got everything as my other plants too :)

Wow,lovely flowers I think we don't have that kind of flower here,I have'nt seen yet .

It is called Schlumbergera Truncata (also Christmas cactus) and originally it grows in Brazilian forests. I don't know what climate you have, as it depends a lot if a plant can survive or not.

Beautiful flowers... And specially it's shape is very much attractive... ♥👌

Agree with you, the shape of the flower is attractive and having the whole plant in flowers is so nice! :)

What a great job you have done with this beautiful succulent plant, dear friend @mipiano, you are a very good gardener.
How beautiful and flourishing it looks
I take this opportunity to wish you a great day

I think that all the succulents like this climate, although this plant originates from the shady forests of Brazil. But seems that it likes Spain too ;)
Have a good day you too!

It's a really beautiful lady, if my mother sees her she will definitely be crazy about her😅

Does your mother like plants and flowers? 🌸

Of course, almost the entire front yard of the house was filled with flowers that belonged to him😅,


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @roronoa46 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

How beautiful !

She is so lucky you came along when you did.

I bet she's really happy in her new home. She's beautiful.
I've always loved flowers and wish to have my own flower garden. I've seen most flowers only in pictures but not in real life

I hope you will be able to see as many flowers as you want in real life, they are bringing so much joy 😇

Thank you😊......they really do❤

I remember this post :)

You do? 😀

Oh, well, now she is just in our memory and here at Hive through these photos 🤐

Well... that's life and death. Which are arguably one and the same anyway.

And it's why we save things on the block chain ❤️