My cactus grafts.

Continuing with the advances in the garden, I must show the grafts that I have so far, although to be honest I am not entirely satisfied since I see very little growth in most of them, they don't look bad nor do they feel soft, on the other hand they feel very hard and well stuck, perhaps it is because of the climate or perhaps because the graft holders were in my almost 100% mineral substrate.

IMG_20221105_111448.jpg
Obregonia Denegrii

The one that I have seen that keeps growing is the peyote, it is grafted on a myrtillocactus and for that reason I already ordered 50 of them with a good size to graft, more or less of 4 inches, when they arrive I will make a video of the unboxing, I hope to remember it.

IMG_20221105_111108.jpg

IMG_20221105_110913.jpg

Look at that beauty! Isn't the Astrophytum Asterias beautiful?

IMG_20221105_111210.jpg

Most of the cacti I have grafted so far are Astrophytum, but I also have some Gymnocalycium

IMG_20221105_111416.jpg

For example this Astrophytum Asterias Shinshowa that I have grafted on Myrtillocactus, I am desperate to see it grow and give those beautiful flowers it gives.

IMG_20221105_110903.jpg

And as you probably already noticed, I made a community pot with several of my grafts, I hope it was a good idea, but the main reason to do it was to change the mix for a 70% organic and 30% mineral substrate, after all the grafts shouldn't get wet with the rain, so there shouldn't be any problem to have an organic mix.

IMG_20221105_110856.jpg

Finally I must say that when it comes to grafting, I have seen some very beautiful ones on Pereskiopsis but to my bad luck my grafts on pereskiopsis almost never work, at the moment there are few successful grafts like this one of Ariocarpus although I am not completely sure if it is correct, still I already see some growth, let's see what happens with time.

IMG_20221105_111027.jpg

Another thing I want to talk about is that the last seeds I planted have me a little worried, they have not born as they should, some seedlings are doing more or less well, but others simply resist to be born, I don't know if it is because I received a bad seed or because the weather was not appropriate, for the moment I put the seedlings between the plants to give them shade and protect them from the freezing wind at night.

IMG_20221105_110810.jpg

IMG_20221105_110819.jpg

IMG_20221105_110802.jpg

To finish I must say that I don't remember if I told you that during the last weeks I have been thinking of selling all my succulents and keep only cacti, but in spite of that I saw the Echeveria Agavoides and I fell in love, I had to buy one in the nursery.

IMG_20221105_130910.jpg

And since one is not enough, I asked the owner to sell me an offspring of one he already has huge in the garden.

IMG_20221105_130837.jpg

And this was the final result after the decoration in my garden, with this I say goodbye, see you soon.

IMG_20221105_132107.jpg

IMG_20221105_132123.jpg

Sort:  
 last year  

You really are a pro grafter! Perhaps it is late to be sowing seeds, usually the night temperatures should be above 15 to be successful
Don't get rid of your succulents! We all go through phases

Thank you very much, after so many attempts at grafting something good had to come out, about the seeds I ordered the following product, I hope to test it and tell you how it worked, in fact the seeds are coming out, a little slow but they are coming out, I hope that with this product they can come out faster.

https://www.amazon.com.mx/iPower-actualizada-Resistente-hidrop%C3%B3nicas-germinaci%C3%B3n/dp/B085FC2CD6/ref=sr_1_1?__mk_es_MX=%C3%85M%C3%85%C5%BD%C3%95%C3%91&crid=16KW44SAMX45O&keywords=esterilla%2Btermica%2Bgerminaci%C3%B3n%2Bde%2Bsemillas&qid=1667975208&sprefix=esterilla%2Btermica%2Bgerminaci%C3%B3n%2Bde%2Bsemilla%2Caps%2C122&sr=8-1&th=1

 last year  

Heat mats are a very useful way to get stubborn seeds to germinate although here, it's often the case that buying seeds results in no germination at all :(

Some seeds are germinating without many problems, but others are definitely rebels, for example Digitostigma caput medusae, not a single one has been born yet so I have no choice but to wait, the thing is that I bought another mix of astrophytum cultivars and I want to ensure their germination, I hope to make it with the heat mat.

 last year  

I really hope you succeed. Did you add crushed eggshells to the astrophytum mix? Soil PH can be very important for germination and survival too

In fact I am leaving a little aside the eggshells and I am doing tests adding a small portion of lime, in the plants it is working well and in some seedlings I also see that it is working, I think the main problem is the room temperature, I must have some eggshells to add.

 last year  

Lime is also good, if you can get it