The first cactus seeds that I pollinated myself.

The last two weeks I decided not to post for many reasons, one is because I have too much work here at home, I set a goal to create a home server using the old cpu I stopped using last year, I am using it as a media server using Minidlna, plus it is also running a splinterlands bot, next I want to make it a private cloud, and let's see what else I can come up with.

That plus the trip I had a week ago has left me with not enough time for the garden, plus there has been nothing interesting, yes the rains are upon us and most of my plants are doing very well except for two cacti I have under observation.

IMG_20220703_134517.jpg

So with what I've been busy I almost missed the collection of these seeds, I pollinated this cactus more than a month ago, exactly on May 26, here I leave the link of the post if you want to see the flowers again and know which were the cactus I used, it was this purple and the orange one.

IMG_20220703_134252.jpg

IMG_20220703_134333.jpg

Of the two cacti only one was pollinated, I guess because I used the same brush on the two flowers I stop the pollination of the second cactus, I hope some interesting specimens come out, as the color mix could cause some changes in the future cacti, or at least that's what I think.

IMG_20220703_134438.jpg

This is the first time that I got seeds from my cacti talking about cacti that I have pollinated myself, and the truth is that I am very proud to have achieved this next step in my learning about the care of cacti.

IMG_20220703_134807.jpg

The fruit capsule was small, and the size of the seeds was big, compared to seeds of other species I have planted, I started to separate the seeds to disinfect them and make them completely clean.

IMG_20220703_135426.jpg

In the end I got 19 seeds, but there are two or three that I am not sure that they will be useful, their color is more brown than black and they are smaller, in short they look different from the other seeds, I will wait a couple of days to sow these seeds but I will not post about it because I already have one on that subject, and now that I remember, as soon as I have time I will give you an update with pictures of the seedbeds and I will tell you a couple of problems I had, nothing serious that I can't solve.

Sort:  

How interesting that you pollinated the cactus yourself. I hope the seeds give you some nice cactus.

Thank you, the process of manual pollination is done with the intention of ensuring propagation by seeds, sometimes the necessary insects for natural pollination don't make it to the garden, sometimes because the right insects don't exist or because we have the plants inside controlled environments such as greenhouses, so sometimes we have to do the work.

Of course, I understand. Thank you very much for the explanation.
Happy Sunday:)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Dear @monster-one, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago when the HBD stabilizer proposal rose above it.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

All votes are helpful and yours will be much appreciated.
Thank you!