Yesterday I made pieces of this cactus. Echinopsis eyriesii

This cactus has with me a year, and since I bought it had several children around it, I remember that on that occasion @ewkaw mentioned to me that it would probably be difficult to see flowers from this cactus because it seemed to be a clone of another, the thing is that the cactus grew and the children didn't stop sprouting, to the extent that the colony was already too big and so I separated them, plus I was told that they would be very good graft holders, so I had to do the job.

IMG_20220513_182824.jpg

I showed my cactus at the nursery, and the seller told me that it would be an Echinopsis eyriesii, but very well fed and without so much sun, and the truth is that when I bought the cactus I noticed that it wasn't good with the sun, I let the time pass and I didn't get it used to direct sun, it filled the pot and yesterday it was difficult to take it out, I had to wet the mix to be able to take it out.

IMG_20220513_183017.jpg

This is the reason why I decided to separate them, the offspring already have roots, and because of their size they had to stretch a lot to receive the light they needed.

IMG_20220513_183534.jpg

Their size is perfect, and I am undecided as to whether I should cut off the excess or plant them deeper in the mix.

IMG_20220513_183543.jpg

As we can see, most of them already have roots and can live on their own.

IMG_20220513_183917.jpg

IMG_20220513_184313.jpg

IMG_20220513_184347.jpg

This is the mother plant, it is a good size and its roots look perfect, I will still let any wounds heal, separating the offspring was not difficult, and I don't think I hurt it either.

IMG_20220513_185004.jpg

IMG_20220513_185001.jpg

I was separating the larger ones that also had roots, in another place I put the ones that didn't have roots and were too small, and in another place the medium sized ones that also had roots.

IMG_20220513_185021.jpg

IMG_20220513_185014.jpg

IMG_20220513_185029.jpg

At the end of all the work this is what I got: 8 big cactus, 20 small ones without root, 60 medium size with root, also in the process some very small ones were detached, I didn't even count them, I simply put them in a pot and there they will stay for a while, if they root well and if not too, I don't worry much about their future because they were very small.

IMG_20220513_185642.jpg

IMG_20220513_195643.jpg

Now I just have to wait for them to heal and I will start planting them in their new pots, it will be quite a lot of work and investment because at the moment I don't have small pots, I will probably plant them in a tub that I use to water the plants and when I need one I will take them out of there, wish me luck.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

The question is: what to do with all of those babies? Echinopsis is pretty, but invasive in my country

I am thinking of using all of them as graft holders, some I will give away as well, in fact today I made a small exchange, in a few hours I will talk about it and I am gonna need your help.

That are a lot of babies 😎
You will have many new cactus 🌵 plants.
Job well done by separating all of them. Seems they have a great environment to grow that vast. 😊

Yes there are too many babies, the good thing is that I already have plans for them.

Great you have already plans for them, will we be seeing it? 😉

Have a wonderful day today 👋🏻

Cactus mass production! :D

That's the way I do it 😎

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

That's a lot in one pot. I would willingly propagate them.

I will see what happens in the next few days, I already have some plans but we never know for sure what is going to happen.