Garden journal: looking at my succulents

in Succulent growers4 years ago

This month I decided to take pictures of some of the plants I grow focusing on particular visual aspects that I find most appealing. It's autumn and still raining and many are growing actively in the cooler weather and many are flowering.

Babytoes or Fenestraria aurantica have been difficult for me to keep alive but I've had this little pot full for 2 years now and this is the first flowering.

fenestraria.jpg

Glottiphyllum longum got a little sunburned this summer but it is flowering happily anyway.

Glottiphyllum longum.jpg

Some toothy things: Faucaria

A flower bud on the Tiger's jaws

faucaria2.jpg

This Faucaria was suffering constantly from red spider mite and no amount of spraying has helped. The fresh air, dew and rain has helped the plant overcome the pest burden. If you look carefully, you'll see some germinating seedlings in the pot too.

faucaria1.jpg

Carruanthus is a different species but also a toothy mesemb. The teeth are not sharp and don't protect the plant but help in dew collection.

carruanthus.jpg

On to the Haworthia:

Haworthia odettae.jpg
Haworthis odettae is about to flower.

haworthia picta.jpg
Haworthia picta

Brain cactus cacti

cactus.jpg

Echeveria

echeveria.jpg

Finally, some Adromischus flowers. The solitary bees enjoy visiting these little flowers.

adromischus.jpg

Posted as part @simplymike's garden challenge https://hive.blog/homesteading/@simplymike/hive-community-garden-journal-challenge-april

Sort:  

This are great pictures. I love all your plants😍

 4 years ago  

Thank you!

You are welcome💛

Lovely collection of succulents! Ours never bloom. Except for one

 4 years ago  

Thanks, yes, they are my pride and joy. Succulents bloom seasonally in response to changing light levels. I think that enough sun is very important if you want to see flowers

That first Haworthia is especially lovely!
One of my Adromischus is growing a flower for the first time too.

 4 years ago  

Of course! It's a fuzzy one :)

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

This pictures are so beautiful😍😍😍💛

 4 years ago  

Thanks!

Looks like you're having fun, regardless of mass, global hysteria :>) Good for you.

 4 years ago  

My garden is my small patch of sanity, regardless of what's happening out there. I feel so privileged to be able to garden

My garden is a bit small as well...due to a neighbors HUGE Sycamore tree casting a shadow over the greater part of my yard,

I've discovered a lot more 'shade tolerant' greenery over the years, which helps that smile on my face when I'm out there puttering around.

My aura and vibes must be heightened as well, because my stray cat friends come out from their hiding places to sit and watch me talk to myself :>)

All your plants are very beautiful, patience brings roses,thanks for sharing!

 4 years ago  

Thank you!

Beautiful succulents. I am partial to those with sysmetric leaves. They are so pleasant and pleasing to the eye. Just beautiful.

 4 years ago  

Yes the geometric aspects of growth fascinates my eye

Woooow!!! 😍😍😍 The flowers are really so pretty! I never thought that succelents produce such beautiful flowers! ❤

 4 years ago  

Yes, they are particularly lovely

Thank you for sharing it to us. 😍

What a nice collection of lovely weird plants!! Some are just very artistic, sone are like dancers!!

No wonder you are attracted to them!

Congratulations on the flowering of these moody and difficult plants! :-)))
P.S. Why can't I see your posts?
I saw this one by accident!
https://hive.blog/@nikv - shows me this: Unknown Account
and https://hive.blog/@nikv - shows me this: nikv (71)in #diy • 8 days ago
So it shows me at the moment

 4 years ago  

Thank you!

Sometimes the nodes don't work too well and then you get the first error you mentioned.

The second problem comes from the fact that you were away for a while and communities were introduced and now, if you want to see all of my posts, you should go here https://hive.blog/@nikv/posts I made a community called succulent growers and if you post in communities, those posts don't show on the general blog page any more. Please feel free to join us here if you want to post about cacti or succulents that you have bought or are growing. Use the tag hive-183841 as your first tag and then it will appear in the community and disappear from your blog front page and only be seen on your posts tab

Thanks for the explanation!
I just went to https://hive.blog/@nikv/posts and it shows me this: 10 days ago - is this right or is something wrong again?
I posted a post, can I post the same post in tag hive-183841?

 4 years ago  

It's the last time I made a post 😊I need to fix that
Don't repost it now but in future you can use it

I joined your Succulent growers group.
The day before yesterday I wanted to post a post in it, but for some reason it did not pass, I tried several times within 2 days :-(((
Why?

 4 years ago  

That's weird, did you try using the posting button in the group? I have never tried that, I just make my first tag hive-183841 and it works

Your succulents are lovely and look healthy. I want to squeeze the cute baby toes as the top looks like there is air there.

 4 years ago  

You'll get liquid!

Awesome Photography..!!

 4 years ago  

Thanks!

Some beautiful succulents you have there!! I am looking for some that can grow in the shade.

 4 years ago  

Thanks! How much shade? There are succulents that prefer shadier conditions. Describe in more detail and maybe I could suggest you some plants

It is basically on the Southern side of my house, against the house, it has light, but no direct sunlight.

 4 years ago  

Gasteria could work there. Many haworthia are happy to be out of the sun too. Sanseveria are also an option

Those look so great. Never knew so many succulents grew flowers....

 4 years ago  

They all do it's just that many will not flower if conditions aren't conducive