Lockdown chronicles: repotting cacti

in Succulent growers4 years ago

Being in lockdown is hard on me financially because I work freelance and part-time so I am not eligible for any kind of unemployment compensation and it has been no work, no pay. When one employer called to say that he had a permit to reopen, I went back immediately. I have mixed feelings about it because my bookshop job involves being exposed to whoever comes into the shop and anything they may be carrying but it means groceries in my cupboard and that of my neighbour, who is in a similar predicament. He agreed to help me clean up my nightmare of a backyard so he has had the unenviable task of removing old tree stumps and sieving the soil to remove all the builder's rubble that makes it impossible to have a garden there.

At work, it's like a ghost town so I tend to wander around when bored and that's how I came across this very dehydrated cactus lying abandoned in a public flower pot.

ferocactus1.jpg

It's a Ferocactus townsendianus aka Fish Hook barrel cactus, a very slow-growing but tolerant species, ideal for me to put in a pot outside and forget about it. I used to be really good at killing cacti but I have since learned to put them in a clay pot outside and ignore them and they grow happily and even make flowers, which they seldom do if grown indoors.

ferocactus2.jpg

It's very dehydrated but far from dead and once the roots get active, it should swell out again. Like most commercially grown plants, it was started in a tiny pot of potting soil, which it outgrew long ago. I don't know where the pot was, it was dumped a long time ago to be this dehydrated.

What mix you grow cacti in depends on the climate and because my weather is very similar to the natural environment of many cacti, I can happily grow it in a coarse soil with some added cacti and succulent potting mix. Although cacti and succulent mix seems similar to ordinary potting mixtures, it is low in Nitrogen and high in Potassium, which is what cacti need. I got this soil from the road, where the larger particles form drifts against the stormwater gutters.

sand.jpg

Cooler, more humid climates usually require growing mediums like pumice for cacti to survive, but it's not necessary here. The large particles allow water to drain away quickly, preventing cacti from rotting.

ferocactus3.jpg

Although this pot is currently too large for the cactus, it means that I could happily leave there for the next five years or more before I need to consider repotting it. One look at those thorns will tell you that it's not one you want to touch regularly. It's easy enough to handle at this size but in future, I would need leather welders gloves to move it.

Sort:  

That potting mix looks very good! I should get mine more coarse like that so it dries faster after the rains.

 4 years ago  

Yes, especially in your climate where it rains in cooler weather

That cactus looks dangerously mean...!!!
Sorry to hear you're suffering financially during this Covid thing. If I had a Postal box address or something I'd send some food or money, or both...

 4 years ago  

I like the dangerously mean look ;)
It's kind of you to offer but Oour postal service isn't even working. I'll manage by selling my steem

Ha...I was just recently thinking about changing that profile image to a more 'relaxed' profile of me. Maybe I need to leave it up the way it is for now?

Well...if you change your mind, let me know. If you have another way to receive cash like paypal or something I can P2P buy some Hive or Steem from you to help

In either case...enjoy your day @nikv

So you rescued/adopted the plant? Good on you. I am sure it is now in good hands, and will grow happily once it has settled down.

 4 years ago  

Yes, I adopted it. I hope it grows well, it will be a good addition to my awful backyard

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

Wow! You did manage to get several things done! I do hope you get the regular job back on a permanent basis. I am also looking for a new part-time job; it’s hard during the last three months. Many people are much worse off than me as they still have to handle their debts.

What you did with this cactus is quite impressive! I wouldn’t go anywhere near those thorns.

 4 years ago  

Thanks! Good luck to you too

The lockdown is hard financially for everyone the whole world in a crisis, but it is a great opportunity to explore our souls and recover and healing our thoughts, that cacti reminds of the saying of " she is beautiful but dangerous at the same time" old man told me tha someday.

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Natural Medicine.

Nicely saved. I'm interested to see what it will look like when it's plumped up again. Would this go in full sun? I’ve featured your post in The Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow.


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

 4 years ago  

Thank you! Yes, this is a full-sun cactus. I'll definitely show it when it's recovered

hello pretty, with how well you take care of it it will become great very soon
Happy Tuesday

 4 years ago  

Hello @txatxy! I hope so too

Hello,

We were wondering why you are down voting our community post. We post once per day. We don't comment spam. We support a small community of posters. We have never powered down. In the past, we used the proceeds of the posts to rent SP to use it to vote on community members' posts. We are currently not renting HP because there is no efficient and easy way to do it. We are hopeful an efficient and easy way will emerge. We used to be @steemiteducation and have encouraged thousands of posts over the past 3+ years.