Moarrr plants!?!?!

in Succulent growers2 years ago

After losing a substantial LUNA investment last weekend, what better way to be cheered up than to get more plants? Especially when the plants were free... I belong to the local succulent society and one of the members, who has been growing succulents for the last 50-odd years has had to go to a frail care facilty at the age of 95. Growing was very large part of her life and she asked that the members of the society come and take her plants so that they could continue to be grown and cared for.

Euphorbia cylindrifolia.jpg
Euphorbia cylindrifolia

Most of the cacti are very old and were grown outside in pots so hopefully they won't mind living in my garden. If you look closely, there's a seedling in the right hand side of the pot. That went to join my other seedlings.

cactus.jpg

The hothouse plants were sadly in poor condition because the old lady had become incapable of taking care of them so summer heat and not enough water turned many pale and red and they had started to suffer from scale. Cooler, shadier growing conditions and pest treatments should help them recover

duvalia.jpg

Below, a very old conophytum bilobum that is quite water-starved. I've put it in a cool place to adjust for now and will water it only in a few day's from now

Conophytum bilobum.jpg

Aloinopsis spathulata is in better shape although it needs to go into a less rotten pot

Aloinopsis spathulata.jpg

A tiny garden of compatible miniature Crassula species, Anacampseros and Conophytum that shows a loving attention to detail

miniature garden.jpg

I was on the scooter so I chose to take a lot of offsets and cuttings rather than whole plants in pots and the plants below need to be left for the stem and root breaks to heal before I put them into pots, I'll do that next week although the euphorbia will just be put in a cool place for the next four months before I even bother putting it into soil, it will not make roots until spring

cuttings.jpg

This is just a selection of the great plants I got, I'll show some of the others as they recover and start growing again, I'm thankful to be given the opportunity to grow some really interesting and much loved plants

Sort:  

Beautiful plants, congratulations!

 2 years ago  

Thank you! I feel very lucky

Good luck and looking forward to their new photos!

I am sure we will soon see how the plants have recovered.
What a nice collection you got.

 2 years ago  

I hope so!

Nice haul! Conophytum and Aloinopsis (I killed mine, but will replace it) will look so nice in bloom.
The little garden is like a surprise box :p

New plants always help :)

 2 years ago  

They do indeed: more plants are an incentive for activity instead of sulking

Looks like quite a project you are taking on. But sounds like it will be a labor of love. I'm sure it will give the original gardener joy to see her plants live on.

 2 years ago  

Yes I have often wondered what to do with my plants in the long run. Now I know, because well-cared for succulents are often small but they live a very long time

That's a sweet story @nikv, I am sure the old lady feels calmer knowing that her beloved plants go to succulent lovers that will take care of them :)
They are beautiful! Oh my, I got amazed by the old Conophytum bilobum and its "eyes" on most leaves. Definitely like a cute alien! I loved this dehydrated beauty!

 2 years ago  

Conophytums are extremely cute. The "eyes" are where the flowers were

I’m sure you will bring these plants back to a happy life. Nice the plants are being looked after now the lady is unable to care for them.

 2 years ago  

Succulents should be treated like bonsai: loved and handed down through generations

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 2 years ago  

Thank you @ewkaw!

Very nice. I do like the look of succulents:)

 2 years ago  

They are living sculptures

Definitely works of natural art:)

This is so sweet!!! When my friend in San Diego passed away I took home some of her air plants. Sadly, they did not like life in the Pacific Northwest... I still keep their air corpses, though.

 2 years ago  

Plants don't always like moving but air corpses often look a lot like live air plants, especially of they are that grey type haha

I wrote in another comment somewhere about my (previous) dislike for succulents and cacti but also that I have come to really like them and appreciate their differentness. They are really quite incredible survivors, yes?

Becca 💗

 2 years ago  

Succulents are amazingly well adapted and evolved

They surely are.

LUNA was/is such a pain. A great lesson though. I have friends who lost a lot too. Strange for me, I tried a few times to invest in it but there were always some strange issues and problems and I was never successful in buying some. I hope this all has a positive outcome, somehow...

 2 years ago  

Lucky you! I made a little trading LUNA and it seemed such a solid coin to trade so I wasn't concerned when I bought again and the price started dropping. In some ways, it has been good to be kicked out of comfortable laziness. Yes, I had plans for that money but well, I've been in crypto for too long to dwell on it. Life goes on

True!
Many say that people should invest in crypto only that they could afford to loose. My mindset is a bit different as I invest the best I can offer for the moment - my photos, stories, memories, etc. :)
However, I see in the last year or so Bitcoin follows the trend of the industrial indexes so with the exceptions of events like TerraUSD & LUNA it all starts to be more predictable. I think :)

 2 years ago  

Yes, BTC definitely follows Dow Jones and UST/LUNA was like a damn lightning bolt. I would never "bet the farm" as we say so losing it isn't the end of the world but it sure as hell puts a lot of plans on hold for me

True.
We definitely live in quite interesting times. I hope we get back to the feeling that the world today is better than the world yesterday. As lately, it feels the other way around :)

Oh no, sorry that you lost LUNA! I hope 'substantial' wasn't life changing heartbreaking but something you can recover from quickly.

 2 years ago  

It wasn't good at all but I'm not going to dwell on it

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻

 2 years ago  

🤗🤗🤗🌵🌵🌵

A very sad reason why these plants ended up with you. However, I'm sure that they are very lucky to be in your hand. I hope that all of them will take root in your house and continue to keep the memory of the previous hostess.

Euphorbia cylindrifolia looks like an underwater organism, from the dark depths, very alien. 😱


Congratulations @nikv!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love your new collection of the cacti.
I love cacti but because I don't havd much sunlight where I live now, I don't have any cacti 😔

 2 years ago  

That's a pity!

Dear @nikv, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got an important support from the community. However, it lost its funding few days ago and only needs a few more HP to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support would be really helpful and you could make the difference! Thank you!