SERENDIPITY: PART EIGHT

in ReggaeJAHM3 years ago

Surreal

The rest of my time spent in the hospital was surreal. The first time I held the girls was magical. I could tell their temperaments immediately. Alyssa was exactly like Max and Alexa was like me. She also had more curls in her hair than Alyssa whose hair was more straight like Max’s. Breastfeeding was a challenge with two babies but Shelly was right there with me to help me along. Nurse Saunders was downright smitten. He sent me a fresh bouquet of flowers ever day and his coy smiles and lingering in my room unnecessarily was made it the more obvious. I was flattered by the attention, but I really wasn’t interested.

After we went home with the girls, Shelly was never there more in the daytime and sometimes Lisa too. It was almost time for my final exams so I was juggling school and the girls. The nights were terrible, but they all took turns staying up with me.

One day as I curled up on the sofa willing my eyes to stay open while I studied some financial accounting. The girls were in their swings dosing and Maurice and Shelly were in their usual spot at the kitchen island whispering. There was a knock on the front door. I was immediately alert wondering who could it be in the middle of the afternoon. Maurice opened the door and there was no interlude between him and whoever it was the door was flung wide and Max walked in with two other security guards left standing at the door. Shelly stood up and gave him the MobBoss salute and I shot to my feet to stand in front the girls. He didn’t acknowledge her, his eyes found me immediately. He was dressed impeccably in a dark grey suit with the platinum cuff links that I loved. He wasn’t scowling, nor was he smiling he looked tired.

“La regina...” his eyes moved from my face to the tips of my white polished toes. I guess I knew this was inevitable but I kept pushing it from my mind. I knew he would find out about the babies and come for them. I used my body to block them as much as I could.

“Why are you here?” I said quietly. Hurt, defiant eyes met dark broody tired ones.

“I...” he seemed at a loss for words. He motioned with his head in his usual way and Maurice and Shelly disappeared through the front door. Alyssa chose that moment to protest the commotion that was disturbing her sleep and his eyes flew downward, his brows furrowing. He stepped around me and stopped his eyes widening.

“What the fuck?!” The words flew out of his mouth as he walked around and took a good look at the sleeping babies.

“I don’t use such language around my children!” I snapped. He looked from me to the babies and back again.

“Whose babies are these, Joanna?” I know he knew the answer but he wanted to hear the words from me. He kept staring at the babies, there was no use trying to block them anymore. He was so close to me I could smell his familiar scent.

“Well considering my reputation, they could be anybody’s. But in any case I don’t see why that would be any of your concern. Again, why are you here?!” Alyssa fussed again and Alexa gave a little unbothered stretch. I stepped away from him to avoid that scent and he fell to his knees in front of the swings muttering in Italian. Alyssa who was so easily bothered started kicking her little legs and fussing.

I was flustered and annoyed at the same time.
“Look what you did?! I just got her calm enough to sleep and you just had to come barging in here and shouting! Why are you here?!” I shouted at him and the baby started crying. I ran to her and picked her up.

“I’m sorry baby. Mommy’s here.” I put my face next to hers and she snuggled into me her cries reduced to whimpers. He kept kneeling before Alexa who opened her eyes and looked at him. He gasped again as he gazed into her eyes and she gave him the most beautiful smile, my heart flipped so I can image what his did.

He jumped to his feet and through off this jacket throwing it in a nearby chair, he went to the kitchen and washed his hands.

“Don’t you dear touch her!” I stood firmly before the rocker but with one baby in my hand, I know there was no way to stop him; I was fighting a losing battle. I thought he would pick up Alexa but he surprised me by prying whimpering Alyssa from my hands. I stood watching in shock as anger, resentment and hurt rose in me. He held her bottom and the back of her head and started speaking to her in Italian. She opened one eye then the next. She stopped whimpering and looked at him and again he was in awe.

“Why are you here, Max?!” I was getting hysterical and really flustered not knowing what to do. He ignored me and brought Alyssa up to his chest and she snuggled into him her little hand reaching up to his face his eyes met mine above her head. I tried not to think about how good he looked with her in his arms and instead focus on the fact that he needed to leave.

“You are married, you need to be with your wife! I’m not trying to cause any problems in your life so why are you here?”

“You have my children and I intend to be a part of their life.” He said his eyes never leaving mine.

“You are not staying here!” I shouted and the baby wiggled. They were not used to shouting and animosity.

“You’re right. Neither are you and the babies. We’re going home.” He said matter of factly.

“This is our home and we are not leaving! Don’t you think you’ve done enough to me? I’ve taken every insult and neglect and I have not complained. My life now has purpose because of these children. Please, please leave and allow me to live! I am tired physically and emotionally! Just go!” Now Alexa started crying and I rushed to her and cuddled her, and she buried her face into my bosom. She was hungry.

“You’ll have enough people to help you with the babies back at the house.”

“I don’t need you or them! I have been doing fine without you and your servants.” I sat with the Alexa who started a loud fit of crying for her food. I grabbed a bottle from the bottle warmer and put it at her lips and she started drinking vigorously. I looked up at Alyssa in his hands and she started dosing again quite comfortably as he shook her.
“Please would you put her down and leave?!”

“I know you’re angry la regina, and you have every right to be...”

“I wish you would just go. Walk away like you did that day and leave me and my babies. You made me wish for death so many times, it was like an incantation every time I opened my eyes and realized I was still living. For months I waited, wishing and hoping that what I saw was a lie but you never came, you never reached out. I despise you!” All the anger I held in for all those months surfaced. I couldn’t look him in the face, I was trying really hard not to cry.

“I looked pass all the hurtful things you said to me accepting that they were true, but I loved you so much, I hoped you would have grown to love and accept me. I wanted to fit in with you and the family so badly, not for me, but for you and you trapped my pride and my heart. You were no better than Gregory. The only difference was I got a chance to be a whore in silk. I resent you and your family! You are an ungrateful piece of shit! I know I don’t have a choice but to work for you. So I will continue to do so, but I don’t want you anywhere near me and my babies.”

My eyes turned to his and what I saw broke me, I saw pain and sorrow so deep my eyes immediately filled. He was still cradling Alexa with his face next to hers as he looked at me as if he was drawing comfort from her. I quickly dashed the tears away with my sleeves hating myself for crying before him. There was a small knock on the door just then and Maurice came in with a vase of long stemmed pink roses.

“Sorry, these came for Ms. Joanna.” He walked in and quickly placed them on the kitchen island and placed the card on the sofa next to me before making a hasty retreat. Roses for me? That’s a first. I looked down at the card that had “For a Beautiful Queen” written on the back. For a second I thought they came from him but when I looked back at him he was scowling and also looking at the envelope. Alexa had finished drinking and had started sleeping; her face so serene and so much like his. As I looked at her my eyes filled again. I shook it off, I would not allow him to get the best of me. I cradled the baby to my chest gently patting her back as I got up and walked away from him up the stairs.

After settling Alexa in her cradle I went back to get Alyssa. It was her feeding time. He was still sitting cradling her and staring at the envelope.

“It’s time for her feeding.” I said as I stretched my hands to him to take her.

“I can do it.” He announced. “Or rather, I would like to try.” He settled Alyssa in the crook of his arms and stretched his hand for the bottle not giving me any time to protest. I knew how Alyssa could be if her food was late and I didn’t want to cause that because I’m fighting with her father, so I took the bottle from the warmer and handed it to him and helped to settle her head properly on his arm. He gently placed the bottle to her lips and she scowled and protested a little then she started drinking. If this child was any more her father’s I’d be damned. They were exactly alike.

I sat across from him watching as he smiled down at her and my breath caught as not just my heart contracted but every muscle south of my navel. This man was sexy even while he was feeding his child! I looked away from him and my eyes landed on the envelope. I took it up and opened it.

Dear Joanna,
From the moment my eyes met yours I’ve been smitten. I can’t stop thinking about you. I know you have a lot with your beautiful babies right now, but I hope one day I can whine, dine and treat you like the queen you are.
I don’t just want to say words, I want to show you that you are worth it and more.
I hope these brighten your day.

Miguel (nurse Saunders)

Oh boy, the nurse had lyrics but would he still feel the same if he knew my background? Would he hold me while I slept? Would he bathe me, feed me and sit by my bedside for weeks? Would he hold me close in the middle of the night when I was scared? Max was by no means perfect but he did set a standard for me that I doubt any other man could reach. It was unfortunate that I wouldn’t find out because I couldn’t give Miguel what he wanted or needed. I closed the card and replaced it in the envelope and back on the chair. Alyssa was finished and he was struggling to hold ms. wiggles. I almost smiled, but I didn’t give him that benefit. I took her, cradled her on my shoulder patting her back while I brought her to her cradle.

“Oh so you have a man!” He bellowed as I stepped off the last step.

“Wait a pussyclaat second deh. What a way yu wrong and strong! Yu have a wife pussyhole!” Now that the girls were not in the room I could tell him how I really felt.
“Yu have some bloodclaat nerve a read me mail and a try call me out! Weh yu did deh when mi sink inna depression and almost dead wid yu pickni dem! Hey yu betta gwaan home to yu pussyclaat wife and lowh me!”

“I tried to find you and Aunty refused to tell me and then I left the country! I came here straight from the airport!” Was he telling me the truth? And was he was jealous?!

“You belong to me.” His voice got scary quiet and he grabbed my upper arm and drew my body smack against his and I gasped at the potent electric charge between us after so long. I could feel every muscle in his body touching me in all the right places.

“Do da pussy de a favor and tell him fi back up several hundred miles cause me have a copper shot or a few weh mi can personally engrave him name pan. Don’t bombo pussyclaat try me Joanna.” Brown eyes met dark, and despite the words being spoken the sexual tension was rife. My eyes moved from his to his lips and I wanted to taste them so badly. Before the thought processed his mouth was on mine sucking at my lips like a starving man. His tongue was in my mouth the first opportunity he got finding mine and reuniting with it. This was what I remembered, he tasted like my sexy king. But reality knocked reminding me that he wasn’t my king and I pushed away from him. Both our breathing out of control.

“Don’t fucking touch me again! I’m the same whore Max, the same embarrassment. Please leave. Go home to your pretty little Italian wife.” I spat at him. I was really angry at myself for being so weak to him. He stood looking at me linking his fingers behind his head and stretching in that way of his when he was frustrated. I couldn’t stay in the same space with him. I ran up the steps and in to my room with the babies. I was physically drained and now I was in an emotional rollercoaster. Why did he show up here all of a sudden? I checked the two cradles next to the bed and the babies were sound asleep, I curled up on the bed next to them and allowed my tears to fall until I fell asleep.

I felt warmth next to me and my first instinct was to snuggle into it. It felt familiar and really good, then I heard piercing cry from the babies. I struggled out of bed and there he was. Unbelievable. I was way too tired to argue and there was no time. He got out of bed too and he reached for Alexa while I tended to Alyssa. Then we exchanged babies. We did the feeding and cuddling throughout the night. At one point I wondered where Shelly was. We didn’t speak, we had a silent understanding for caring for the babies. We both fell asleep at dawn each with a baby on our chests. Me with Alyssa and him with Alexa.

“J” Shelly’s voice penetrated my sleep and I felt the baby being taken from my chest. I automatically hugged her tighter but when my eyes flew open Shelly was taking ms. wiggles from my chest.

I looked next to me and Max was still sleeping clutching Alexa to his chest his head resting on the headboard.

“Did you guys sleep?” She asked as she took Alyssa and placed her in her cradle.

“Barely.” I reached over and took Alexa and he also automatically gripped her. When his eyes opened and he saw me he let her go.

“Manners and respect mi boss, we usually take the twinnies for a early morning walk so that J can get some extra rest.” She addressed Max who was now sitting up in the bed still fully dressed except for his shoes and socks.

“Maurice has the stroller ready? I asked her.

“Yea him a wait.”

“Alright take Lexa and I’ll take Lyssa,” I said handing her a blanket.

Shelly carefully took Alexa from her cradle and when I was about to take Alyssa. He reached in at the same time and our hands touched.

“I’ll take her.” I didn’t protest, I handed him her blanket and he took her up. It was amazing how she snuggled into him every time he held her. They walked out and I crawled exhausted back into the bed.

A few moments later the door opened and he walked in. I gasped silently as my body started reacting to his presence. I thought he was going walking with them. He climbed into the bed and without saying a word he pulled my body back into his. I couldn’t resist even if I wanted to. It felt so good to be in his arms again.

“Your hair has grown. I love it.” He buried his face into my hair and inhaled deeply like he usually did. “How is your chest?” He asked quietly.

“Much better.”

He sighed, “la regina, I’ve missed doing this so much. I’m so so sorry please don’t hate me.”

There were too many emotions going through me, I didn’t know how to respond. It was best to just sleep. One thing was for certain, I never stopped loving him. That was my last thought before I drifted off.

When I opened my eyes, he was sitting in the rocking chair feeding Alyssa who had already had her bath and Alexa was already fast asleep.

“I’m sorry I couldn’t wake you, I know you’re tired.” My heart moved to see him cuddling my baby, I should be doing that.

“Why didn’t you guys wake me?” I flew out of the bed and reached for Alyssa.

“J it’s not a big deal. Shelly says you you’ve started studying and you have finals soon. You have been at it all day and night, you need to get some rest. You may not want me here but I’m here and I’m not leaving you and them.” He said quietly not wanting to disturb the baby.

He had a point and he was their father, but I was way up in my feelings. They were my babies. He was no where to be found for the entire time and now he’s here and I can see them snuggling to him like they usually did to me. Shelly should have awakened me as usual after the twins came back from their walk. I obviously couldn’t take the baby from him so I walked out of the room still in my yoga pants and t-shirt, my hair in a messy ponytail in search of Shelly. The first thing that met me were suitcases. Shelly and Maurice were in their usual spot at the kitchen island drinking coffee.

“Shelly what the fuck?! Why didn’t you wake me?!”

“The boss insisted that you need some rest and quite frankly me think so too. Furthermore, we could handle the girls, so we jus make you get a likkle extra five. How about some gratitude B?” Shelly was calm as she turned on the stool to respond to my attack.

“Him jus come from outta no pussyclaat where and a come mess up mi flow! We usually do their morning routine together why as him come you 360 pan me?! Mi know uuno loyal to him and mi nah try get between that but jus leave me and mi pickni dem outta it.” I was smarting and edgy because of all the emotions going through me; even my eyes started to tear up because I couldn’t bare to watch Max get so close to the girls in such a short time.

“J relax cause you know this nu have nuttn fi do wid loyalty, so nu badda go de so. We genuinely did a try give you a likkle break.”

“Anybody else but him! Him have a wife and him need fi go find har raas and avoid me and me pickni dem!” I shouted at her.

“Alright listen to me now B, a time fi you hear some truth, mi know say you hurt, mi nah go downplay that. But wah me also nah go downplay a di fact say, one, whether or not you wah accept it dem two likkle gal deh a Rossi through and through and him have every right to be there for them. And two, a time fi yu stop block out the things weh uuno need fi address. Mi siddung fi months and allow you fi behave like wah happened never happened and the Rossi family nu exist! The proof inna di raasclaat two pudding dem weh uuno bake together! You pretend as if him nu exist and him turn up pan yu door step and there is no more hiding. Him come here and find out bout him yute dem and him decide say him nah leave without you and them, so all a we ago pack up in ya to raas. A time fi face up to the shit!” She turned her body fully in my direction to make her point.

“Mi honor yu wishes and me nu mention nuttn bout him or the family but you are as much a part of that family probably more than me and Maurice right ya now to pussyclaat! A whole eep a things happened and we coulda tell yu fi help alleviate some a the resentment and hurt weh you a carry but everytime we try yu shut dung di argument and we jus lowh it; but hear wah now a judgement day so yu betta prepare yuself fi Ms. Munroe and The Godfather cause dem a come ya today fi meet dem grand pickni. And no nubadda think a me or Maurice talk. We’ve been holding you down B, so nubadda come talk nu fuckery bout 360!” Fuck! What?! My eyes widened in shock. Why was everybody showing up. I didn’t want to face them.

“Memba say mi nah tell you nuffi be angry wid di MobBoss but memba say anu jus you alone nu more, yu have two more reason fi put inna perspective. And another thing, yu see da bloodcleet nurse man de weh a send you roses and sinting try nip it inna di bud from now. Nubadda cause di man fi lose him life pussyclaat life and you ell and kno say you nuh want him. If you think me a joke just know say di boss already have him name, address and phone numba. Mi done talk to yu!” There was another vase of long stemmed white roses this time sitting on the kitchen island next to the first. She turned back to her cup of coffee as if nothing happened, looking unperturbed in her wig and baseball cap and black trainers. I was speechless. I was wrong to attack them, but I felt backed in a corner.


Backed Into a Corner

He walked down the stairs and they immediately took their leave. He was still wearing his white shirt and pants and his feet were bare. His eyes landed on the new bouquet and his eyes hardened.

“Look like you think me a joke don’t?” He said.

“Max I’m not interested in anybody. I’m busy taking care of two babies, pumping breast milk and trying to get through school, what time would I have to take on a relationship?” My tone was lowered because I knew he had the power to cause things to happen with only a phone call. His eyes went to my breasts immediately and the current shot through my body. When he reached to me he ran the back of his hand down my cheek, pass my lips, down my neck and at the peak of one nipple.

“I love what pumping breast milk has done to you.” He said huskily referring to how fuller my breasts were. His hand continued down and round my body cupping my butt that was noticeably rounder and drawing me to this body he breathed in my ear.

“I especially love this aspect of child bearing.” His tongue snaked out and licked my ear and I know I wet myself times ten. It has been a while since I felt these delicious feelings; but our reality remained unchanged. He was married. I couldn’t allow him to touch me like this. I pushed away from him trying to steady my breathing.

“I see you’ve decided to stay here.” I said looking pointedly at his luggage trying to change the subject.

“You said you’re not coming with me and I’m not going anywhere without you. I’m not letting you out of my sight again.” His eyes were sincere as his dark gaze pierced mine. I was confused. Where was his wife?

“Have I told you how beautiful you are la regina? Your skin is glowing, your hair is beautiful, your eyes are sparkling. I’ve missed you so much.” I moved away from him. Shelly said some things that needed to be clarified and only by him.

“Max, there is much we need to talk about.” I wrung my hands together in a nervous gesture. There was so much, I didn’t know where to start. I took up the baby monitor to do something with my hands. If not I would probably be all over him. I didn’t know if I was ready to talk with him, my emotions were all over the place.

“You should take your things upstairs. I’m going to shower before the girls start fussing. Would you like me to fix you something to eat before I go?” The words were rushing out of my mouth and I was rambling. I didn’t know how to be in the same space with him and not be all over him. And to make it worse he kept watching me with those piercing dark eyes, his hair all messy, he was so fucking sexy!

“That’s ok baby, I’ll make you something, you should have eaten already.” It took everything within to hold myself back from throwing my arms around his neck.

“Ok.” I said softly walking around him to get to the stairs, I walked quickly up. I always took quick showers because the girls were on a tight feeding schedule. I also needed to pump breast milk before it got later. I was so late with everything today. I stepped into the shower quickly. Closing my eyes I allowed the warm water to run from my head down. I remembered many mornings when Max couldn’t keep his hands off me and I’d be lifted and wrapped around his body as he brought me sweet pleasure.

When I stepped out of the shower I heard one of the babies fussing. Probably Lyssa. I wrapped a towel around my head and my body and quickly went to the room but he was already there with her. He was shirtless and she was snuggling on his chest.

“Thank you. I tried to be quick but this hair of mine takes forever to wash.” I reached up and touched my head subconsciously and the towel around my body slipped. His mouth fell open and he stared at my naked body like a horny school boy. I grabbed the towel, opening it wide to give him a good view before closing it tightly. I was still tiny but I filled out a little more with the pregnancy. We shouldn’t be in the same space together, he made me do crazy shit. This is exactly why we now have these two little humans beings to care for because we always do some crazy shit.

“Enjoyed the view?” I asked seductively staring at his gaping mouth.

“You are absolutely fucking exquisite!”

“Hey! Watch your language.”

He was immediately contrite though I smiled at him. “Sorry.” He breathed closing his eyes. “La regina when can I get a chance to run my hands and lips over those curves?” He walked to me with Lyssa still clutched to his chest.

“I’ll take her,” I reached up and took the baby ignoring his question. He handed her over but not before placing a soft kiss on my exposed shoulder sending a shiver through my body. I moved away from him.

“She’s exactly like you. Loves to cuddle.” I kissed Lyssa’s hair and she burrowed more into my chest. “Alexa is content as long as her diaper is clean and her tummy is full.”

“And here I was thinking she was so much like you.” He smiled looking at her.

“I don’t think I’ve properly introduced you to your daughters. This little Miss wiggles is Alyssa Elena and that sleeping beauty is Alexa Sofia, both 5 weeks old.” His breath caught as he moved to Lexa and kissed her softly in her cradle then he walked to Lyssa and I. He kissed her little head then he kissed my temple.

“You gave them my mother’s name and Aunty’s middle name. Thank you. I’m sure Aunty and papa will be happy.” I sure I saw tears glisten in his eyes before he blinked them back.

“Yea Maurice told me. And I think I need to apologize to your dad and aunt for the way they found out about the girls. I heard they’re coming here today but maybe we should go to them. It’s the respectful thing to do. I was hurt and worried that they would want to take my babies away from me. I can imagine that maybe they’re angry at me right now.” I said as it dawned on me that it wasn’t right to have Max’s family come to me, I should go to them.

“Are you kidding me? You can do no wrong in their eyes! Right now papa and Aunty are angry with me because this was all my fault to begin with.” He sighed and sat on the bed as I stood cuddling the baby.

“I should have been honest with you about many things Joanna. I didn’t want to talk about the things that were happening. I shouldn’t have kept you in the dark. And more importantly I should have been more grateful to you for all you’ve done for our family.” I placed the baby back in her cradle and walked over to him. I held his face between my palms and kissed his lips then I hugged him to me, my hands sifting through his hair. With his face between my sensitive breasts, he threw his arms around me and hugged me tightly to him. I rested my cheek on top of his head reveling in the familiarity of him being in my arms. I didn’t want to think about the fact that he belonged to someone else on paper because in my heart I knew he was mine. I could feel all the pent up pain slowly being released.


Reunited

“I’m so sorry la regina. I know I put you through hell and I will spend the rest of my life making it up you. I love you, Joanna. Don’t ever doubt it. Always have and always will. Nothing and no one will change that. You are the only woman who’s already lodged an engraved bullet into my chest and now these two little ones have lodged themselves next to you.” He lifted his face to mine and I claimed his lips. Kissing him deeply, showing him how much knowing that he loved me meant to me. The towel fell away as the kiss deepened and I allowed it while I straddled him on the edge of the bed.

His hands moved up and down my body moaning with pleasure as he found new curves. He ran his beard over my sensitive nipples and gently bit them and I had to clamp my hands over my mouth to stop myself from crying out. I needed to feel him inside me it has been way too long. The towel fell out of my hair and the curls fell to my shoulders. His hands flew to my hair massaging my scalp and holding my head in place as he plundered my lips.

“You taste so good, you smell good, you feel glorious. I need to be inside you, la regina. Is it ok?” He asked my lips. I moaned in response fumbling with the clasp on his pants. When he freed himself and I slid down on his sweet dick I instantaneously started gushing pussy juice over him.

“Pussyclaat,” he whispered “Sorry baby but mi miss da pussy ya yu fuck!”

He groaned deep, his fingers digging into my waist and guiding my movements as I rocked back and forth on the cocky over and over again until we were both gliding up and above the clouds of passion.

We showered quickly together knowing we didn’t have the time to mess around all day we had to make our way to the mansion. Max dressed in a navy blue suit and I wore a yellow shorts suit with a double breasted jacket and pointy toe flats. I had to do something with my curls. Shelly and Max both insisted I leave them hanging loose. So I brushed the front back and caught it in a ponytail and left it hanging with the rest down my back.

Shelly had to help me with the twins. They wore matching pink onesies that read “my father is a king so that makes me a princess,” and little frilly tutus. Topped off with head bands with a multicolored bow. Alyssa of course was not pleased about anything on her head, but Alexa was chill with her bow. Alyssa had more curls while Alexa’s was a straight texture like her father’s. They already had so much hair I was amazed.

When we were all set and about to go the door bell rang. When Maurice opened the door it was Miguel with a bunch of roses in his hands. I guess he was tired of having them delivered and not receiving a response. He was unable to cross the threshold because Maurice blocked him.

“Good day, is Joanna in?” He asked timidly looking up at Maurice’s huge stature.

“No, she’s not.” Maurice said.

“It’s ok Maurice.” I called to him and he stepped aside allowing Miguel to cross the threshold. His eyes widened when he walked in, I don’t know if it was from seeing me or it was because of Max who removed his silver gun and opened the barrel pretending to check the bullets. And Shelly placed her glock on her leg nonchalantly.

“Hello, Miguel,” I greeted him ignoring Max and Shelly’s scowl. He seemed a little tongue tied for a grown man, so I continued.

“We’re on our way out, actually. It was nice of you to stop by so I can thank you in person for the lovely flowers.”

“I was actually wondering if I could visit with the babies sometime?” He asked but not once did his eyes move toward the babies in their swings, but they were busy moving up my exposed legs and lingering at my bosom.

Max closed the barrel of his gun with a click and tucked it in his waist. “You wah visit with my pussyclaat gal pickni dem but yu eye dem a strip dem mother even as you speak?”

“Max?” I said, my tone warning him about his language in the presence of the girls. I looked at the rage in his eyes then I turned to Miguel, even more convinced he wasn’t for me.

I sighed, “Miguel, aside from turning up at my house unannounced, you have not looked at my girls once since you walked through that door, but you’re going to ask me if you can come visit with them? I dislike disingenuous people and I especially don’t want them around my children.” I was trying to be diplomatic. I didn’t want negative energy around the babies.

“Joanna you are accusing me wrongfully...” He started defensively but I cut him off.

“Am I? Well my eyes are up here and not in my bosom or legs.” His eyes met mine for the first time. “You should find yourself a girl who can cater to your sexual needs, I can see you need some loving. I’m sorry if I’ve lead you to believe otherwise, but I have only one king.” I turned to Max who was scowling hard, and placing my hand on his cheek I tipped up and kissed his lips.

“Relax baby”, I whispered to him and I could literally feel the tension leaving him.

“I am a woman with two children and a man who wi literally splatter yu brain pan di wall, you nu need none a that. Have a good day Miguel.” I said trying not to sound annoyed. Miguel nodded and turned on his heels and walked through the door. We left shortly after, it was getting late and we didn’t want the girls fussing on the journey.

Maurice drove Max, the babies and I in the Mercedes SUV and Shelly drove her own car. The girls were really good during the journey. They slept peacefully in their car seats, even Alyssa. Max wasn’t able to sit in the back with us but he kept looking back to make sure we were ok and I would reward him with a kiss or two.
When we pulled into the long driveway, it was late afternoon.

It was strange being back at the mansion. So much had happened here, I immediately became withdrawn and weary when Maurice opened the door to help me out. Men in black came and took the babies’ car seats and their bags but Max wanted to carry one of the girls, he took Alyssa and Maurice took Alexa. Max looked happy but I was a little weary of going inside. I lagged behind allowing them to walk before me as I took several calming breaths. I remember the last time I was here when I had to leave the house because the walls were closing in on me. Shelly caught up with me and linked her hand through mine and we walked up the driveway together.

“You got this B. Memba a you a di real G roun here yu hear dat. I’m here as always.”

I looked at her. She has been my day one, “Mi love you enu!” I blurted.

“Hey hold up and mind you make di boss kill me think me a try take him woman!” She started laughing. “Yu know say him head hot when it come to yu already!”

“You’re such as an ass!” I laughed at her.

“Yea me know. I love you too, B.” She smiled looking at Max and Maurice carrying the babies. “You make the big man happy muuma. Neva see him so happy yet.”

“He’s happy to have his girls.” I said looking at him walking and looking down at Alyssa. He was probably talking to her in Italian and Maurice the same with Alexa.

“He’s happy to have his queen back too.” She said.

“Shell, me nu know how none a this ago play out but I love him so much, wife or not.” We reached the door before Shelly could respond.

“Hi Joanna,” Ms. Munroe greeted me as soon as I walked through the door. She was walking down the stairs. Ms. Maria and some of the men in black were around Maurice and Max with the babies. I stopped walking and looked up at her. I didn’t know how to react to her, all I could think about was the last time I was here. She continued down the steps and walked toward me and Shelly walked away.

“Hello ma’am.” I responded but I couldn’t look at her. I wish I had the babies with me now as a shield.

“Joanna...” her voice trailed off but I still couldn’t look her in the eyes.

“I’d like to hold you. Is it ok?” She said quietly walking up to me.

I nodded not trusting myself to speak. She threw her arms around me and I stood with my arms at my side at first just thinking about that day. But the night i met her and she took a chance on me came my mind. I needed to let go to heal especially for the sake of the girls. I turned and threw my arms around her and a sob escaped my throat. I didn’t want to cry but I couldn’t help it.

“I’m so so sorry babygirl.” She breathed for my ears only.

“You never came to see me. I felt so rejected...”

“No no mio caro. I checked with Maurice about you but I didn’t come personally because I was afraid you would reject me.” She held me away from her and I could see tears shining in her eyes.

“I thought I was doing you good by giving you my townhouse and distancing myself. I know you were hurting and I was partly to be blamed.”

“Everybody saw how I was falling for him and nobody said anything. And everybody knew except me. I felt stupid and used.” Max gave Lyssa to Shelly and walked over when he saw that I was crying.

“Nobody said anything because you were both so happy. I didn’t want to interfere in your happiness knowing what you’ve been through, so I hoped Max would have told you the entire story before Isabella showed up.”

“Baby come here.” he drew me into his arms my head tucked under his chin and I cried.

“It was all me. I should have talked to you more, please don’t be angry with anybody but me.”

“I’m really sorry Joanna. I wish things had gone differently.” She ran her hand up and down my back as she spoke.

“I don’t.” I said looking at her and dashing my tears away or I wouldn’t have had my girls.” I looked toward them and Shelly and Maurice walked over with them.

“Aunty meet your granddaughters Alyssa Elena and Alexa Sofia.” Max presented the babies. He could tell them apart quickly. She gasped when she heard her name and Max’s mom’s name and when she laid eyes on them for the first time her eye filled with tears again.

“They are so beautiful! Mio Dios they look exactly like Max!” She said excitedly. Alyssa was wide awake and scowling up at all the strangers staring at her and Alexa was wiggling probably about to wake up. Ms. Munroe reached down and took up Alyssa.

“This one is Max all the way through! Look at her!”

“I told you!” I turned on him and he smiled. She brought the baby up to her chest cuddling her. The Godfather showed up at that moment.

“Told who what?” He asked joining the group in the foyer.

“Hello sir.” I said.

“Hi papa.” Max hugged his father and kissed both oh his cheeks.

“I expected you yesterday only to receive some shocking news.” He said in his strong Italian accent his eyes finding mine.

“It was quite a shock for us all.” Max said.

“I take full responsibility godfather. I kept my pregnancy a secret.” I stepped in because I didn’t want him putting anger where it didn’t belong especially on Maurice and Shelly.

“Joanna...” I stood stock still and he walked toward me. “Come here.” He pulled me to him roughly and hugged me tightly to him before kissing both my cheeks.

“It’s good to see you mio cara. You look well. Glowing. In spite of my stupido son.” Max blanched and he smiled at me. He looked so much like Max and the girls.

“It’s good to see you too sir.” I said smiling back at him.

“I hope you don’t plan on leaving again. This family needs you.” Did he want me to go back to work now?

“Now where are the little bambinas?” Max took Alexa from her car seat and placed her in his arms.

“Papa, this is Alexa Sofia and Alyssa Elena.” His eyes lit up with joy as he took Alexa and cuddled her.

“Rossi seed eh!” He said emotionally. Then he planted a kiss on Alexa’s forehead and one on Alyssa’s. Alyssa decided in that moment that she was hungry and wanted to be cuddled.

“It’s time for her feeding.” I said politely. But when I was about to take her Ms. Munroe brought her up to her chest cuddled her close.

“May I?” She asked.

“Of course,” I said and Maurice handed her the bottle.

“I’ll feed Lexa,” Shelly said. It was so amazing to see Shelly in the family setting. Always on her best behavior. We all walked off toward the den, The Godfather still holding Alexa who was staring up at him and him at her. Max linked his finger with mine and brought them to his lips. After we settled in the den Alexa was handed to Shelly for her feeding and Ms. Munroe looked content feeding Alyssa who was staring up at her. I looked at the girls and my heart was full knowing they will lack for nothing. They didn’t just have a family but this family was like the entire village and nobody could take advantage of them. Ever.

“So Joanna when will you be ready to start working again?” The question caught me off guard.

“Sir? Work? Well I...”

“Papa Joanna has started a finance program at FIU.” Max cut in.

“That’s fantastico!” He exclaimed. That’s good news you two can work together. I’m restructuring the family and how we work.” He got up and poured himself a brandy from the side table and continued talking. Has he taken back the reigns from Max?

“Thanks to you Joanna we brought down somebody who was double crossing this family for years. I don’t blame Max for allowing Leo the freedoms he gave him because he was one of my dearest and oldest friends. You’ve been a valuable asset to us and Max should have told you that we set a trap for Leo with his daughter. It was a fake marriage to pull that piece of shit out of hiding. He was a sly one but we finally caught him.” It took me a minute to grasp that he was saying that Max was not married. That’s all I caught all the other things he said were irrelevant to me. There was no wife? It was all a plot to catch Leo?

“That fucker was going from country to country in disguise! I treated him like a brother!” His voice rose as his dark eyes grew stormy. Max was still holding my hand while he sat beside me and he drew closer to me as his father spoke.

“Millions of dollars! He took millions of dollars from us! And tried to kill one of our own! My own right hand, the woman who raised Maximilian!” He started pacing before us. The girls had finished feeding and were already sleeping.

“We basically took his daughter hostage under the guise of marriage, and a little torture and he popped his head up like a weasel and got it wacked the fuck off.” Every time he cursed I cringed as I looked at the girls.

“I’m stepping out of retirement to handle the streets again and I expect you and Maximilian to handle the management of the paper. That should give you guys a chance and more room to raise your family and to focus on school.” He stopped pacing and turned to us. I’m changing everything! And I’m shutting down that location. Speaking of location I have a little gift for you in the chamber, Joanna.”

“For me?” I was clueless to what he was saying.

“Papa what did you do? Max asked but The Godfather was wearing a sinister smile.

“You two walk with me to the chamber will you.” He walked out without waiting and Max and I followed him. The guards moved with us as we took a set of winding stairs that seemed never ending. The lower we went the darker it got. It reminded me of the first warehouse. At the end of the stairs we came to a set of code doors and the guards punched the numbers and the doors flew open. There was a single figure tied to a chair in the dimly lit room. His head rose when he heard the footsteps and he started cursing.

“Mi ago lock up uuno raasclaat fi kidnapping! Wah me do uuno?!” I knew that voice anywhere.

“Gregory.” I said my eyes hardening.

“A you a do this whoring gal?! Watch wah me ago do wid yu!” He was throwing insults and threats at me like he did for seven straights years. I looked at him with pity as I shook my head. I saw from the corner of my eyes as The Godfather donned a pair of boxing gloves.

“Do you like boxing, Joanna? It’s a great sport. Sometimes the boxer has to mentally block the noise from the people in the stands and focus on his opponent.” He was talking quite nonchalantly about boxing.

“It’s a skill that one masters over time.” When he said it he delivered a quick jab across Gregory’s face blood flew from the wound that split his face.

“You also have to block out what your opponent is saying because he will try to put you off your game by throwing verbal jabs.” He delivered one uppercut to his chin and a tooth flew from Gregory’s mouth. He groaned in pain and I didn’t bat a lash.

“This motherfucker had several underaged girls in his house when we went for him. Now he’s wondering why I want to play boxing with him. He doesn’t know that if you messed with one of mine, you’ve messed with me.” I gasped thinking about what he did to me and what he must have been doing to those girls. I closed my eyes as I thought of my own girls and anger grew in me. He delivered several more punches and Gregory and the chair toppled to the floor.

“Having said that, babygirl. Your past does not define you. You are beautiful, brave and strong. Learn to tune out negative thoughts and things people say and you’ll be victorious.” He removed the gloves and handed them to one the men in black and turned toward the door and we followed. His eyes were hard as he spoke, but the message hit home and I received it.

“Are you ok la regina?” Max whispered as we walked back. I squeezed his hand and nodded. I wanted to see my girls and to be alone with him. What a day.

To my surprise, a nursery was prepared for the girls in Max’s room. I have never been in his room, it was way bigger than mine. I’m not sure how hey managed to arrange an entire nursery fully equipped for two babies in such a short time, but everything was ready. I didn’t like that I was not in the same room with the girls but Ms. Maria said she would sleep with them and I would have a baby monitor complete with webcam and audio for the room.

Max was with his father and he left me to get ready for bed. By the time I tended to the girls and prepared for bed he wasn’t back. I lay on the bed watching the girls on the monitor while I waited for him. So many things made sense now. The burden of what Max had to do was heavy for him and when he made his mistakes he wanted to handle them like a man. I fell asleep on the edge of the bed holding the baby monitor. I could feel his kisses through my sleep fog. I opened my eyes and wrapped my arms around his neck pulling him down on me. I missed this, I missed being awakened by his sweet kisses.

“You have no idea how long I’ve been waiting to do this.” He whispered in my ear. I moaned into his mouth, running my hands over his bare back and chest. He lips moved to my neck and down to my breasts nuzzling the nubs. My hands flew to his hair my fingers coursing through the thick waves. Something shiny caught my eyes and when I lifted my left hand there was a single diamond engagement ring on my finger.

“Max?”

“Hmm?” His lips continued on their journey down my body.

“Is there something I’m missing?” I asked him still staring at my hand.

“Yes, and I’m about to give it to you. Patience, la regina.” His lips made their way back up to mine and he noticed that I was looking at my hand.

”Oh you found my surprise.” He smiled and kissed my lips, then he looked down at me, his love evident in his eyes. “You are and will forever be my queen, Joanna. I love you and I want to grow old with you. You were stuck with me before and now with those two girls you are doubly stuck.” I held his head and brought his lips back to mine and just as the kiss was deepening Alyssa’s piercing cry echoed through the monitor, and Alexa joined in. We both smiled and shared one last kiss before we both went to tend to our girls.