You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌴 Her' Heri || Tropical Dish from Suriname || Dash Out Sunday Week #6 🍴

in ReggaeJAHM4 years ago

This plantain /banana thing is confusing me now 😂 do you guys call plantains bananas there? Cause that is looking like a plantain.

Earthly foods with salt fish , in Jamaica it’s a popular breakfast, the region has more in common than I thought. I could go for some tough yellow and yam with green bananas and salt fish with the veggies right now. The egg in the side I’ve never seen though.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

😂 The thing is in Dutch we call bananas 'bacoven' and plantains 'bananen', so that's why I mix up the translations sometimes. It's like how I would about 'voetbal'/football to an American and he wouldn't get it at all. Changing it to plantains.

yeah, I'm guessing the dish is very common in and around the region with the influences of African migrants and all the plantations in the past, with different variations of it of course.