New Year’s Food 🍱 in Japan🇯🇵

in ReggaeJAHMlast year (edited)

DEF0A636-9BC4-4A7F-9EFE-D388FFB7C75D.jpeg
EA5C2839-AFC0-4528-B7A9-B9F2126D99B6.jpeg
Japanese New Year Food-Osechi Ryori
(Seafood, vegetables, meat, eggs, legumes)

Hi fellow hivers and @Reggaejahmmers.
I’m a Jamaican living in Japan. Around this time of year or a bit earlier, I’m often asked, “What do Jamaicans 🇯🇲 usually eat in celebration of the New Year?”

My response usually is … the same kinds of food we eat at Christmas time or at the latter part of the year”.
For many Jamaicans, this would be ham, chicken, turkey, curry goat, fish, beef, mannish water, salads fruit cake and so on (though meals may vary based on cultural and religious backgrounds).

If you’re reading this post, I’d like to ask the same question:

What foods do you usually eat in celebration of the new year? (Please share in the comment box below 😃)

Living in Japan 🇯🇵 , I understand the reason the above question would be topical. The New Year in Japan is a big deal. Christmas on the other hand, if it doesn’t fall on a weekend, is just a regular work day, though dinner might be a bit special. Many people in Japan are off work from the 29th of December until the 3rd of January. The first days of the new year are often spent with family and a new year’s meal called “osechi ryori” is often eaten.

People travel back to their hometowns and many businesses and shops are closed. For single foreigners, spending the new year in Japan, can be a lonely experience if there’s no definite plan. Streets that are usually buzzing with activities can seem like “ghost town” over the first few days of the new year. This was even more so a few years ago but in recent times, a few places have been opening for business though for irregular and or shorter hours.

If you’ve experienced the new year in Japan or have made or eaten osechi ryori, please share a memorable moment about it in the comment box below.

F9A71E65-D21F-4C0B-966C-7A7EB2720709.jpeg
After my first experience of having osechi ryori, I was dressed in a Japanese kimono . It was also my first time wearing one.

About sixteen years ago, I had my first “osechi ryori” experience. It was also my first time to wear a Japanese kimono. I was invited to my supervisor’s home for new year’s dinner. While we ate , they (my supervisor’s family members) explained the significance of each food item. It was quite cultural. I remember eating shrimps and I think they told me it was a symbol of long life. I also had black beans. Those were sweet and I was told they were eaten in hope of good health. Though several of the food items were familiar, having them in a cultural setting created an entirely different experience. As the guest, I was asked about Jamaican foods and their significance. I chuckled to myself as I couldn’t necessarily identify the reasons we eat the foods we do at Christmas time or in the New Year.
I however tried my best not to say, “We just eat”.😂
I’d probably have to do some research on the significance of certain foods.

8942D20E-95E5-424C-B43D-2D9F4C255F31.jpeg
3D601EB4-4840-4786-82AF-7E36F2A448AD.jpeg

So, what exactly is osechi ryori?
I’d simply call it “New Year’s food” in Japan. It’s is however a spread or an array of vegetables, beans, seafood, meat and eggs and so on. It’s really colorful and it’s a wonderful display of Japanese food artistry. Passing by the shops or department stores, one can’t help but stop to admire the replicas of food and the creativity shown. It requires skills to neatly pack such variety of food items in boxes. They are usually beautifully arranged and usually last over the first three days of the year. Each food item has significance in hope of a great year. You can click the link below to read more about it and the various food items:

https://www.tokyoweekender.com/2020/12/meaning-osechi-ryori-japan-traditional-new-year-food/

E3CAD142-1B34-4D6A-B410-990F8292F8E7.jpeg
Replica of osechi. The “food items” look real. Customers get a clear visual of the foods they will order.

Some families prepare their own osechi. It can be a time-consuming process and so, other families opt to order osechi boxes from food companies. Orders can be placed at department stores maybe from as early as October (maybe even earlier). Some convenience stores also offer such services (osechi ryori).

I have thought about making it and I have also thought about buying a package for my family. I am yet to do either. Maybe next year …

The photos in this post are some of those that were displayed at a department store. They are actually replicas of osechi. The replicas are basically identical to the actual items to be delivered. Customers can get a clear visual of what they’ll receive. Osechi boxes are prepared and packed for various number of individuals. Customers may order packages for four people, fewer or more. They can be quite costly so I understand the reason some would choose to make it instead of placing an order. I also understand the reason others may prefer to spend more time enjoying family and less time cooking in the kitchen.

What food items were you able to identify?

Thank you for reading my post. Have a great weekend. 😃🎶

Irie🇯🇲🇯🇵

Sort:  

Congratulations @fruityfruitz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 3000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2023
HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive Austrian Community in Graz
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
 last year  

😃Thank you.

You're welcome @fruityfruitz, it's well deserved! Congrats on your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍🌹

 last year  

untitled.gif

 last year (edited) 

What foods do you usually eat in celebration of the new year?

With us it varies, because of the different ethnicities and cultures living in Suriname. If family's/companies really want to go the "Western" route, they'll have roulade and/or turkey, with potato dishes and salads on the side.

But family's often go for BBQ or bami goreng or curry duck, etc. It depends on family. And in the Netherlands they often eat "oliebol", which is a deep-fried (raisin) bun. Very useful for those cold hands to eat those buns hot 😅, but me being from Suriname I would like to eat those whole year round 🤣.

The osechi ryori looks so beautiful... I see that it has varied options and what an interesting story around the food items.

 last year  

😃Thanks for sharing. Quite interesting. So it varies because of the different ethnicities and cultures.

I must add too that that though what I described is experienced or observed by many Jamaicans, there are also variations based on different cultural backgrounds and ethnicities.

But family's often go for BBQ or bami goreng or curry duck, etc. It depends on family

So it depends on the family.

It’s my first time hearing about oliebol.

Very useful for those cold hands to eat those buns hot 😅, but me being from Surinamese I would like to eat those whole year round 🤣.

😂Sounds like I could use/have some too. Warmth works really well now and it must be delicious.

The osechi ryori looks so beautiful... I see that it has varied options and what an interesting story around the food items.

Really beautiful and you’re right, they’re varied options. I guess I’d depends on family preferences.

Were the beans the fermented ones called Natou? They keep getting mentioned in my Japanese studies so I am guessing they are significant in some way shape or form

 last year (edited) 

😃All the best for your studies.
Maybe natto wasn’t included but I can understand that it would pop up in your studies. It has a significant/characteristic smell and slimy texture. It’s often had for breakfast and with rice. Though very healthy, it can take a while for one to get used to the smell. You should give it a try the next time you’re in Japan.
😆I just recently started eating it. It took some time. Lol!

 last year  

The beets bento them expensive. I don’t think I’ve had one.

Though several of the food items were familiar, having them in a cultural setting created an entirely different experience.

Yo sounds like you got te full experience the first time around. The kimono look good in yah girl.sometimes I wonder why people don’t dress like that more often here but yeah the cost and environment.

New Year’s Day I had sushi and chicken but man I was sushied out 😂

 last year  

They are expensive. I’d love to see them being done/made.

Yo sounds like you got te full experience the first time around. The kimono look good in yah girl.sometimes I wonder why people don’t dress like that more often here but yeah the cost and environment.

😃Thanks man. For real, it was a lovely experience. After writing this post, I was looking back and realizing that I haven’t really had an experience like that since that time.
I haven’t really spent the new year in such a cultural setting since then. Maybe in bits and pieces but that first experience was “it”. When I was young … lol! 😂
You know when I first got here, I was surprised to see people in jeans. Lol!!! I was expecting more kimonos.
The kimonos are beautiful though it does take time to get them on. If I remember well, it probably took 40 minutes. Love to see people dressed up for special cultural events. 😃

😀👏👏
🥦 !PGM !PIZZA !MEME 🥦

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS tokens to @mizuosemla

remaining commands 9

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@mizuosemla(1/10) tipped @fruityfruitz (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

 last year  

😃