You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Step To Acknowledgement Of Slavery In Dutch History? ⛓️ National Monument Slavery Past

in ReggaeJAHMlast year

I heard many stories about Suriname from my grandfathers even at schools we learned that suriname people are comprised of Indonesian slaves who were freed by the dutch. And only in 2020 the king issued a formal apology to Indonesian and Indonesian government of what they did in the past. I am not sure if they even did that to their other colonies but they did to Indonesia. I am mostly curious of what dutch people learn about indonesian or their former colony but I also watched a former dutch veteran who was angry about the king issuing apology because they were clueless soldier sent to war. History aside, I think those sculpture are evocative and has quite deep meaning.

Sort:  
 last year  

I am not sure if they even did that to their other colonies but they did to Indonesia.

That's nice that the Indonesian people got to receive those formal apologies, because I know only little about the history and those stories are horrible, to say the least.

Suriname - don't know about other former colonies - hasn't received a formal apology (yet), but the PM did say to issue one in 2023, so we'll just have to wait and see.

Oh and I have distant family living in Indonesia, but never met them. My grandfather's father took a few (or one, don't know the full story) of his children back with him to Indonesia and he was going to bring my grandfather also, but the last ship that my grandfather was supposed to be on, didn't leave for some reason.

Oh and I don't think they know much about Indonesia, but I'll have to speak to more, before I can form my own opinion though. I have been told that they don't know much about Suriname though, because they don't teach much about it in history.

!ENGAGE