You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Know You're from Suriname If.......? 🌴 Laughing with Stereotypes

in ReggaeJAHM • 4 years ago

Lol, gotta love those evangelical leaders with their over the top drama and multiple private jets. 😂
Exciting family you got there. The trailer parks addicts, war loving red necks and burger eating idiots are well known stereotypes I think. The Americans I meet however are always nice and educated, but it's usually in other countries. I have yet to go to the USA and I'm kind of scared.

This is what I imagine seeing the most.
image.png

We haven't been too impressed with the food here.

Because you've never been to my home. 🙃
Good vegetarian options are hard to find though, if you are eating out. I have two colleagues who are vegetarian, and they have like 2 places where they can get good food during lunch hours. So they usually bring food from home.

Agreed on the fruits and vegetables. There are some stores that have more unique ingredients, but they are expensive, because of that scarcity. That's why I plant my own. Simple things like basil, oregano and thyme are hard to find in fresh form and yet I can grow them so easily.

Sort:  

Yeah, all that is too true. I don't think we could ever reopen our restaurant here because we would have to spend too much time farming the ingredients we need. We decided it would be more profitable to be farmers here than restaurateurs. The fruit and veg prices are so high here, but yet we see so much go to waste and rot at the market. I will never understand that.

Hey replace, that monster-sized gun with an assault rifle, and you have what would be a standard American Wal-Mart customer where I live.

 4 years ago  

A wallmart safari tour is definitely on my todo list for the US. :)

The food going to waste is part of the same business mentality problem. The concept of selling 2 of 20 watermelons for 50 each making 100 while throwing 18 away versus selling all 20 for 25 and making 500 is a hard one to understand for some. They would rather let it rot. There are some farmers who donate what they don't sell to childrens homes, but those are a handful.