Tour de Slovenia - Vršič Mountain Pass - 16 photos

in TravelFeed4 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Hi there my friends,

How are you doing?

More than a week has passed from my last Tour de Slovenia part, so I think it is time for new one.

How do you like my home country? Some of you knew the country before and even visited it, the others don’t know that we exist. It is a small country, so who could blame you. My nation is mixed with Slovakia many times due to the similar name probably. And many people still want to put us somewhere at Russia or ex-Russia countries. The others know well that we were part of Yugoslavia, but thinks that there is still war. I had many experience with what do people think and know about Slovenia as I was working at reception desk at the hotel for several years. You get some funny answers really. I am also always asking when I am traveling around the world if somebody know Slovenia and almost every time there is actually someone who knows at least something about our country. In most cases Slovenian athletes are responsible for our recognition as we do have many World class athletes.

That was only a short intro and feel free to write a comment about you knowledge of Slovenia.

In today’s part I will show you Mountain pass Vršič. It will be only short presentation as you have many hiking trails there, but I didn’t go to any. I also didn’t cycle to the top, which is otherwise one of the most popular climbs in my country, but I went by car quickly with my family again. I wanted to see Russian Chapel, which is very known and also Russian president Vladimir Putin visited it few years back.

This chapel is dedicated to Russian war prisoners who died at avalanche while building road across Vršič, back in 1917. It is an Orthodox parish.

The real highlight of Vršič Mountain Pass in my opinion is the view on Trenta valley. This is the valley on the opposite side from Kranjska Gora. It is the valley where river Soča also springs and that is another reason why I like Trenta valley that much. But for today we will stay at Vršič, as Trenta and Posočje is following in photo story soon. The same day I went there as well.

And here are my photos from Vršič:

Thank you for stopping by. Hope you know my homeland slightly better after my Tour de Slovenia series. New part will follow soon, so stay tuned not to miss it :)

Thanks for all the support and kind regards to you all!

!pinmapple 46.432889 lat 13.748809 long d3scr


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello my dear friend,
great trip and photos. A sharing full of photos that make you want to be there. congratulations. and thank you

Thanks for stopping by!
I am glad you like my photos.
Problem is that when I created this post I wanted to be back there as well :)

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #880.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

That is great, tnx!

You're welcome @crazy-andy! It was well deserved! Keep up the good work 👍
cheers, liz

Wow! Very beautiful! :)

Thank you, glad you like it!

Congratulations @crazy-andy! You received a sweet smile from TravelFeed. We love your work so keep up the good job. 😊

Feedback

We have 2 tips for you on how you can improve your post to receive more smiles for your future posts. To view the feedback, head to your TravelFeed Dashboard. Next to your post you will find a smiley, a click on it reveals the detailed feedback.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play

Your country is really beautiful!

That is nice to hear. I am sure if you would visit it, you would say really really beautiful :)

What a great highlight of Solvenia. It is beautiful! Mountains and trees are my favorite!!!

Thanks for stopping by Sara!
Probably is a typo in the name you wrote, correct is Slovenia.
Nature here is really world class.
More from my homeland is following soon, so stay tuned :)

Wow! I really like your Country. I would like to visit it this summer so your guides are very useful :)

That is nice to hear!
We like tourists very much.
Nature has a lot to do at tourism, but people are also important.
I am sure you won't be disappointed after your visit.
More posts are coming from my homeland :)

That's amazing! I'll star following you then :) thanks for sharing good contents! Greetings

Very beautiful country my friend. And I marked it on the map far away from Russia 😁
Opening photograph, the chapel located in green mountains and the rocky mountains in far, everything is fantastic 👌

I am glad, I can spread good commercial for Slovenia. That is my intention on the first place.
If you will be in this part of Europe, you have to stop by...
Thanks for your support and all the best!

Surely will have it in my list 😊

Very beautiful place, looks very cool 😎.

I'm pretty sure I have told you that I have been to Slovenia. Ljubljana is such an incredible city, the architecture is amazing! St. Nicholas' Cathedral, I cannot remember Gothic? Catholic? Probably Catholic, but the inside was wow! To this day, there was so much beauty in the city to be wowed by.

In saying this, the mountains and the countryside were also stunning. Admittedly, I might want to run back there to live. It has so much! I actually went there the first time when it was Yugoslavia.

I have to admit that the renovations that have been done over the years have transformed it into a #1 place to visit. Awesome post! Thanks for the tour!

Upped and Reposted

!tip

It's also cheaper than US and CA.
Slovenia is among top countries to live after retiring.

How is their medical care? Im interested.

Not too bad.
I think it's a couple of houndred of dollars.

First thank you very much for stopping by.

Secondly, wow, I am thrilled to read you like Slovenia that much to want come here and live here.
It is great country. Our capital is still a small city, very clean, safe, not too loud, but you probably saw all of this when you were here.
Countryside on the other hand is a true hidden gem. If some big country would have such an amazing nature they would do boom out of it and it would be very touristic destination, but I have to admit that something in the middle suits me. Not too much tourists, but still enought that tourism is an important part of our economy.

Lower you were asking about healthcare and for us locals is free (actually we are paying something automatically from the salary), for foreigners I am not sure but it has to be couple of houndred of dollars. It is relativly high quality care, from time to time there is still ex-Yugoslavia system, but overall good care. Also with Covid-19 we were one of the most successful countries not only in Europe, but worldwide, even though Italy is our neighbour country.

🎁 Hi @crazy-andy! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Hugging A Tree On Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Waiting for the next post.

Well I have my trip to Tamar valley on stock and than new travels will be happening through summer.
I just need to find time for everything :)