With MIDDLE EAST WOMEN

in TravelFeed4 years ago

A few years ago on my second trip in Jordan, I was lost while searching for a cheap hotel that was my destination in the city of Amman. The snow began to fall heavily and the air was very cold. To be sure, I need help. My heavy backpack and hungry stomach make cold so agonizing. I want to immediately get shelter and eat warm food. The road is very quiet because people certainly prefer to take shelter at home.

After walking for a while, I met two women on the street. Of course I asked them about my purpose. I really hope the two women will give their time to help me give directions. But, it's only in my mind. Both of them looked at me with angry faces and just left. Of course I'm a little confused because Jordan is one of the "liberal" Arab countries. I would not do this if I was in Kuwait, Saudi, Qatar and others. Jordan along with Iraq and Syria used to be the most liberal countries in the Middle East before the conflict.

When I arrived at the hotel that I was reaching with the help of a "friend," I met Johu, a young man from Finland who lived and worked in Dubai. That night we became close. After recounting my incident with two women I met on the street, Johu invited me to hang out at a discotheque in the area of ​​rich people in Amman not far from the hotel. Of course I meet a lot of women who are dressed in open there like the "slang kids" in Asia.

"You can talk to a woman in here, not on the street," Johu advised me with a smile. "You should not talk to any random female on the street or you will be in trouble."

"I know. I have been traveling in several countries in the Middle East. I think Jordan is one of the most liberal, "I said.

"But, you shouldn't do it on the street," Johu said again.

"I know that, but I need a help," I replied.

A few weeks after the events in Amman, Jordan, I continued my journey to Sinai and then Cairo, Egypt. This time I met an Egyptian Coptic woman who was guarding her family's pastry shop not far from my stay around Midan Tahrir, Cairo. I know he is a Coptic Christian because there are cross marks on the walls of houses like the homes of Copts in general. When I found out that this woman was a Coptic, I was very happy because besides wanting to get acquainted, I also wanted to know what life was like for Copts in Egypt. I assume Copts are definitely more liberal. But, my guess was wrong. This woman did not answer my greeting and instead got angry in Arabic that I did not understand. Once again I was wrong about women in the Middle East. It seems, conservative treatment of women is not limited to religion, but maybe more culture. Because of this incident in Cairo, I didn't dare say hello to the Coptic guardian of the pharmacy in Aswan who was very beautiful because besides being afraid of being scolded, her father was next to her ... :-p.

Girl.jpg

A meeting with Yemeni men at the Salahuddin Al Ayubi Mosque in Cairo's Old City when I was traveling there with a friend confirmed the situation that I should not be haphazardly dealing with Middle Eastern women. This man hugged me and my friend like a friend who had not met for a long time because he knew we were from Asia. He didn't care that I was non-Muslim and still thought of me as a brother. With great enthusiasm, he invited me and my friend to come to his home in Sanaa, Yemen. However, even though he is very friendly with us, he never once introduced his wife to us like the culture in Indonesia or other countries. His wife only waited about 10 meters from us and did not move from his position while we were chatting.

I also heard from my Malaysian friend when he spent the night with his non-Muslim girlfriend of Chinese descent at the home of a village elder in a village in Syria. The village elder did not mind my friend sleeping in a house with his girlfriend even though they were not married. But the elder warned my friend not to disturb his daughters and their families.

Girls.jpg

Some of these incidents clearly made me very careful about dealing with women in Middle Eastern countries that I passed because I certainly did not want to interfere with local customs. It can be a problem for you. Community groups in the Middle East, although as modern and open as Turkey, still carry out killings in the name of honor. I don't want misunderstanding to create unnecessary ridiculousness.

Frankly, because of my caution, I became hesitant to just say hello until one day I arrived in Luxor, Egypt. At that time I had lunch at a local fast food restaurant. Enter a young woman and several friends. I have to admit this woman is so pretty that I can't look at her. I did get a few glances, but finally he caught my glance too. I feel very bad for fear that this woman will get angry. Uh, apparently I was wrong again. He instead smiled sweetly at me. Honestly, I was acting awkwardly half dead. We smiled and stared at each other for a moment. When I came out of this restaurant, I greeted him to just get acquainted and chat for a while, nothing more. Understand it,

Yup, that's my adventure in several Middle Eastern countries with local women there. Mostly dicemberutin although finally getting a very sweet smile in the end. Hopefully other friends get a more fortunate experience ... :-).