A visit to the world's tallest statue of Hindu God "Shiva."

in TravelFeed4 years ago

DSC00603.JPG
It was back in 2012, and I was studying high school in Kathmandu, the capital city of Nepal. I was just done with my internal test in college. I was planning to go somewhere where I can feel refreshed. I thought of going out, but I do not know where to go. I asked with my brother regarding the worth seeing places near us.

My brother suggested me to go and see the world's tallest statue of Hindu God "Shiva" lies in Sanga, Bhaktapur District, which is 12.4 miles east of capital city Kathmandu. I called my best friend to go with me. We decided to meet at a nearby bus stop. After half an hour, we meet and headed towards our destination. After an hour of a bus ride, we reached there. I had never seen that tall statue of Lord Shiva. The total height of the statue was 144 feet, including the 36 feet height of it's foundation. The actual height of the statue was 108 feet, which is made after the holy number '108' in Hindu mythology. This statue was built in the initiation of Mr. Kamal Jain, who is the proprietor of Hilltake water tank, leading water tank industry of Nepal. The construction of the statue took six years, with 100 workers from Nepal and India. The statue is coated with zinc to protect the statue from rain, wind, and sun. Additionally, it is coated with copper on top of the zinc coating. There is a park near the statue where children can play the game.

The statue of Lord Shiva is a must-visit place for tourists planning to visit Nepal. If you are planning a day off from your busy schedule or want to be away from the noisy and crowded city and refresh yourself, this is the right place to visit.

DSC0060.JPG

Sort:  

Never had a chance to go there, I will definitely visit this place when I go to Nepal.

Visited couple of times, jay sambhoo