Lao Homebrew by the Cemetery

in TravelFeed4 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


get some

My buddy who lives next to the Vietnamese cemetery in Luang Prabang invited me over to meet his new puppy and to drink some local home-brew rice whiskey.

for sale

He has the great delusion that he's going to sell this beast for around $400 on FakeBook. I tried to tell him that most foreigners here pick these up for two hundred bucks then sales it off to the next guy for the same. What would it take to get this street legal in your country?

Namkhan

I saw my Russian friend throwing rocks at a plastic bucket with some local boys. They all had the relentless obsession to sink the bucket. I personally didn't think it was a good idea to throw rocks by each other's heads, but they were having so much fun and he said, "They're fine!"

Xay

My buddy is from the hill tribes. They aren't Buddhist. They have their own religion and language. They also make their own whiskey from rice.

bagofhol

Have you ever bought alcohol in a bag? This was my first time.

pure death

If you can drink this strong ass whiskey, then you can drink anything after that. It tastes horrible.

Abandon all hope

Many Vietnamese are Christian, so they need a cemetery, unlike Buddhists who burn the dead. Do you prefer to be buried or cremated after death? I never went to war or saw combat, so I don't feel I deserve a military funeral, but anyone with an honorable discharge can get one from the Veteran's Affairs. I honestly don't care or think about it, but I do want these songs played at my funeral: Joy to the World by Three Dog Night, Handyman by James Taylor, and Shook Me All Night Long by AC/DC. What's your death playlist?

Please watch this your Grace.

Is it sacrilegious to ask a goddess to watch your BMX? I want to have long hair like her.

stop

Even though I'm a Buddhist, I have no idea what the hand means. I don't think it means talk to the hand. My guess is that it's something about palm reading, stopping, and enjoying the current moment, but I haven't found Zen yet, so what do you think the hand means?

under the tree

I love how they look so wise and happy under that huge old tree.

goodbye

Thanks for visiting this cemetery with us today. Take one of these ghosts home with you. They're very lonely.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations @jeremiahcustis! You received a bright smile from TravelFeed. Our eyes were beaming while reading your post. 😁

Feedback

We have 2 tips for you on how you can improve your post to receive more smiles for your future posts. To view the feedback, head to your TravelFeed Dashboard. Next to your post you will find a smiley, a click on it reveals the detailed feedback.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach out more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #886.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!