You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel stories: Encountering firms that make fake flight itineraries for visa purposes

in TravelFeed2 months ago

I've heard of companies that will do similar things; they'll actually book a flight for you so you on paper have a return flight in the event you're asked for once when you arrive in a country. You only really pay a few dollars compared to the actual booking price. I think they just refund them and keep the little fee you get charged. The whole thing seemed insane to me, but the more I read into it, it seems people actually use them.

Sort:  

oh for sure. People do it with hotels as well. One of the most common ones is to make a booking on booking.com and then never turn up or simply cancel the booking after you confirm it - they have an option to pay at the location so no money changes hands. You don't pay for the room in advance.

I've always thought it was a bit authoritarian for immigration to demand to know EXACTLY where you are staying for your entire trip before they will let you in. When I first started backpacking I would turn up in a city and not yet know where I was going to stay and that was part of the fun. In most places, you can't really do that anymore.