Inside Vigan's Baluarte | Ilocos Sur, Philippines

in TravelFeed2 years ago



cl8czxhc3010e24kc4hn42eza_GOPR3711.webp
cl8czxo6r010r0vkc6364a7pk_GOPR3709.webp
cl8czxv23010a0okc0thv1nh9_IMG20180304110604.webp
cl8czxzys011r1ckcdyri5j14_IMG20180304111126.webp
cl8czy4zm010t14kc77b3gpnx_IMG20180304111715.webp
cl8czy9d6010y2gkc35xw4ooz_GOPR3702.webp
cl8czye5v010w0hkc4w2ga5ax_GOPR3704.webp
cl8czyiul010t0vkc6urpdiwm_GOPR3706.webp

It was only about four (4) years ago when I finally said to myself "I'm never going inside zoos again ever!" But prior to this, I'd be lying if I deny the fact that I enjoyed and felt a thrill crawling my spine when my friends and I walked and toured around this zoological park in Vigan City, Ilocos Sur. It's famous not just because of what you can see inside but because the owner of this is a renowned national politician back in the day and even recently in his town/province.

I could remember why I felt exultant whenever I'm inside zoos. From grade school until highschool, school field trips would always include zoos in the itinerary. In Cebu, there's a famous one called Crocolandia. On every field trip, well at least in my school, we would always drop by Crocolandia so kids could see crocodiles, birds, and ostriches. Growing up, I thought it was just normal that some animals are enclosed in huge metal cages and in high concrete walls; how could kids figure out that there's more to what they see, more to the entertainment they experience firsthand? I'm glad I've figured that out now.

Let's get back on track! This famous zoo I'm talking about is Baluarte Mini Resort and Zoo or simply Baluarte. Baluarte when translated in English means bulwark, a defensive wall, or rampart. Before the Cebu Safari was opened, if you're from Cebu and if you want to see lions, tigers, zebras, and the like, the nearest zoo I could think of is none other than Baluarte. Honestly, that's not near! It's 1.5 hr plane ride plus about a 4-5 hour bus ride. Well, the point is Baluarte's popular. That's why when we had our backpacking in Ilocos Region, we made sure we won't miss this place. Lo and behold, we saw what we were dying to see in person, tamed lions, tigers, zebras, and a lot more.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

I have never visited a zoo- it'd be a lie if i say so, but i was there when i was a kid; about 20 years ago roughly. Back then, i had no idea of a zoo but a place where i can see many animals and birds. So, from that sense, i can say visiting a zoo is still will be a new experience to me. But a i grew up, it hurts me to think animals in a cage away from their natural habitat.

Although i have forgotten all the crucial details, i can remember lions sitting idle in front of a chunk of dirt covered meat and birds resting on tree branches without a single attempt to move freely. Quite a sad situation to observe. And i am glad my mind doesn't support going there at this age as i think seeing those animals suffer will have lasting impression on me, from mental state.

However, is that a horse painted like zebra? Lol... The way it is tied with the rope gives me an impression that it's definitely a horse 😂
Poor soul.

Thanks for showing compassion to the poor animals captivated there, they need to be free, they must roam around where they belong.

Peace.

Quite a sad situation to observe. And i am glad my mind doesn't support going there at this age as i think seeing those animals suffer will have lasting impression on me, from mental state.

Hi @r-nyn! Same thought here. I vowed not to patronize zoos and the like about 4 years ago. It took me a while to realize but better late than never! That's the main reason why I started freediving, I wanted to see fishes/sea creatures in their natural habitat and one of the ways to do so is to swim with them.

is that a horse painted like zebra?

Oh no! Is it? This is my first time seeing a zebra (as what they're trying to portray). Couldn't distinguish one from the other. huhu

Parang real elephant sis.

Nindota Ani miss ui.Nindot jud ang ILOCOS. Wala pako kitag zebra in person og giraffe😂. Hope Maka visit kog zoo Para kit an naku akong kaliwat nga monkey. 🙊

@sabukidblog If ganahan gyud ka, naa ra sa Cebu Safari hehe duol na lang kaayo!

Oh! Another place worth visiting in Ilocos.😊 My last visit to a zoo was in Zambales, when my uncle invited us for a vacation.
What I really like in zoos are the birds and reptiles because it's very rare for you to see them out there.

I never been in Zoo!🤣, not that I don't want too but I never got a chance. The nearest Zoo in my place before was next City means too far from me.

When I moved in the city, nobody wanted to go with but now, I was thinking. Perhaps I should pay a visit too

This zoo is also too far away from home but we visited when we were near the area.

2019 ago I visited the zoo in my city, but the zoo was very neglected, garbage was scattered everywhere, it was very different from the one in your photo, really made me want to go there too👍

That's sad to hear @rico.csirait! 😟 Zoos are already a stress-inducing for animals to be inside; if it's not well-maintained that'll only add stress to the animals.