JOG, ID: Culture, Heritage, and Adventure

in TravelFeed4 years ago (edited)

Untitled design 8.png


YOGYAKARTA, INDONESIA
Culture, heritage, and adventure

I've been dreaming to visit and see the Borobudur Temple in person ever since I've heard of it in my Anthropology class way back in college. So yeah, I made this dream come true.

As I mentioned in my other post, Indonesia is a very large country with lots of things to do. It’s my second top favorite country in Southeast Asia, next to Laos. (Philippines is not counted).

I’ve been to Bali and Jakarta. We’ve explored Bintan, Yogyakarta, and Lombok. And there’s more we haven’t seen.

The thing I love most about Indonesia is that it is full of culture, heritage, and adventure! I agree with a blog that I read - it is the world’s largest archipelago which has hidden gems many tourists overlook.


Here's what we did:
We took a direct flight from Singapore to Yogyakarta.


Upon arrival, we went straight to our cutesy-cosy homestay named TigaLima.
Since we arrived at the early part of the day, we decided to stroll around the nearby famous market in Jalan Malioboro.

We found local shops slowly opened up as the sunset. We had our authentic Indonesian food for dinner before we went back to the hotel to rest for the night.

The next day, we woke up early and we were scheduled to see the sunrise by Punthuk Setumbu.

IMG_1474.JPG

When the sun was up, we went to the Borobudur Temple Compounds.

image.png
Philippe Bourseiller / Getty Images | Lonely Planet

It is a UNESCO World Heritage site and the world's largest Buddhist temple. The temple consists of nine stacked platforms, six square and three circular, topped by a central dome.

Wikipedia

The temple is built in three tiers, each individually representing a sphere of the cosmic path to nirvana, while collectively representing the physical journey to achieve it.

study.com

Nirvana means the ultimate goal of Buddhism - their heaven or paradise.

Our next stop for the day was Prambanan Temple. Compared to Borobudur, Prambanan is a Hinduism Temple, which is also the biggest. It was built to honor a god named Shiva.

IMG_7941.JPG

Here's my favorite shot which I used once for my profile photo on Facebook:
FullSizeRender 6.jpg
Taking time to what makes my soul happy ✈️🌍

It was a long tiring day combined with the scorching hot weather.
To end our day, we went back to Malioboro Street for dinner.

For the next day, we quickly visited Kraton Palace which is the seat of the reigning Sultan of Yogyakarta and his family, before we went to Taman Sari Water Castle, a historical place where princesses used to bathe.
Doors there were tiny; not sure why -
maybe princesses back then were small ✌️

After which, we went to Goa Pindul for our water tubing experience.

It's called tubing because an individual is riding a tube.

In the middle of the river, there were two platforms of about 6ft and 10ft high where you can jump off.
This was the 6ft one; we didn't have a photo on the higher platform. We did jump off both platforms - yes, it was scary but it was fun and worth it!

To cap the day off, we went to Alun-Alun Kidul which is a busy spot for fun activities. It is located behind the royal palace and is dubbed as The Flickering Palace's Backyard At Night because of the bicycles for rent that were turned to fun floats with lights.

I've always dreamt about having a Volkswagen Combi van, so imagine my joy when I finally managed to drive one!

Cool ride, right?

I hope you are still with me as the next part was the highlight of our trip!

The next day, we were scheduled for an amazing caving adventure!
We went to Goa Jomblang, a collapsed sinkhole, where we were brought down to the entrance of the tunnel by a harness.
FullSizeRender 10.jpg

Its height is about 4m high, while the tunnel is 250m long.


The tunnel was slippery because of the cave water drips.

The journey in was worthy of this amazing sight at the end of the tunnel.

IMG_1776.jpg
I will forever be a child in awe of You. #AmazingGod

“Be fearless in the pursuit of what sets your soul on fire.”
- Jennifer Lee

I can't get over this experience and I am grateful for what we have come across. This is one of the reasons why Indonesia will always have a special place in my heart.

After this huge cave escapade, we went back to Taman Sari to explore the underground mosque.

20160709_173657.jpg

What we did here was a whole different level of exploration. I hope many of you will be inspired and be motivated to visit Yogyakarta, or Jogja as the locals call it, too!

Terimah kasi 😄

See you soon on our next travel destination 👋😎



Jo Alix

A Filipino currently living and working as a corporate warrior in Singapore, aiming to share experiences with the people who have the same interests. The goal is to be traveling one country at a time while keeping sustainability in mind, so hoping to inspire other travel junkies too!

Don't forget to vote, comment and follow!

📷 Follow me on Instagram

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @paulajogalix! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Ms @monkeypattycake, another reason for you to visit Indonesia 😉

Thanks sa tag! Waa! Naglock panga ko sa Borobudur Temple. Ang ganda sis. Sobrang idadagdag ko talaga ito sa wishlist ko mapuntahan Indonesia.

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #896.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

OH. MY. Thank you so much, @itchyfeetDonica! I finally made it to your Top 3! Thank you for reading, curating, and sharing! This made my day 😄🎉

Don't forget me Mr Pinmapple 😜 🍍

If you are looking for greater support from @pinmapple, please consider posting from our community https://peakd.com/c/hive-163772/created. This post gives the details of all the ways we support travel content creators, you will find it useful, hope to see you in our community soon!!!
https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@steemitworldmap/good-bye-from-steemitworldmap

Haha! Yes, of course - thank you, Mr @pinmapple 🍍
I'll post more on the community!

Very nice place, it's true that this country is beautiful.

By the way, the one that you used on your Facebook. Isn't it fine there? Does it look like to me it was being damaged or destroyed? Did someone taking care of this place?

It was fine - it was part of the restoration project back then 😄
Thank you, @mrnightmare89, for your support 😌

Wow! Okay. I don't care about the rest because I think that's part of the package, but visiting Borobudur Temple is one of my goals! I'm so happy for you, but it makes me jealous. 😂

I love going to places that are mentioned in all Araling Panlipunan books. I can still remember the feeling when we went to the Chocolate Hills in Bohol. I hope I can visit Yogyakarta one day.

Hahaha no, @ybanezkim26, I DIY my itineraries always - one, it's always cheaper and two, I do it on my own time. Usually, I have reasons why I do a specific activity on a specific day 😜

But, yes! Borobudur is gorgeous! I love visiting places din we see and learn from our classes. Please (please please please lol) look forward to many of my future posts! Thank you, Kim!!!

PS. I made it to Pinmapple's Top 3 huhuhuhuhuhuhuhuhuhuhu 😭
Ang sayaaaa!

You deserve all the accolades, gurl! Congrats! This post is of epic proportions so you deserve all the recognition. Keep it up!

Okay. No need to beg. 😂
I will surely check out your post. With all the amazing stuff you have in store, I'll always be on a look out. Gambatte!

Ang corny... di ko alam pano ako nacu-curate. Yung ineexpect kong okay, hindi nakikita sa votes, while yung iba unexpected naman.
Haha any tips, comments, suggestions?

Or atat lang ako? 🙈

You want tips from experience? I think it boils down to authenticity. You might find it corny, but for others, it's raw and authentic. It means you're enjoying your travels and you're sharing that joy to your readers.

Ganyan talaga. Minsan cents lang, minsan malaki ang upvote. Ang importante ay consistent ka sa quality ng posts mo. You're off a way much better start than I did. Just keep it up.

The value of your post is not measured by the upvotes you get. Sometimes it's about your network, your engagement, the comments you get, the reblogs, and many other factors. Reach out to people. Comment on their posts. Pero wag mong pilitin. Kailangan authentic ang comment mo.

Tingin mo bakit ako nagbibigay ng tip? Dahil galante ako? Hindi 100%. It's about the return. I'm planting a seed of positivity and goodness. Someday it will return to me or be returned forward. I'm not 100% altruistic. Engagement at advertisement pa rin yan. Mas mapapansin ako sa tip ko compared sa upvotes ko. Ganern. Chikka galore na naman ako. 😂

Sorry for the wrong choice of word - I used corny as an expression lang. Hehe
Pero yes, I get your point. Thanks for sharing your wisdom, and of course, your time and patience with me 😄

I really appreciate it, and I love you chikka galore always! Tsaka I look up to you, I hope I get and do better in time!

Thank you, Ninong idol, @ybanezkim26 😘

Hoi! Wag mo masyado dibdibin mga sinasabi ko. Minsan di ko rin maintindihan mga sinasabi ko. 😂
Char2x lang naman yan eh!

Great read and beautiful pictures. Thank you for sharing your trip. Added to my list of country/places to visit 🙂

It’s so beautiful 😍

CONGRATULATIONS MAREKOY! YOU'RE MAKING YOUR WAY TO THE TOP!!! SO HAPPY AND EXCITED FOR YOU. CAPLOCK KASI YAN EXCITEMENT KO HIHIHI! XOXO

Wooohooo, Mare!! I just earned my badge from Mr @Pinmapple!!
Thank you for the support always and forever. Amen! 😌

Yay! So happy for you!

TO GOD BE THE GLORY!

Ahhhh so pretty 😍 Your pics with the temples are breathtaking 💚 Huhuhuhu i'm itching to plan a trip na kaso panira talaga COVID 😅

Nice trip and a lot of experiences. Thank you for sharing.