Hiking to Volovec hill, Ostrý Roháč and Plačlivô hill

in TravelFeed3 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


It looks like a nice day for hiking. I pack my things and go to Orava to Zuberec. I park in the large car park Spálená, from where I am already walking. I have 20 kilometers in front of me with a total elevation gain of 1500 meters. I have not yet climbed from the Orava side, so far I have always been coming from Liptov, so I was looking forward to this change.

A slight climb follows the yellow tourist sign. I follow the asphalt road until this stream comes.

I cross the bridge and in front of me I see what climb awaits me soon.

Along the narrow hiking trail, I slowly climb up and come to the Zábrať saddle at an altitude of 1655 meters above sea level. I found myself on a nice plain with an even more beautiful view of the surrounding area.

Up here, unlike the valley from which I came, it blows a lot. I'm a little sweaty after that climb, so I put on a windbreaker and continue. The climb is milder, but the wind is quite unpleasant. Fortunately, when I look to my right I see this beauty and it drives me forward. I will cross this arch today along the ridge.

I am in Rákoň and I can already see the first destination of my journey in the background and that is the Volovec hill.

These are Roháčske lakes nicely from above.

It doesn't look like a challenging climb, and so it is. What's worse is that the wind is stronger and I probably won't hide from it here on the ridge.

I'll be in Volovec in a moment. I pick up the camera and take a few photos, but I'm in a hurry.

Here I see what awaits me. In front is the hill Ostrý Roháč and behind it the hill Plačlivô.

The ascent to Ostrý Roháč makes me really busy. It's my hardest climb yet. There are chains here and it's quite demanding.

   

I made it! I am located on the hill Ostrý Roháč at an altitude of 2084 meters above sea level and this is a view of Spálená dolina.

I have only the last destination of my journey ahead of me, namely the Plačlivô hill. It's just in quotes, because after the descent I have to climb again to the top at an altitude of 2075 meters above sea level.

The ascent to Ostrý Roháč took me so long that I completely forgot that there was a scab up here. I'm starting to remember and realize the wind.

All the better, I'm finally up. I look behind me and see what I've been through so far today.

I'm looking for a place where it doesn't blow so I can eat and replenish my energy. I found it behind one of the big stones. I choose sausage and bread from the backpack. I'm already looking forward to it.

After a short snack, I continue. Now I have a descent down. I enter Spálená dolina and I'm happy because it doesn't blow here.

I slow down and enjoy the descent.

I come to Ťatliak's cottage, where a lot of people have refreshments.

Behind the cottage is a lake and a beautiful view of the hills I was on.

Apart from me and a lot of tourists, this duck also enjoys this view. Although I think she would rather enjoy some goodness that people leave her here, even though we shouldn't feed her here.

This tour was completely different from other tours I have been on in the Western Tatras. This was due to the strong wind on the ridge of the hill and also due to the challenging ascent to the top of Ostrý Roháč. I had an ugly idea to come back on Volovec hill, but fortunately I didn't do it and I'm looking forward to it. It was an amazing experience.

Well thank you


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1102.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations @photoparadise! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Congratulations @photoparadise! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: Why not share your blog posts to your family and friends with the convenient sharing buttons on TravelFeed.io?