What I liked the most in Romania

in TravelFeed4 years ago

What I liked the most in Romania

Read "What I liked the most in Romania" on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Last summer me and my boyfriend spend two weeks in Romania. I have to say that we loved it very much, much more than we expected actually. We went there with small expectations but it was so much more than that. Romania is mystical, green and full of history. Local people there are extremely friendly, also the food is tasty. I enjoyed every second in this beautiful country!

What I liked the most in Romania:

Drive on Transfagarasan road

We met a beautiful couple from Poland, actually, they were newlyweds, on their honeymoon. We rented a car for one day and we went on an adventure that was for sure one of the best things that happened in our travel.

Transfagarasan is a mountain road, one of the most spectacular roads in the country and maybe even in the world. It rises to the hight of more than 2100 meters, it has viaducts, tunnels and on its highest point, is also a beautiful lake.

Wear warm clothes, it can get very cold on the top. Never in my life, I saw so many weather changes in such a short time. Rain, then the fog that you can’t see one meter ahead, cold, wind, sun, heat - we experienced everything.

Beautiful Transfagarasan road

Language

I’m a big enthusiast for languages and I fell in love with Romanian language, Romance language that origins from Latin. It’s similar to Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese. Cause the country is positioned in Eastern Europe, most of the people think that it’s part of the Slavic family, I thought the same. Well, it has some Slavic roots but they are only 10% of the vocabulary. The first word I learned was mulţumesk (moltsomesk) and I used it on a daily basis, it means thank you.

Brasov

I love Brasov! Such a lovely city. We spend 3 days there and we enjoyed every part of it. It’s a medieval town and it’s a perfect base to explore Transylvania. Historic Brasov (also called Romanian Hollywood with the sign Brasov on the top of the hill) offers medieval architecture, gothic churches, and narrow streets. Big square (Piata Sfatului) is the center of the city and it’s full of restaurants, bohemian cafes, and shops.

The main square in Brasov

Sibiu

Sibiu is a must place to visit if you are in Romania. It’s an incredibly beautiful city, where I got the feeling, that I could just stroll around the streets or sit on a bench and watch people passing by… It’s like a walk in the past, and you won't get bored there, that's for sure. You can sit at Piata Mare (big square), visit Brukenthal National Museum, stroll around Sibiu’s lower town or relax in one of many Sibiu’s cafes.

Charming lower town in Sibiu

Our 3 day trip to Moldova

The idea about visiting Moldova came from our friends, they were traveling in this area a year ago and Moldova was in their itinerary. We thought about it and then we also decided to go, it’s wasn't so far, and we love to explore new places.

Moldova is very different than Romania, it’s small and it’s one of the least visited country’s in Europe and now when I think about it, we didn’t see a lot of tourists there.

Chişinău is the capital and it’s a nice time to spend for a day or two, you can still feel the influence of the former Soviet Union.

Another thing great about Chişinău is the bus rides, which are crazy cheap, it’s like 5 cents (0,05€) for a ride, you can get wild and try all the routes in the city.

You know where is the biggest wine cellar in the world? Yes, it’s in Moldova.

Exploring undiscovered Moldova


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tjasa! You received a bright smile from TravelFeed. Our eyes were beaming while reading your post. 😁

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@elsaenroute (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play

Thank you very much! :)

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://goingupthecountry.net/romania-travel/

Congratulations @tjasa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tjasa
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=what-i-liked-the-most-in-romania


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Naaaiiisss! Hey @gabrielatravels, check this out! Romania is still undervalued. Been there almost 4 years ago. Cluj Napoca and Brasov were some of my favourites. Most of the time we slept in the tent somewhere outside big cities. One time a horse woke us up as it was eating the tent. :D

Do you have travel plans for 2020? (I know the Corona situation does not make much room for making plans, but...

Haha, yeah. Brasov and Cluj are some very populated places with tourists, but nice too. I still recommend people to check more other cities as well or just what nature has to offer! You take a break from overcrowded places :D
And it happened to me that too (talking about tent), lol! But with a cow hahaha

That's a nice post! And I'm happy you have a beautiful impression of Romania!
I live in Sibiu, and I'm very close to both Brasov and Transfagarasan, and I declare myself in love with my home town too <3
Probably this is why I try so hard to promote every corner of it if you check my profile, lol