First freedive experience for a routine scuba instructor

in TravelFeed4 years ago (edited)

Hello all,

First allow me to tell a little bit about myself as a scuba diver.
I am a routine scuba diver (started in 2004 with scuba), made it to PADI instructor in 2014. I am also CMAS - NELOS (Belgian dive federation) certified 3 star diver and advanced nitrox diver.
Up till now I totaled about 1500 dives, all around the world in totally different environments and circumstances.

First freedive experience

But this is not what this post is about! I want to talk to you about my first freediving experience.
Why? Because I have the feeling that some or even maybe most scuba divers look down on freediving discipline in general. Even some of my fellow friends as well as instructors would call it 'advanced snorkeling' etc.
Why I want to start learning freediving? I have the feeling it can make me more complete and maybe even a better scuba diver. I hope as well to learn more about breathing and equalization techniques. I do not have the ambition to participate in freediving competitions, I just like to enjoy it and make better my overall skills as a scuba diver and as a freediver!

Instructor and freedive agency

I am very lucky to be introduced in and taught the basics of freediving by Jean-Pol Francois, multiple Belgian freediver record holder (different disciplines), ex world record holder (different disciplines), founder of AIDA Belgium (freediving association in Belgium)and co-founder of AIDA worldwide. He is also the owner and instructor of Freediving Planet Moalboal (Philippines).

I decided, on advise of my instructor, to be certified in the Molchanovs freediving community, since they provide the best training materials (books, videos, etc.). More info about Molchanovs community, you can find in this link.

Theory and first pool experience

After I studied the theory for the Wave1 / Lap 1 Course (easy for a scuba diver), we completed already the two first swimming pool sessions of the course. First swimming pool session, we concentrate on static apnea, the second pool session covers dynamic apnea.

Static

After a short warmup and relaxation of our muscles and neck (you will be taught breathing techniques also!), we started the static pool session.
warmup.jpg

The main focus is on being as relaxed as possible and concentrate on breathing. A good freedive instructor will never push you to get over your limits! I was amazed that in my second static apnea, I reached already 2 minutes and 40 seconds of breath holding, notwithstanding that I am a smoker also ...! static.jpg

To compare, to achieve CMAS 3 star scuba license, only 45 seconds of apnea is mandatory, and this seemed for me harder to do than this 2+ minutes, just by being focused and relaxed with the right breathing techniques!

Dynamic

After a short weight check, and of course the necessary concentration and focus (breathing techniques, being relaxed etc.), we started on the second day the dynamic pool session. Basically, this combines being as relaxed as possible as well as perfectly streamlined swimming techniques. After a few tries, I easily reached a dynamic apnea of 30m+ in the swimming pool.
GOPR1931_Dynamic_Moment.jpg

After this, we also practised some rescue techniques as well as safety procedures.
GOPR1932Rescue_Moment.jpg

What 's next?

I will meet up 4 more times with my instructor and we will do 4 open water sessions, here in the ocean in Moalboal. -Moalboal is loved by freedivers because of its steep walls reaching 80+ meters deep close to the shore-. Here I will learn and experience more about freediving, try to get to between 10 and 20 meters deep and practise equalization using the Frenzel method, which is more efficient and healthier than the valsalva method. More about my first open water experiences in freediving coming in the next posts!

Conclusion after 2 pool sessions

Hyperventilation, as many scuba divers will practise before doing a static apnea (in the passed my CMAS instructors told me to do so ...), is NEVER DONE and can be even DANGEROUS!!!

Freediving can make you a better Scuba Diver and a healthier person!
Why?

  1. Breathing techniques
  2. Relaxation (stress management)
  3. Equalization techniques (valsalva versus Frenzel method)
  4. Swimming techniques (streamlined, and thus more efficient)

Special thanks to my freedive instructor Jean-Pol Francois and his assistant instructor Christine, Rick for using the pool and Freediving planet Moalboal for the logistics.

More info:

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice post Tom. another one of the new guys @galenkp 😉

Great post Tom! It's sad that some scuba divers look down on the freedivers. I guess it's because they have no clue what's all about. Most of them think it's just hold your breath. But like you explain it's all about technique, relaxation.

Thx. Yes it is ... End of the week i will come with an update ;-) did first open water session today!