Exploring Taiwan at its finest!

in TravelFeed4 years ago

Exploring Taiwan at its finest!

Read "Exploring Taiwan at its finest!" on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Hello there travelmaniacs and Steemitians! I'm back once again for another one of my travel stories. This time, I'm going to share about my Taiwan experience for the first time.

It was July 2019. One night, my then-business colleague and friend Veronica asked me if I want to go Taiwan with her. The main purpose is to attend the Asia Blockchain Summit in Taipei. Since it's another opportunity to travel overseas, I give it a go. We booked our flight in advance via Air Asia.

All aboard to Taiwan!

Day One: I'm very excited for my first trip to Taiwan with Veronica. Since we are flying to Taipei, it would take us approximately 2 hours and 10 minutes to get there. After passing the immigration in the Taoyuan International Airport, I have bought a Taiwanese sim card with unlimited mobile data that would last 5 days.

Me and Veronica riding in a monorail to Taipei

Spectacular view of the longest bridge in Taiwan

Inserting the MTR token in Taipei

We ride on a monorail going to the Taipei Station. I just realized that our hostel is just walking distance from the station, so it saved us money instead of riding a taxi. I just forgot the name of the hostel we initially booked, but it's quite affordable for both of us. To be honest, we're quite uncomfortable with the hostel we initially stayed.

Outside of the Taipei Station

Veronica opened her Booking.com app to find nearby hotels that are "not so expensive". Just like the hostel, I forgot the exact name of the new hotel that we are staying. I forgot to save my history, but it's fine.

Our new hotel’s centralized airconditioning buttons

As we booked in our new hotel room, it looks pretty nice! I just forgot to take pictures inside of our hotel room, but I'm much comfortable. As for the centralized airconditioning, we have one problem. All of the buttons are written in Chinese.

However, I have a brilliant idea. I browsed on Google Play, searching for "Photo Translator" app and I've found it. I installed and tried it on my phone. It ultimately worked after taking the photo and activated the Photo Translator app. Now I know which switches do I need to press for airconditioning in our hotel room.

Dinner with newfound friends from Japan and Taiwan at LA Pho

While Veronica had a separate meeting somewhere, I was scheduled to meet Marco at Taipei 101 mall. I ride on a taxi alone going there at night and met with him. After that, he introduced me to his friends from Taiwan and Japan combined.

There's this guy named Walter. I was surprised that he speak fluent Tagalog to me while he is Taiwanese. We have fun together walking around inside and outside of the Taipei 101 mall. After that, we had dinner together in LA Pho to try Taiwanese dish for the first time.

It’s just Corona Extra beer, lol!

After our dinner, Veronica and her business friend met us outside of LA Pho. Both Veronica and Marco are long time friends. Because our main purpose is to attend the Asia Blockchain Summit at Marriott Hotel Taipei, there's a welcome night party somewhere. I forgot the name of the place though, but we could have dinner there for free instead of LA Pho.

On top of that, I have met and connected with some various cryptocurrency enthusiasts from different parts of the world in that welcome party. As past midnight comes, we finished our activity by going in a rooftop bar (I forgot the exact name of it), but we didn't last long there. Veronica and I went back to the hotel and rest to prepare for the conference.

Chillin’ in a sports car outside of Marriott Hotel Taipei

Day 2: To summarize this, I have attended the Asia Blockchain Summit at the Marriott Hotel in Taipei. After my chicken lunch at the Roots Cafe in a rainy day, I have a rare chance to join Binance CEO/founder Changpeng Zhao and TRON CEO/founder Justin Sun in the same elevator. After the first day of the conference, I joined their Binance Supermeetup side event at the same venue and after party.

I remember back then that both Veronica and I are hungry past midnight. We are looking for a nearby Taiwanese restaurant. Once again, I am using the Photo Translator app because the menu was all written in Chinese. We ordered some ramen with mixed vegetables with unlimited drinks and ice cream. After that, we head back to our hotel in preparation for the second day of the conference.

Union Bank of Taiwan

Day 3: As Veronica went to the Marriott Hotel earlier, I choose to roam around the streets of Taiwan for a while.

Enjoying my time in the streets of Taipei

I eat my late lunch at a local Taiwan restaurant near our hotel and went to Marriott Hotel afterward. After the conclusion of Day 2 of Asia Blockchain Summit, Veronica and I went to Bithub Bistro during the night.

Diggin’ something at Bithub Taipei

It's a cryptocurrency-themed restaurant with cocktails that are named after a specific coin or token. However, we choose to "vlog" around the restaurant and see some cryptocurrency logos hanging around the restroom. We ate dinner somewhere near the hotel and rest for a day off.

Outside of the Taipei 101

Getting pumped up for Taipei 101 Observatory

Day 4: For our day-off, Veronica and I went to the Taipei 101 Observatory. The standard entrance fee for going up to the observatory is 600 NTD or $20.00 per person. As we went up to the elevator, Veronica and I are amazed how fast the elevator goes up. For just under 40 seconds, we reached the 89th floor from the 5th floor.

Staring down Taiwan from the 89th floor of Taipei 101 Observatory

88 or 91?

Night view from a top floor in Taipei 101

I have to be honest with you guys, I'm totally afraid of heights (especially when I looked down from the top, my heart is racing). However, I choose to conquer that fear and enjoyed the moment. We explored around the Taipei 101 Observatory and bought some delicious popcorn before heading off to the Raohe night market by taxi.

From there, we tried some local street foods, buying cheap stuff, original jade materials for my family and play some interesting games. Unfortunately, I didn't take photos while in the Raohe Night Market because it's too crowded and some chances that I might get "snatched".

After the Raohe Night Market, we head back to our hotel, pack some stuff and sleep for a few hours in preparation for check out. On the following day, we left our hotel and head off to the Taoyuan International Airport by taxi to catch up our flight back to Manila.

At least I have shared to you my first Taiwan getaway. Filipinos like me are very fortunate because Taiwan is visa-free for us within 14 days. Although that we have limited time to explore some more in Taiwan, but it's absolutely worth it. I would be back here for sure. This is truly an unforgettable experience for me, especially visiting various places, eating Taiwan food and gaining new connections.

Thank you so much for your time in reading my travel story about my Taiwan escapade. I would really appreciate if you could leave an upvote. Stay tuned for my next blog post!


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

Are you a Splinterlands player? If Yes, then checkout MonsterMarket.io. Get instant 3% cashback on every card purchase, and 2% cashback on every booster pack purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket has the highest revenue sharing in the space - 60% for cards and 40% for packs, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

BDvoter Team

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelfury
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-taiwan-at-its-finest


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @travelfury! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach out more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.