You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cycling in Taiwan... First Time.

in TravelFeed2 years ago

I love cycling around various parts of the world. I never tried it in Taiwan though. I'm not sure why that is. It's a great way to explore so much more and as long as you understand the traffic, I feel like it is really safe too.

Sort:  

I tried going around Taiwan a full circle with a moped scooter with my German friend. That was pretty fun~ My friend had a lot of travel experience like you, so it was much more comfortable for me to travel around cause he knew how to get around and together it was crazy fun. But with a bicycle…. Will I go around Taiwan??? Hmmmmm that doesn’t sound very easy. However!! I heard many many Taiwanese do it~~ cause the roads are good is what I heard. :)

My experience with cycling is that it seems impossible to go that far but once you get moving you don't really even notice you are doing it anymore and it is actually pretty easy. Well, until you get to really hard hills or it starts pouring down with rain. But then again, if you are not in a hurry you can just sit under cover, rest, and wait for it to pass. Of course a lot of your comfort depends on your gear. I don't have proper cycling shorts / pants so after about 50km I can no longer feel my butt! :)

You are absolutely right! When it comes to distance 50,100,200 km does seem really far however once you get the wheels rolling and if you are not in a rush it does seem that you don't really notice it. The importance of distance and the worry of it seemed to kinda disappear and you start to think about other things... such as the stuff you see, the wind blowing, how hot the weather is, the smell of place to place.... :) And yea I do think gear is pretty important, especially the pants because I heard stories where people ride really long distances without proper pants and later they get blisters around the inner thighs... man... that already sounds like it hurts like hell!!!! Thanks for the comment!!!