You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comet ATLAS (and the Town of Comet)

in Astronomy4 years ago

I have gotten a couple of passable night shots of Orion recently. My camera is the Nikon D7500 and I am using an inexspensive 10-20mm zoom landscape lens. I just can not get the moon, I have also tried my 55-300mm zoom lens but even that it just comes out a blur never in focus. I do use a tripod, and I did read that for the moon you don't want to go more than 1/3 of a second. I'll keep trying, hoping that the temperatures begin to warm soon, I really do not like the single digit temperatures at all.

Sort:  

Keep at it! Try single point autofocus on the Nikon and the 55-300mm lens with the moon (this way you tell the camera exactly what to focus on). Start with your zoom lens set around 100mm with an aperture of f5.6, ISO1600 and 1/500th of a second. You should be able handhold this and get a good shot (i.e. you don't have to stay outside long!). Will be interested in how you get on - happy for you to post your image here and I will give feedback.