Comet Neowise Captured

in Astronomy4 years ago

You probably have heard of the comet Neowise or C/2020 F3 Neowise, recently passed earth to the closest point on 23-rd July.
It is one of the most bright and visible comets to come near us in a couple of decades. When I talk near then the closest point was 103 million kilometers from us.
Obviously my goal was to find it and capture it. Some people even claimed its visible with the naked eye although I never saw it. Probably because nights in Estonia are so bright, its impossible. In fact, I had a really hard time finding it with the telephoto lens as well. In the first two attempts, I failed and did not find it from our skies. It was the third attempt when I finally managed to find it take a shot.

Photo is captured after midnight and I did not stack photos, it's a single frame. Taken on 15th July. I was not too pleased with this shot because I hoped to get little crisper ice trails coming from the comet. I wanted to photograph it again on 23-rd when it was closest but the weather messed up my chances.
Anyway, this is the shot.

DSC_01612.jpg

I'm happy I got the shot of it anyway. I had never photographed a comet before. I hope another bright one comes to visit us a little sooner than in two decades.




Untitled1.png

Sort:  

Nice shot. What kind of focal length did you use for it?

Thanx! This is taken on 300mm.

Lendas kiiresti või?

Lendab vaga kiiresti.

Kuidas teadsid kuhu poole kaamerat sihtida?

Softwared näitavad ära mulle enamvähem.

Really lovely photo, mate. Many compliments to this one and for keeping a great eye on this amazing sight, but at least you don't have a SpaceX satellite interrupt the great view, eh? 😆

Posted using Dapplr

Thanx! Actually it would have been pretty cool when I could have captured ISS flying over the trail of this comet 😀

As a backdrop, having a huge space station float by would be pretty awesome. I think in this case, it would complement the comet really well!

Congratulations @greddyforce! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 24000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators