Luck of the Draw

in StreetArt2 years ago

luck.png

Hi there! Here's my entry to @trippymane's latest graffiti lettering competition: LUCK. As it's an entry to a drawing competition I gave this one the title "Luck of the Draw".

There is still to time to let your creativity loose and submit an entry, what are you waiting for? Here's the link to the competition: https://ecency.com/hive-184784/@trippymane/graffiti-lettering-contest-10-luck

So let's get down to the process. As usual we need a concept and a basic idea of the colours involved. It didn't take long for the colour green to pop to mind when thinking of the word LUCK.

Once again I got cracking in my favourite freeware at the moment: Krita. And yes, I'm still "drawing" with a mouse. What a pleasure. Actually, I did get a loan of an old Wacom drawing tablet but I couldn't really get the hang of it to be honest.

So after deciding on green, I thought I'd go with a dark background and some bright green lines to set the basic word structure:
luck_1.jpg

Next a bit of fill to give it some body:
luck_2.jpg

After that I played around with a few different brushes and shades of green to bring some life into the piece:
luck_3.jpg

By now I reckoned I needed to sharpen up the word with some outlines as I couldn't really make out the letters from the brushstrokes anymore:
luck_4.jpg

I switched off the layers and focused on the final outlines and the 3D:
luck_5.jpg

luck_6.jpg

Now the fun part (it's all fun though). I tried out a few different highlights, surrounds and atmospheric effects:
luck_7.jpg

luck_8.jpg

luck_9.jpg

luck_10.jpg

As usual, I finally ended up with a messy atmospheric piece and signed off with a little double layered tag at the bottom: luck.png

So if you liked this piece then keep an eye on the @trippymane blog where the voting round will commence in a few days time. Anyone can vote by replying to a comment from the voting post and by selecting 3 artists. So come on by and support the Hive art community.

Over and out.

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @ghostonchronic.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Big up man! Really cool art! Love it!

Thanks for your contribution and best of luck 😎

Coooooooool @ghostonchronic! Your process is so different to mine !LOL
I can't imagine doing this kind of art digitally. However, a month ago I couldn't imagine doing this kind of art with pencil and paper and, well here we are :P
Good luck in the contest ;)

What do you get after the animal dinner party?
Stuffed animals.

@ghostonchronic, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @consciouscat
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/6)