CCC's Street Art Contest #130 - Stunning streetart in Glasgow, Scotland

in StreetArtlast year

I've never entered this contest before, but have been inspired to do so by the posts I keep seeing from @littlebee4 !

PxkbfEhQQdaq6qExqgfrtA.jfif

We spent a lovely two days at the end of January wandering around Glasgow, and saw quite a few lovely examples of streetart, but the one above was just incredible. It was on the end of abuilding near Glasgow Cathedral. Its stunning and the level of detail is just awesome ! And this is the pic I'm entering into the contest.

KJZ_oPDtThu9IHxe5xj2Bw.jfif

And above is a picture of it in context - covering 4 storeys - pretty impressive. The pic was named Saint Mungo (the patron saint of Glasgow) in a competition, although it is officially un-named.

iqXhiMW-S6SsiMUMqIL30g.jfif

The one above was also close to it, and is by the same artist called Smug. I love the Robins in the pics !

zii0UcGKR76RxSUJmvRkFw.jfif

We also spotted the mural above down near the river - its Billy Connelly, one of Glasgow's most famous sons !

_93divRdSi-wU76zbnvTXA.jfif

Again, here it is in context. Its great to see these murals popping up around Glasgow, I think they are fantastic.

57ntkkMcSUidv7o0D5m7Vg.jfif

And here is some more spotted further along the river as we were making our way to Glasgow Green. I dont know what it is about this lot, but I really loved it. The pics on the billboard are cool and the one with the roses on the end of the building is paying homage to Charles Rennie Mackintosh a Glasgow artist and architect who was famous for his style embracing movements like Art Nouveau.

zWEgZ0XzTuOREHMEsS6a2g.jfif

And another fancy one above - the river is quite an important aspect in Glasgow, hence the boat, and then some famous buildings from around Glasgow in the background.

LB3ho2D0Th6HcQVSZfUWtQ.jfif

And again in context.

4XShYorARtK6xQbIu0KR6g.jfif

We spotted the one above but was on our way to pick up our daughter and didnt have time to take a closer look.

-Nj2KK6jQCi6Tf1nEKfZ4A.jfif

And last but not least the mural above was on the wall of one of the buildings of the University of Strathclyde - quite interesting. I assume thats a famous physicist !

Anyway, thats the Streetart highlights we found in Glasgow, and to be honest I was very impressed with what it had to offer ! It was great to see them - they make such a difference to the city !

Sort:  

Hi @hoosie,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Many thanks @ackhoo - its appreciated !!

What a finds @hoosie 😎 last week I posted one mural from smug in Aberdeen. And these 2 of him in Glasgow are on my list to see one day. Since a long while… hehehe 🤭
Love his work. Such a talent.

Also the others are stunning.

Thanks for the tag, wouldn’t have wanted to miss this. And I am happy to hear my StreetArt posts did inspire you to enter.

(Did you post a link plus entry photo on digi-me’s post from the contest? Sorry didn’t check)

Have an awesome evening 👋🏻😎
!PIZZA

They were great finds - purely by chance because we didnt know they were there ! And yes, I remembered to post my link to the competition- and won it !
Hope you are enjoying Scotland !!!

They were indeed @hoosie 😎 I knew about them, but never visited Glasgow.
I saw… congratulations 🎉 well done!

Yes, I am loving it.
Thank you so much 😊
Happy Monday 👋🏻😊

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
littlebee4 tipped hoosie (x1)
@cursephantom(1/5) tipped @hoosie (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

!BBH

@hoosie! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (1/5)

Oh Wow @hoosie
I love the very first picture of the man with the birds!!! I am a bird lover!
It is gorgeous and so is the one with the robins.
Thank you!
Barb :)

Many thanks - although cant take the credit - hats off to the artist - they are fantastic pictures !!!

That is some awesome street art, @hoosie.

Thanks for sharing the post on ListNerds.

!CTP
!ALIVE

@hoosie! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @beststart. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Many thanks - it was pretty awesome to see !
!CTP

Great selection of Street Art. Glasgow is a true Street Art city as we can see in your photos. Thanks for sharing all these pics onThe StreetArt Community.

That's a good find of street art. I love this art the most. Black and white with such details on that big wall as a canvas.

!PIZZA

Fabulous artworks. Very brave artists for getting up that high to create those murals.
!ALIVE
!CTP
!BBH

@hoosie! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (1/50)

Good Morning and Thank you, @bbhbot! Enjoy your day.😀

@hoosie! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Morning and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀