CCC's Street Art Contest #162 ~ The Spanish Armada - StreetArt in GRANGE Ireland 🇮🇪 part 12

in StreetArt9 months ago

Hi all 👋🏻

Today I want to share with you a StreetArt find from “the Spanish Armada” 3 of their ships…. and it’s captain.
I discovered this work while I was driving towards County Donegal and passed it by in GRANGE, County SLIGO in #ireland 😊 🇮🇪

I captured this #mural / #artwork on 10 September 2023 on both sides of the main road through the town. The Photographs in this post I took with my phone…

The first #photo will be my #entry into the “CCC's Street Art Contest #162” hosted by @digi-me
Thank you @trincowski, @heroldius, @melinda010100, @ervin-lemark, @ecency, @tobetada and @arcange and many more for supporting this #contest!

‼️If you want to know more about this contest: have a look at @digi-me ’s post: CCC's Street Art Contest #162 | 🎁 : 100% Liquid Payout and Ecency points as Prize Pool & Winners of #161‼️
It tells you the rules and how to enter. Join us! It’s truly fun around here 🤩

Let’s have a look at my StreetArt find for today and its history from it:

Artist: BLOWDESIGNS - NIK PURDY
Title: Tribute to the Spanish Armada and its Captain
Location: ”MAIN STREET” - in #GRANGE County Sligo in IRELAND 🇮🇪
Work Created: 2019

The artist’s Facebook : Blowdesigns Nik Purdy

The artist’s Instagram : Blowdesigns Nik Purdy

See I found more StreetArt works from this artist 🤓

I found the following information shared about this murals history in This Source/ Facebook post from ”Spanish Armada Ireland, Grange, Co. Sligo” fbpage;

The murals depict the Spanish captain Francisco de Cuéllar, who escaped from the Spanish Armada wrecks at Streedagh Beach in 1588 and the three ships (Galleons) that sank off Streedagh, La Juliana, La Lavia and La Santa Maria de Visón.

What triggered me to research a bit more about the ships, its Captain and the #HISTORY 🤓
But…

First a few more captures of this work 😎

Closer by…
Do you see how the ship almost jumps out of the wall. The effect created by the artist is stunning 😎
The light wasn’t great this day, if I pass by another day I will check it out if it is better 😊

View from across the street. One really notice it driving by.

It extends to the side wall and another building.

In the Wikipedia website source below… about the wreck site of the ships I found;

The Streedagh Armada wrecksite is the site of three shipwrecks of the Spanish Armada at Streedagh beach in north County Sligo, in northwest Ireland. The three ships are La Lavia, La Juliana, and the Santa Maria de Visón. All were part of the Levant squadron of the armada. The Lavia was the almiranta, or vice flagship of the fleet and carried the Judge Advocate General, Martin de Aranda, responsible for the discipline of the armada.

The site is unique in the world and represents an unparalleled preservation of three late 16th century ships in a coastal location. Monitoring and surveying continues as the wrecks are in a vulnerable high energy environment that is frequently exposed to storms.
Streedagh Armada Wrecksite Source


We see here the map 🗺️ of Ireland and the locations of ship wreckages… (I believe)
Under the shields it tells us;

”In short, in this kingdom there is neither justice nor right, and everyone does as he pleases”

Interesting 🤔

I also found the website from Spanish Armada Ireland visitor center
You find a lot of information there… let me highlight a little bit for you here;

Ever since the tragic loss of three great ships of the Spanish Armada and over 1,100 men; soldiers and sailors, noblemen and commoners; on the beach at Streedagh on that fateful day, 21st September 1588, the people of North Sligo have commemorated in folk memory the plight of all those poor lost fellow souls.
Despite the risk of persecution from the forces of Queen Elizabeth the first of England some Irish chieftains like O’Rourke of Briefne and McClancy of Dartry offered sanctuary to the few survivors that struggled ashore. The real heroes were, perhaps, the ordinary peasant people who, for no other reason than empathy for those in distress, gave shelter, food, and succour to strangers from a foreign land.
Source

Let me show you more from the mural on the other side now.
You see one of the ships almost in full length and another ship further away… in the distance… in the mist…

It was behind this large gate that was closed.

You see here the other 2 ships better, they were lost with its men. I tried to capture them the best I could through the gate itself 😎
The waves are beautifully painted. The sea 🌊 foam too, it gives so much depth to the scene.

Too bad I couldn’t get a better picture.

The ‘antique store next door… had a lot of rubbish in the yard… not sure anybody would go there to look through it 😂 or if the store is even still open… no idea . It looks like it has been like this since the creation of the wallpaintings as I could see in my source links.

And here I want to say; that’s all for todays #StreetArt post my friends. Until the next one! 👋🏻😎
Hope you enjoyed my #photos of this StreetArt find. #haveyoubeenhere
Thank you for looking and reading 😊 🙏🏻 Stay tuned for more… 😉

banner by @irisworld

Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.

Have a great day all 😎
Grtz Jackie

silver_divider_black.png

The divider by SilverFish / mondoshawan

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself. We don’t want that you or somebody else gets into trouble 😉 So please don’t use them without my consent.

🖼 My PRINTSHOP: for the purchase of all kind of prints in many sizes from my Artworks 🎨 and Photography 📸 Which come on different objects too. Have a look in My Prints Shop!

banner by @irisworld

Sort:  

I love a bit of street art like this. There are loads of these dotted around Ireland now, and even the telecoms street cabinets are getting cool art makeovers.

image.png

image.png

Yes, and I soooo love it. It changes the scenery.
Love the telecom boxes, so much better than the ugly box itself.
Can’t wait to find more 😎 I am always on the lookout for them.
I used to paint walls / murals myself… last one was 1,5 years ago in Spain.
Have a lovely Tuesday neighbour 👋🏻😊

I used to paint walls / murals myself… last one was 1,5 years ago in Spain.

Cool, I wonder could you get commissioned to do some murals up there? Maybe get onto the county council and inquire?

Yep, I can always get commissioned 😉 to do some murals or other artworks.
Will have a look around how they go about it here. First we have some holidays planned 😎
Have a great Wednesday 👋🏻

Aye, break out the metal detectors matey, there's treasures to be found!
Testimony to the United Kingdom's long storied history of conflict with the Spanish, the French, the Dutch, etc. A beautiful mural of the Captain and his ship.

Yes… it sure does portray that well.
Thanks @kerrislravenhill for checking out my post!
Have a wonderful Friday 👋🏻😊
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@littlebee4, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @kerrislravenhill and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Great mural! I love the pirate theme! 😎

It is indeed, I loved seeing it. I just had to stop the car and walk back to capture it 😎
Have a nice day!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @littlebee4.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks a lot @ecency team 👋🏻😊



This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of Discovery-it in collaboration with Visual Shots community.
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you kindly @discovery-it team 👋🏻😊🐝

Beautiful work with these perspective effect... And always cool to learn something thanks to StreetArt. I didn't know the Armada had sailed so high to help Irish Catholics. Thanks for sharing these pics and info on The StreetArt Community.

Have a great day

I know… didn’t know the Armada went there too. Sometimes we learn a bit more through StreetArt too.
Happy to share @heroldius
Thanks a lot 👋🏻😊

StreetArt is my school 😀

It surely can be 😉😎

!LOL

What’s Scooby Doos’ favorite drink?
Mountain Dooby Doo

Credit: reddit
@littlebee4, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of curart38

(2/2)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

winner winner
chicken dinner
wow

Thanks @grindle 😎
Cheers!

How are you dear friend @littlebee4 good morning
I love this work, the one with the boat has incredible realism, it is as if the boat came out of the wall
Beautiful work of art, I appreciate you letting us know
Have a wonderful day

Hello dear friend @jlufer 👋🏻😊 how are you. Good morning to you too.
I know… it so looks like the boat sails into the wall. Awesome realism.
Happy I could share it with you.
Have a fantastic new week!
Thank you kindly.
!ALIVE

@jlufer! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ littlebee4. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Lovely artwork Jackie, the painting blends well with the buildings, I like the colour, cool colour. The painting on the other side of the wall where the rubbish is is beautiful as well.
That is a lot of rubbish there!

Yes, it is like it is made for that area. It fits in so well.
The paintings are stunning. The rubbish is terrible… never seen around here anything like that.
It is a lot and it was even more than you could see in the photo.

Enjoy your evening!
!PIZZA

It is surely a stunning painting 👌
It should be in the top 3 for this week's contest 😃

Thanks, have a good night.

Aawww thanks Joe
!HUG

Have a good night and lovely Tuesday!

Dear @joetunex, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @littlebee4.
(2/3)

Thanks, Jackie
A lovely Tuesday to you too.

Thank you so much 👋🏻😊

You are most welcome

A charming mural and an interesting story around it...

Thanks for sharing @littlebee4 friend!

!discovery shots
!VSC

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @littlebee4

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @littlebee4

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 19/25

Thank you kindly dear friend @jlinaresp 😊 it was beautiful to see and after I found out about the history… it got me all interested to read up on it.
Have a wonderful Monday, enjoy your new week!

!ALIVE
!LOL

I have kleptomania.
When it gets bad I have to take something for it.

Credit: reddit
@jlinaresp, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of littlebee4

(2/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

@jlinaresp! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ littlebee4. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Fantastic and beautiful murals there Jackie, they really pop, and interesting and touching history around those 3 ships, thanks for sharing and stay !ALIVE

Thank you kindly Eric 👋🏻😊 happy to share my StreetArt finds.
I loved discovering the history about these ships… to imagine they are beneath the surface close by.
Just awesome, have a nice evening and enjoy your Tuesday!
!PIZZA

Keep sharing Jackie, and enjoy your Tuesday.

!ALIVE

@littlebee4! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ flaxz.alive. (4/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Will do Eric 👋🏻😊 enjoy your evening too!

!ALIVE

@flaxz.alive! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ littlebee4. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

@littlebee4! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ flaxz.alive. (7/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@littlebee4(7/10) tipped @flaxz.alive
littlebee4 tipped joetunex

!HBIT

Success! You mined 1.0 HBIT on Wusang: Isle of Blaq. | tools | wallet | discord | community | daily <><

And, you found a Blaq gold coin (BLAQGOLD)!



You can see your random number generated in the Discord server, #hbit-wusang-log channel. Check your bonus treasure tokens by entering your username at an H-E explorer or take a look at your wallet.

Read about Hivebits (HBIT) or read the story of Wusang: Isle of Blaq.