Chalk and Wall Paintings - amazing talent to celebrate colorful life!

in StreetArt2 years ago

I've been fortunate enough to visit various art museums. However, I seem to enjoy and appreciate street art at another level I can't explain. This could be because I have a few friends who were architecture students with exceptional talent. They introduced me to street painting years ago at a community and charity event. These events started out small with a group of student and teacher artists, but soon gained momentum and became widely popular for families in the entire Houston city.

Photo(3) (1).jpg

art2.jpg
The very first chalk painting event I attended with my sister in Houston, this must be in 2007 - Artist: a friend of mine - Hung Pham

I remember the first event I attended. There were only some artists and a small food corner but a few years later, a whole section of the busy downtown was blocked up for artists to paint and showcase their talent. There were also big food section, kids' game area and a stage for music performance. The event was huge, attracting artists, photographers, singers, news reporters and of course families with kids and everyone in town looking for a weekend event.

Photo(2) (1).jpg
These art pieces are sponsored by vendors, I don't know the artist name, time taken ~2007-2008

The downside of chalk street painting, in my opinion, is everything, ALL paintings, are washed away after each event. I always wish I could cut out a piece of the pavement and frame it at home! Like this one piece that is from my favorite movie "Up":

Photo(1) (1).jpg

But probably because the paintings will be washed away so quickly after they're finished, the viewers appreciate them more. I always admire the artists who put so much effort in their work to showcase the art and their skills for 3 consecutive days. I helped as well when I could:

art1.jpg
Do you see the imperfect perfection of this art work on the pavement, with a huge crack running from one end to another of the street!

Since moving out of Houston, I have seen tons of pictures from my friends' FaceBook and wish I could attend the annual chalk painting events. To me, these are great opportunities to get together with friends and family, to enjoy each other's company while browsing talented pieces of drawings, to add great memories every year.
If you are interested in street chalk paintings, do check out other great work online since I don't have all original pictures to share. The 3D painting started by my dear friend in Houston is quite entertaining and amazing to view.

art.jpg

And I continue to search for local art events around new neighborhood as I move around. I am not much a fan of graffiti, but I love organized wall paintings by local artists. Recently from a local guide group, I heard of wall paintings in my city. This is an expat housing facility for Russians living and working in Vũng Tàu. Right after the lockdown period, I rode my bike around town and stopped by this street to view all the art. They are beautiful paintings from various artists with various theme and cover the whole street-facing wall of this complex.

This is the start of the showcase of all the wall paintings:
20211101_112506.jpg

20211101_110405.jpg
Hải Đăng means Light House, one of the favorite spots for visitors of Vũng Tàu city

20211101_111829.jpg
This is such a beautiful paintings, it looks just like in real life!

20211101_110937.jpg
I love colorful flip flops, and of course star fish and seashells

20211101_112427.jpg
One special thing about Vũng Tàu is you can see and experience helicopter flight to Côn Đảo island. And this local artist appreciate and express that here.

20211101_111401.jpg
Bird of paradise is one of my favorite plans!

20211101_111701.jpg
Oh that mean shark!!! He makes me laugh

And I found my dream bike and house, maybe not much of that orange color, but the balcony and ocean view and the stairs and flowers!
20211101_110639.jpg

20211101_110500.jpg

And this is a peaceful corner of the ocean with turtle and dolphins:
20211101_111629.jpg

20211101_110518.jpg

20211101_111524.jpg
A nice rest bench for a cool autumn day!

20211101_111900.jpg
Along the way to the Light House with red flowers (hoa phượng)

20211101_111913.jpg
Another symbol of Vũng Tàu city - The Jesus Christ Statue - back view from another mountain

20211101_111801.jpg
Vũng Tàu is also known for its industrial areas and oil refineries.

20211101_111938.jpg
A tiny religious temple built on this small island (Hòn Bà) that is only accessible twice a month when the ocean ties are low. During certain hours of a few short days that the island is accessible on foot, tons of visitors make their way from land to the island via a small rocky path.

20211101_110812.jpg
Well, I don't believe there is sailing boat here 😄

20211101_112536.jpg
I don't say No to any opportunity to take picture of this van - The LOVE BUS

20211101_112422.jpg

20211101_112551.jpg
It feels like autumn and it's beautiful!

And here comes what I save last for this post:

20211101_112039.jpg

20211101_112159.jpg

20211101_112104.jpg

I adore these Russian dolls, look at their deep blue eyes! I came to know that they are also called Matryoshka dolls or stacking dolls or nesting dolls. To me, they are always vibrant in colors. And the traditional dress these dolls wear is called a sarafan (source from Wikipedia)

20211101_112227.jpg
And of course this piece also represents and celebrates the Russians living and working in this city.

20211101_112719.jpg

This wall art is for residents of the complex and to celebrate the city and as I wandered around I took pictures without really noticing any artists' names for their art credit...I believe their joy came from showcasing their talent and contributing to the community.

I hope you enjoy this and let me know which one is your favorite.
From Vũng Tàu with love of art!

**All content is mine unless otherwise stated

Sort:  

Those are beautiful chalk and wall paintings @nguyenthaonguyen
People did a great job to create those street arts.
I love that version of Monaliza and the photo of you with Russian dolls.

Thank you Đô!!!
These colorful pictures always lift my mood when I go through my photo album.

Em mê mấy bức tranh vẽ trên đường phố lắm. Đẹp với dễ thưởng thức hơn mấy bức trong bảo tàng chị ạ 😁

Hihi uh chị cũng thấy vậy á, mà em xem mấy tranh 3D vẽ trên đường đẹp lắm, rất kì công để vẽ và chụp cho đúng góc nhìn mới ra 3D 😄

quao ấn tượng với mấy bức tranh quá c, đẹp và ý nghĩa

Cám ơn Ivy! nhiều màu sắc nhìn vô thấy vui mắt trước tiên ha 😀

I really like your post, you did a great job and the pictures are amazing.

Thank you @triplug for viewing my pictures and stopping by to say Hi!
I always love street and wall painting. As I'm writing this reply, I remember I used to rent an apartment with a black wall for chalk painting & drawings 🙂

Wahoo impressive selection of Street Art 👍 Thanks for sharing all these pics on The StreetArt Community.

Hi @nguyenthaonguyen,
Great to see you using the #travelfeed tag! We launched the #travelfeed curated tag more than 3 years ago and have been supporting the best travel blogs on Hive ever since. But did you know that TravelFeed has evolved? Based on the feedback of thousands of Hive travel bloggers we created TravelFeed.io.

TravelFeed.io brings together all the benefits of Hive decentralized blogging with features that you as a travel blogger will love: Photo galleries, Instagram embeds, custom maps and more. We also offer many of the features you love on Peakd such as drafts and post scheduling. And if you want, you can even use our easy site builder to set up your own travel blog on your own domain which can be a great way to generate a passive income from your blog!

Unfortunately, focussing on developing the best platform for travelers means that we no longer curate the #travelfeed tag. But, you can log in with your Hive account on TravelFeed.io to publish your next travel post, and it will be posted to Hive automatically! Every day, we select the best posts and reward them with an upvote and added visibility.

We would love to see you on TravelFeed.io soon :)

ở đâu mà đẹp dữ z, cho vô list đi liền :3