Murals of the Angels - Juan Gabriel in Westlake [CCC's Street Art Contest #5]

in StreetArt4 years ago (edited)

Today is my last day in the States, for now at least. I'm flying back to Mexico tomorrow morning, so I thought it would be cool if I came across one more awesome L.A. mural. I didn't have to look too far. Only a few blocks from my friend's place where I'm staying I found this wall painting dedicated to Mexican singer and composer Juan Gabriel.

I took it as a clear omen, indicating my return to my home of choice. Though the location of W 7th Street and Westlake Avenue, in the Westlake neighborhood of Los Angeles, is predominately Latin American, so there is nothing surprising about a Juanga mural here. --- Oh, and since I've just become aware of the CCC Street Art Contest, I also want to use this image to participate in it.

P_20200914_162420.jpg

A Few Words About the Artist (the Musician)

Juan Gabriel was one of, if not THE most influential Mexican musicians of all time, having written around 1,800 songs, and sold over sixty million records worldwide. His style ranged from traditional Ranchera to Mexican pop, and he was known for an unusually flamboyant style, which many artists tried to imitate subsequently.

Gabriel has been idolized even during his lifetime, but especially after his death in 2016 he has been treated as a type of national hero. Today he is considered to be one of Mexico's most important musical icons. I personally don't particularly like his music, but many people do, including my wife.

P_20200914_162448.jpg

A Brief Mention of the Artist (the Muralist)

This mural was painted by Hector Ponce, with the help of Lucas Roman, over two decades ago. Once again, this is a great example of how a respected image seems to be safe from vandalism. Since this is the second time I'm mentioning Ponce, I urge you to visit his page. He has been decorating the walls of Los Angeles with pictures of The Beatles, Elvis, Marilyn Monroe, and other famous faces. Though he is himself of Salvadorean origin, he seems to hold Juan Gabriel in high regard. And if you click on his page you can see the part of this mural I deliberately left out. Enjoy!

P_20200914_162517.jpg

This is just a small sample of the many amazing murals in Los Angeles:

A Hollywood Dream
The Comeback of a 31-Year-Old Mural
Larger Than Life in Downtown L.A.
Great Murals in Albuquerque
A Divine Harpist
An Electrified Hummingbird
Colorful Walls of Pico Union

Sort:  

Very nice piece...
@tipu curate

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest 972.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: