Shipping Container Mural in San Boo [CCC's Street Art Contest #94]

in StreetArt2 years ago

Though I'm back home in Mexico City, I haven't had the chance to look for some breathtaking street art, though I'm certain there have to be new ones around since when I left three months ago. However, I still have some photos I took in San Bernardino (also lovingly called San Boo or Berdoo) that I can submit for the CCC Street Art Contest. By now it's the 94th edition, and I am super psyched to see how much it has grown since I joined... almost at the beginning.

A Painted Container

Pretty close to the corner of W 40th Street and N Electric Avenue there is an empty lot with a lonesome shipping container hanging out. I have no clue about its origin or how long it has been a feature of that corner, but one thing I can say: It is painted with some amazing imagery.

P_20220524_084106.jpg

Unfortunately, the more impressive "front" side - that is the one facing the street, just happened to be in the shade in when I came by to take a photo of it in the morning. Clearly, in the afternoon it would be better illuminated, when more people are also likely to pass by and see it. So unfortunately the flowers and hummingbird don't come out as impressive as they could be. But that's fine. I have no problem using this as my submission, even though it doesn't stand a chance competing with some truly spectacular art posted in the contest this week. But that's all good. I've won this contest so many times already. 😜

African or Native American Theme

The other sides of the container feature some Monarch butterflies, famous for migrating across the North American continent, as well as the native food plants corn, beans, and squash, known as the three sisters, anthropomorphized with the three female faces on the side facing the lot, shining bright in the morning sun.

P_20220524_084156.jpg

P_20220524_084212.jpg

The lettering Rise Up As One on the short side offers a bit of context, combining the Native American elements with the African Theme from the opposite end. The butterflies there I am not familiar with, so I assume they are common in Africa. Maybe some African Hivers can verify? In any case, the theme of this imagery certainly underlines the cultural and ethnic makeup of this neighborhood.

P_20220524_084320.jpg

If you are curious about previous murals I've posted, check out my collections Mexican Murals and Murals of the Angels.

Sort:  

Beautiful container with all these colors and nature. Thanks for sharing these pics on The StreetArt Community.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Incredible was in Mexico March and was blown away with the street art. 👌🏼

Oh yeah, muralism has a long tradition here. The only other place I found that can rival Mexican murals is Southern California... which has a huge Mexican population!