Lighthearted 'STRAY CAT' Update...

in Just Because3 years ago (edited)

I've decided to change the name I previously gave to my stray cat friend 'Stripes', to SPEEDY. Whenever he's nearby and hears me messing around in my back room, the BIG boy comes rushhhhhhing through the Pet Door to scare the hell out of me...

100_2956 2.JPG

It makes me laugh though; after righting myself from the floor.

He's still hanging around my backyard, back porch or inside my back room. If I put food down, he'll eat it every time, regardless how soon it is after his last meal.

Speedy's eating habit is more like a dog... Dogs will stuff themselves till they throw up if allowed to... I guess my cat friend knows the pangs of prolonged hunger from being out on the street? That might explain why he eats as if it may be his last meal?

I don't know...

In any case, I'm happy to feed him, as long as I have food to do it with, just like my other friend Greystone who is back on the scene daily.

100_2842.JPG

The little grey boy sort of disappeared recently, or I just missed his visits? Sometimes its like that with these feline visitors; they vanish for awhile, then...re-appear... like magic

To me, they are like magical creatures; there's something very mysterious and special about them. The ancient Egyptians didn't hold cats in such high regard for nothing!

Did you know that, in ancient Egypt, killing of a cat was akin to murder? If caught, you might have been put to death under their law.

Anyway... Speedy was a good protector of his baby girl before I enlisted the aid of an animal rescue group to help me find her a home. He showed signs of missing her for awhile after she was gone. He'd come into the house and look around for her in spots she used to lay.

100_2894.JPG

Well, I hope you all have a peaceful day. I'm gonna have some Ice-cream. I don't care that it's cold outside... I drink coffee when it's hot outside, so what's the difference?

See ya again, friend.

Ciao


Show Support for Creative Writing Endeavors on Hive


@AngryMan

Founder- Free Speech Community

(https://peakd.com/c/hive-168088/created)

Consider Following AngryMan's Curation Trail at (https://hive.vote/) in Support of Censorship Resistant (Free Speech Community)


Images: Mine
Sort:  

Glad the cat is having some fun with you.

He's getting more and more comfortable here every day, it seems.

Glad the kitten found a home, speedy looks comfy in the planter with a potato or yam pillow or what ever kind of root it is. Winter ice cream is good, I know we eat more of it in the winter than in the summer. I like the mint chocolate chip ice cream.

Yes, I think he saw Greystone sleeping in the planter, then tried it out himself. Those are two yams that he's resting his head on, that I was sprouting to re-plant😎

Nice to hear from you. I like mint chocolate chip too...

It was hard to zoom in and get a clear look, I thought they might have been yams more than potatoes,they looked longer than most potatoes I've seen.

It was hard to zoom in and get a clear look,

I had to take that photo through glass door, so I wouldn't scare him awake.

I had cats as a kid. The last one was Roscoe, a manx, bout 30 years ago now. I've always had German shepherds though. Dog people and cat people, we sure are a mixed breed.

Good morning @angryman. Been raining cats and dogs here for two days now. You know where that saying originates, yeah?

However many centuries ago when straw was choice roofing at home, the cats, mice, whatever, would sleep in the straw to stay warm/dry etc. As the straw roofs became soaked in rain, they'd slip and fall from the roof. Raining cats and dogs.

We were only allowed to have a cat as a kid, because my mother thought we'd neglect to walk a dog after the novelty of having one wore off. For some reason though, cats we had, were reclusive...not cuddly... It might have had something to do with us being a rather large, loud and crazy family?