Building a story through comments

in Just Because3 years ago

May 1st, 2021

Zombie Diary Part One

There have been a few post and questions about engagement on Hive and comments in general, and how does one go about commenting and being noticed.

In addition people think that gaming on Hive needs to be a super big thing. Hive is a great place for people to resurrect table top gaming in a fashion. A great place to try new text based and dice based games. @happyme has a pretty solid dice and adventure type tool for her game players to use.

I use Hive as a social block chain, a place I can find entertainment, there are a lot of uses for the Hive Chain, and gaming is one and social gaming can be a nice stress break.

If you have never seen their game post here is a link to todays post ...https://peakd.com/steemace/@happyme/zombie-adventure-deja-vu-game-57-day-18-may-14-2021...

The game board changes some and there are two different types, the mine board, and the area type board.

Below are my comments while playing the game. I like to comment sometimes a lot, but with this type of a game you can build your character, build a story all one day at a time. No thinking about prompts no wondering what to do, it is just one comment a day when they add up who knows they may make a story.

OC is for the Original Comment, I have tried to indented via the > feature for when there were comments that involved more than just a move comment.

After the OC or the indented comment are after thought comments, like you would make in a personal diary when you were re-reading passages to expand on them a bit more


We begin our diary on the outskirts of a rotating mine field

Feb 14:
OC: Today's action: Sit tight mines are to tight, so will see how tomorrows board looks.

We arrived at an old roving minefield, it was going to be tricky getting across. I decided to wait a day to see how and where the mines moved and if I would get an opening.


Feb 15:
OC: Today's action:Move North.

I watched closely as the mines moved, and decided to step into the field directly to the north.


Feb 16:
OC: Today's action: North

I feel a bit worried today as a couple of our companions to the east of me were nailed by the mines, they did not inflict a lot of damage, but damage they did do.


Feb 17:
OC: Today's action: Move North

I hear a cry of pain to the south of me as one more of our companions is injured, he did not see the mine as he step on it. I continue moving north hoping I have the pattern down, but knowing in my heart that it is just totally random.


Feb 18:
OC: Today's action: Move NE

I hear a scream of agony close by and a distant whimper from injured companions. I think the Mine Bot Brain is learning, I adjust my movement to the north east in the hopes of avoiding the mines.


Feb 19:
OC: Today's action: Move NE

Oh man that hurt, I didn't even see that mine covered by the bloody rag I stepped on, no clue until CLICK, the sound no mine avoider ever wants to hear, quick reflexes fortunately saved my foot, but dag-nab-it, I skinned my knee all up again and this time the elbow also.

Sometimes in these situation song from the past invade, like, "we gotta get outta this place,,,if it's the last thing we ever do..." Now how long til that snippet of a song rolls around in my brain.

Day 6 in the mine field I was lucky to avoid injury as long as I did.


Feb 20:
OC: Today's action:Hobble NE

I think I am getting old and slow, second mine in a row, this time same lag, and now a stubbed or blown to smithereens big toe in my shoe. Shoe looks intact, but kind of concerned about looking to close lest I see blood pouring out, nothing for it I must press on, wounded knee, elbow and now toe, the end is nigh, if I don't get out of here soon alive.

We lost a companion today, third hit did him in, I was surprised a little when I heard his cry of "where am I" a curse to die and be reborn, to live through the nightmare again. With my injuries I struggle onward.


Feb 21:
OC: Today's action:

Continue to hobble north, at least I can still hobble after that last blast from the past.

It was a quiet day today, the sound of the mines shifting and moving around was eerie, we are getting close to clearing the mine field. I hope and pray that I can make a few more days to leave this nightmare behind me.


Feb 22:
OC:
Today's action: Move NE

And it's one, two, three, what are we fighting for?
Don't ask me, not even close to a score.

And it's five, six, seven, open up the minefield gates
Ain't no time to wonder why, whoopee some did survive!

Had I only stayed on the straight and narrow I could have avoided the untimely death,


Feb 23:
OC:Today's action:I move N,

having recovered from my wounds, no more hobbling around for me. I want to get as clear a view as I can of the stash points.

I can see several of my compatriots have made it to the safe zone, I hope to join them soon.


Feb 24:

Something happened we all ended up back at the beginning of the mine field, it was as if some catastrophic god had decided to reset our progress just to watch us in the event we were injured again. This god of the zombies does not play fair.


Feb 25:
OC: Today's action:Move north

I scan the battlefield, it looks like I have been left to find the way through left field. No choice for it, only one way to go for now, I carefully step froward to the north, eyeing the mines to the NE and NW.

With the prior dream or reset, I try to be more cautious. I am determined to make it through on the second round Zombie gods be damned.


Feb 26:
OC: Today's action:Move North

I look around once more, I can see the roving mines ahead, I risk my northerly jaunt, it is nerve wracking knowing I will be almost surrounded by those ancient beast of power.

So far we all survive unscathed this day. i know it will not last, but we must survive we must move on, always forward, always seeking the cure.


Feb 27:
OC: Today's action:Move NE

Snuck by, I think now would be a good time to angle into the row. Slow and steady, not sure, zig zag approach, I don't know these semi sentient mines seem to be able to do some rudimentary thinking. Pattern recognition software maybe, It's a crap shoot. Oh well onward and hopefully upward.

We survived another night. I think the mines are learning, we have to learn also not set a pattern that can be recognized maybe we will make it out.


Feb 28:
OC:Today's action:Move NE

Click, damn-it I hate that sound, the sound of a pressure plate mine crawler being activated, the feel as it continues its ever deadly slow crawl south ward, waiting to be released to unleash its fury on the once unsuspecting victim, who now knows he could lose more than just a toe if not careful.

I quickly crouch down and find for the edge of the mine under the derbies it was hiding. timing it was going to take split second timing,Fingers underneath the mine, I quickly lift and flip the mine while tumbling out of the way to the northeast. Today luck was on my side, yes I took some damage, but at least I can walk for another day, my left elbow where I landed hurts like MF'en hell, but it is a small pain compared to losing a toe or whole leg.

Damn government and their smart mines to get the zombies, now they just keep on rolling going turning around and doing it all over again. One day they will slowly all expend themselves on the living and the dead.

My companions remained unscathed, fortunately I suffered only minor injuries, still the sound and feel of the slow mines will always be with me. Like a fat one foot wide centipede, ever crawling seeking nothing, not even caring if or when it causes harm. We thought we were smart, we thought we could beat them with all our tech and brains.


Mar 1:
OC: Today's action:Move NW

I swear these things are getting smarter, they almost have me boxed in and retreating, but the missed the north west. I look long and hard and then silently slip past hidden by an old overturned pickup truck. Perhaps that was why this area was open, I just have to wait and see.

I can see and sense two mines one directly north of me the other north east, it is like they are trying to box me in. So far no screams of pain from any of my cohorts, the mines seem to be trying to flush me out for some reason, but I still press on.


Mar 2:
OC: Today's action:Move NE

Slide and hide was successful, zig zag approach may be working, hoping their AI is slightly off kilter now and will switch up the 1 and 4 mantra they have been following for the last little bit.

I heard a cry from the east of me, the devil mines found another target. I pray they will be okay and that it was just a slight injure, one that will not prevent them from pressing on. We must reach the safe zone.


Mar 3:
OC: Today's action:Move North

Tired, almost forgot, time to sleep.

It was a long day, a lot of stress, the cries from two more of my compatriots sharing in the pain of a mine. I am sure they will help each other shouldering a little of each others pains so they can continue to press forward to reach the safe zone.


Mar 4:
OC: Today's action:Move NW

Oh the pain of being tired, I knew I should have continued with the zig zag pattern and all would have been fine, no I had to move north, toward the prize. It was the can, I thought I would be safe to sleep in one of those big garbage bins, wrong, those pesky mine crawlers crawled right under it and BOOM, now with a smacked elbow and a banged up head from being smacked into the bin with a lot of force, I gently crawl out, and take a dizzying step to the NW, hoping to get back on the right track.

Sleep deprivation took its toll on me. I made a mistake, a painful mistake. Still I can see the safe zone now, onward I push myself. I heard the distant cry of pain from one of our traveling companion, hopefully they can and will push on to the safe zone also.


Mar 5:
OC: Today's action:Move NE
It was a struggle, now I get a short reprieve.

The safe zone at last. I sit back and wait and hope my traveling companions all make it through this nightmare we had to cross.


Mar 6:
OC: Today's action:

"Ah, a semi clean piece of cloth, I reach over for it and hear a slight klinking sound as a coin falls out of the cloth. I pick it up and examine it, a stylized H on it, I wonder what it was used for as I flip it over and see a honey comb pattern on the reverse, I wonder if H stood for honey or Home, oh well, the mysteries of the past, I slip the coin in my pocket like an old fashioned worry stone, to reach for during times of contemplation. I sit resting while the rest of the crew work their way through the minefield.

I relax and enjoy my newly found token, but more importantly the semi clean piece of cloth. The reality of no baths, no showers and no real clean water is worrisome.


Mar 7:
OC:

Today's action:I found a nice solid box to sit on and rest awhile, I rummage through my pack looking for that candy bar I found not to long ago, Ah there it is I think to myself. So I sit and listen, always have to listen, you need to hear that shuffle walk of stuff being knocked aside by undead feet. You can not ignore the quiet lifting of feet and them being set down with little sound, is it a cautious live person, or a sneaky I'm going to take that candy bar from you at any cost.

I heard a scuffle to the east of me, not sure what is going on, a building blocks my view, but I know something went down, it wasn't the zombies, but the noise will attract them, so the winner of the scuffle may end up also being the loser as the zombies move in to investigate the noise.

I continue to sit and eat my chocolate bar, listening for the out of place sounds.

A day of rest and semi peace, it seems the stress got to a couple of my companions, but I am sure it was nothing.


Mar 8:
OC:

Ah the quiet, it seems like things to the east have calmed down a little bit. No real noise other than the painful pulsing sound of the mines on their relentless hunt. It kind of makes you wonder about the term Military Intelligence, set a system up did not stop the zombies but did stop a lot of survivors from surviving and all for this measly little 10 block area.

Likely just another P.P.P. project. Lets see how much we can piss away, a Petulant piss poor politicians pet project pretending to pass power to people, yep a lets piss it away project for sure. I wonder if the idea originator is still alive, or wandering the wastelands as a zombie themselves, karma will get them in the end I suppose.

Man that had to be the best tasting chocolate bar I have had in a long time.

I continue to rest and try to rebuild my strength, it is not easy, there is not much food, and things do seem pretty dire, but we continue to wait for friends to reach safety.


Mar 9:

We survived the mine field to arrive in a hidden city block. What awaits us I do not know, I can see a building directly north and south of us, and one toward the north west, with possible second one north west. Tomorrow we begin, today we finish recouping some energy from the mine field.

New Board, New Game


Mar 10:
OC:

While waiting to see what happens I check my supplies, !NOTHING" I must have lost it all in that last mine incident, still a new day, I take a moment to still my brain and see what moves will be.

The quest bot said nothing so I used the ancient 20 sided dice to determine if I was to be gifted with anything special before setting my way out on the street, I rolled an 18, a nice number and all but pretty worthless as there is no longer a military intact anywhere to sign up for a chance at the draft.

Action 1: Move west.
Action 2: Move north.
Action 3: Move north.
For now I think I will take one step beyond the door and see what happens. Will there be walkers? Runners, or dreaded hulks coming out of the wood work.

It seems one of the god bots is broken, now we rely on the gods of the dice. I wonder what kind of god will it be? will it be a fair god or a god that takes after Loki, only time will tell. For now we explore and search and try to stay alive.


Mar 11:
OC:

Bonus roll = 5

I rolled the old ancient dice and came up with a 5 no real glimpse into the future, such are the ways of the dice gods. So:

Action 1:Move south
Action 2:Move east
Action 3:Search = You found a rifle

Luck may have started bad with the God of dices, but I did find a rifle, nice for long range but i would much have preferred an ax, still anything to take out the zombies. I think I will try a search again tomorrow, and or go to the boom button if no one else moves up. That dynamite could come in handy.

I heard some shooting around the corner, seems like the enemy has been engaged, two shots, then a slight "yeah got-em". I am itching to get out there and start swinging or banging away, but the doors need to be unlocked.

Unfamiliar territory and the shots start to ring out, I was happy to have found a rifle during my search, I much prefer a bat or ax, but at least I am armed now.


Mar 12:
OC:

Bonus roll = 14, so no help from the gods of the dice.
Action 1: punch the Hulk , ah yes the feel of a nice solid connection a six.
Action 2: I watch as the zombie hulk's feet wobble a little bit and then smile as he falls face first planting his broken and mangled nose into the concrete floor. I search the area some gasoline, I do feel like dancing around a fire but that will have to wait.
Action 3: I decide to move north one step closer to the button.

Recap:
No bonuse
Action 1: killed the zombie he had one injury, player 12 did half a point damage and I finished it off.
Action 2:Search revealed gasoline
Action 3: I moved north.

Safety in numbers, but searching can be hazardous to your health. I think to myself that we could really use the dynamite in the next building over.


Mar 13:
OC:

Bonus roll = 5 nothing
Action 1:search - nothing
Action 2:move north in case 2 needs help tomorrow
Action 3:hold tight

To tired for much of anything else.

It was an exhausting day, the fight with the hulk took a lot out of me. I needed some recoup time so I sat just out of range of the zombies, or so I had hoped.


Mar 14:
OC:

Bonus roll = 5, For some reason a sudden flash of deja-vu strikes me, as i feel I rolled that before, still the search must go on. Player two has unlocked the dynamite, good move.

Action 1: Search You found a baseball bat Yes, something that I can stain red with the withered remains of the zombies, something I can really hold onto, and get a grip with, ah yes the number one tool against those zombie fools.
Action 2:Move south
Action 3:Move south, I'm hunting hulks. rifle at my side, and bat at hand, it is time to clear the land.

Ah yes the joy of finding a baseball bat this was a good day. As the Thing from the fantastic four would say "It's clobbering time"


Mar 15:
OC:

I stumble into the scene, and see a dead hulking zombie, turning back to look north I see some trouble.

Bonus roll = 9 no help from the ancient dice
Action 1:Move north
Action 2:Move north
Action 3:I survey the scene, both player 7 and player two seem exhausted from the walker, one chance and a prayer to maybe take him out. The dice gods seem to be favoring this one for some reason, no matter I take a nice solid grip on my clean as new Louisville Slugger, it is time to stain this slugger red with zombie goo, I call on the dice gods and shaaa ahhh smack, a nice solid number 4 (four) hit. The walker goes down. I find some almost clean cloth grab it and remove the chunks and polish the rest in the upper part of the bat. Player 2 and 7 look at me like I'm nuts, but a well tended bat will make fine smacks.

Ah I remember well the feel of the burn of the life force from the zombie oozing into me. It had been awhile. Bats are a great tool for zombie removal.


Mar 16:
OC:

Bonus roll = 14
Action 1:Search, You found flour. I still do not know what to do with that so I'll just add it to my gasoline maybe it will make it sticky gas, burn a bit brighter when chucked as a molotov at some zombie.
Action 2: No escape up north since I don't have an ax yet, so I move south one square.
Action 3:I wait here, set up shop and see what direction the Hulk goes, will it travel north, or turn into the room? Looks like player 12 and 10 have vacated the room, so have I sit and wait now and search again tomorrow for an ax. We need to get into the lettuce storage room.

I know this is strange for the readers, I should have mentioned we had instruction and some information about the area when we arrived. It was riddling, but we figured the riddle out. We were going to need that lettuce.


As you can see a story can be built if a person wants to. A castle could be explored, a dungeon plundered, a group of heroes battling monsters from the deep or aliens from the sky. Not all games on hive need to be built with cards and hundreds of players there is room for the five man wrecking crew or nights of the round table groups, and yes even for Zombie Slayers.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

I think this is so cool. Big zombie fan here, apocalypse in general, and roleplay so I really enjoyed this.

I think it is a little underused part of Hive Gaming. These were just my comments, there were others made in the simple little game. If some one were to set out with the intent of story building, writing a book this could be of real use.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 57 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hello old friend. I have yet to decide what will become of my corner in the hive. I must say this looks intriguing. Maybe just maybe leaving a comment will remind me to come back for a closer look later on.
So glad to find you here still typing.

It is a fun little game. Most stories don't have a ton of characters, I keep thinking about a part three, but just a tad bit lazy lately.

Still here, and still having a little bit of fun.

I am just kind of looking around figuring things out as I go Had some trouble with login but it seems to have worked out. I am off to push more buttons and see what happens 🙂