You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crash recovery Installing Linux Mint

in Just Because2 years ago

Yep. Etcher is what I use.

Glad it went well.

That boot screen can be a bugaboo. But I bet you figured it out.

I have spent quite a lot of time with GRUB issues. (Grand Unified Bootloader)

But I have always figured them out with a little time and patience.

Sort:  

It took me forever to get into the bios set up and then figure out how to get Linux moved above windows. In the end it was pretty simple f10=bios setup find boot sequence f9 and then f5 to move linux up to being first.

Now it starts with four options to pick, I just wait for the top choice Linux normal to run. It is only a short wait.

Thanks for the Etcher recommend I will try and get it in the morning.

The program you made the bootable drive with. Etcher. That is what I use too...

"Of course this meant downloading a windows program called Etcher. which did not take very long to down load at all, and was surprisingly very simple and easy to use, so now I have Linux Install able thumb-drive..."

It was pretty simple to use, now I have a back-up that I can easily install if things go haywire, which they often do. Now I am on the look out for an easy to use simple crop and basic edit tool for picture. GIMP is just to overloaded, and rawtherapee and darktable also had issues so the hunt is still on. Libre office draw for now is sort of okay, but it is hard to see where the crop line edges are.

GIMP is overloaded with tools and hard to use. But like everything else. Try long enough and it gets easier.

That is what it may come down too. I have played with it a little bit, I just want something simple for my Raspberry Pi to edit tables and charts from my spreadsheets. GIMP actually fits and runs okay on the raspberry pi.