PROCRASTINATION IS THE WEAPON FASHIONED AGAINST GROWTH

in Humanitas15 days ago

Red Abstract Income Money YouTube Thumbnail_20240519_234307_0000.png

Image Source

I battle with procrastination a lot, but the funny thing is that it doesn't get to happen every day or every time. There are some days that I get things done easily and have this crazy energy within me to do all my tasks as fast as possible. Also, there are some days I struggle with this a lot, from getting out of bed to getting myself to get things done. I have never been a 5 a.m. club member because I might not have even slept by 5 a.m. itself, lol. I find it very hard to go to sleep early, and unlike when I was still in school, when I had to wake up early regardless of the time I slept, I now have the freedom to wake up at any time. Generally, I do not like waking up too late; it literally drains my energy, and I might find it hard to get things done on days like this.

Do you plan ahead or go with the flow?

Some days, I plan ahead, and some other days, I go with the flow. From experience, I will gladly recommend planning ahead. You know, I have been able to compare both practices, and I realized you can actually get so much done when you plan your activities ahead. Planning ahead is like drawing a map of what you want your day to be like, and let's not forget that you actually have to be committed and intentional to stick to the plans. It is one thing to make plans, and it is another to work towards achieving them. Going with the flow can make your activities scattered, and you might get frustrated easily. It gets harder to get things done in times like this.

Which effect does procrastination have on your day-to-day life and personal goals?

Procrastination is one thing so many people deal with, and of course, it does a lot of damage. Procrastination generally slows down the growth process of a person because when you keep doing the right things at the wrong times, problems arise. One manages time poorly when one procrastinates, because you keep postponing your activities to another time you ought to use for achieving other things. Procrastination can also increase one's anxiety level and even lead to depression. You keep beating yourself up for not getting things done, and you might find it hard to focus on other things.

Does it really pay off to get up at 5 a.m. or earlier?

There have been a few days that I woke up earlier than normal, and somehow, I get to be more productive on days like that. This is from a personal point of view because I also believe that people can get up early for different reasons, and it might not be the main determinant of how productive their days will be. At the end, it depends on the people and the things they hope to achieve. However, I think it pays to get up earlier rather than later; it boosts your energy for the entire day, and you are not unnecessarily tired. Your mental health is in check, and you just generally feel better and more prepared to get through the day. I think it's a very good practice, and I am really hoping to adopt it soon. My sleeping routine is very messed up, and my body system is quite used to me sleeping late. I do hope I find a way to get better.

Thanks for reading❤️


Thumbnail Created Using Canva

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @creativepearl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 1500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP