Dilemma Of Choosing Career

in Humanitaslast month

iMarkup_20240521_154712.jpg

image Source

Introduction

The choice of career and it's development should be based on personal abilities and preferences. Choosing and developing a lucrative career is the surest pathway for success and stability. Everyone faced the dilemma of choosing the career to get involved and become successful. Let's me narrate the struggle and challenges that I encountered in the choice of my career over my lifetime so far.

Life As A Hawker.

IMG_20230331_170413_641_copy_2304x5120.jpg

In our clime and society, growing up is very difficult and hard to deal with. The responsibility of rearing ourselves lies heavily on our shoulders and we hardly enjoy every luxury of life. Our parents often have more kids to their household to care and cater for. Some are even late which makes it very hard for the bereaved and surviving mate to cater for the family.

My late father died when I was barely five years old. He was a successful driver with his own vehicles to care for his household. When our breadwinner became late, we started to struggle from that early stage of life. Despite having accumulated wealth from his transportation business, it collapsed as a sole proprietorship kind of business when their founder is no more. His wealth was shared between his workers, three wives, fifteen children and extended families.

However, the responsibility was shifted to our mothers but My mom is very old and pretty trader whose total cost of her wares can't feed us for a complete week. Hustling from such tender age become the only source of livelihood and survival. Several and pretty wares like agricultural products like banana, plantain etc become our goods to be hawked in the streets and markets. We successfully graduated to the selling of sacket water on the streets and road to the thirsty people around. The money generated are pooled together for our schooling, feeding and other essentials to keep surviving.

As we grown up, I decided to get a shop and table to display my goods. Now, I was fully into agricultural products like fish and sea foods. Selling them was simple and easy but buying them from the fisherman from the open sea and it's high cost is not pleasant at all.
IMG_20200110_124602_copy_960x1280_copy_480x640.jpg
During the sales, more money are generated which I used for my schooling and my siblings too. I make money which help me to finish my tertiary education as a trained and professional urban planner.

Life As Unemployed Graduate and Blogging.

IMG_20200229_183434_800_copy_960x958_copy_480x479.jpg

As trained urban surgeon, I undertook many tasks for the proper functioning and management of our city. After my volunteering service to our fatherland as national service Corp indicated. There's no governmental establishments or private firms that offer jobs to us again. Majority of us become unemployed and idle. Every efforts to secure jobs become futile which forced us to look for other options for survival.

IMG-20221101-WA0014_copy_540x540.jpg

Digital Blogging and content creation become my sole job that keep me busy and fed. I will give thanks to my friend, @fokusnow for the introduction and guidance on the crypto and blogging journey which keep me employed and busy. Hive ecosystem with many communities and teams like @leogrowth become my niche and support for meaningful and wonderful contents. Right now, I am completely absorbed in blogging and cryptocurrency hoping that I will support myself, siblings and other family members. Being on Hive ecosystem have really helped and trained me so to be successful and better person.

Finally

My chosen career was the outcome of my personal experience and encounters. It have really limited my performance and success but I'm happy that things are getting better and great opportunities to share with job experience to encourage others for better and simple lifestyle.

Thanks to @leogrowth for this month prompts which have really helped us to be active. This article is based on such prompt under this tag #mayinleo and publish in this wonderful community

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @sammyhive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 53000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 54000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP