You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Loch Leven Drone Disaster VLOS 🤦‍♂️

in Dronelast year

I remember a few of those heart flutters when I first started using my FPV goggles and lost LOS and got turned around a bit. Or a few times with the early goggles that had a glitch with Mavic 2 and would lose their signal just a short distance out. I found it great practice after that to practice using the little map screen to backtrack or check direction. I'll also sometimes engage RTH manually and then turn it back off. A final trick is to just gun it and watch the distance counter to see if it's getting farther or closer... That saved me a couple times when I (or my spotter) lost sight.

Sort:  

practice using the little map screen to backtrack or check direction

I completely forgot about RTH and the direction indicator as my butt was making buttons lol.

In hindsight it was perfectly fine as the drone would have returned to its take off position with no input from me. Just a dumb set of rookie mistakes.

At least I had the good sense to let go of the controller and let it hover in place while we tried to figure out where it was?

Lessons learned it won't happen again. Probably make another load of new mistakes? 🤦‍♂️😂👍🏼